Festival Fever

Hi everyone! How was the weekend for you? 

I’ve had such a great time at the Godiva Festival.  It’s over 3 days and I’ve been dropping in and out of it all weekend and catching bits as I can.  It’s so local that it’s literally a 5 minute walk from my house to the park where it is being held.

The weather has been perfect for a weekend of live music and fun.  I decided to make the most of it by pulling out some of my summer clothes…at last!

OOTD: blue dress, Forever 21, leggings, Warehouse, black gladiator sandals, Office, Grecian bangle, Dorothy Perkins.

On Friday night we headed up to the festival to see what acts were on and to have a look around and spent most of our time in the comedy tent that was full of some really unique and interesting unknown comedians.  Since we planned to be up there all evening we decided to eat at there too.  There was an amazing array of food outlets from a hog roast, Thai, Indian, Caribbean and fish and chips of course.  There was even an Ostrich burger place too.  I settled on a yummy Mediterranean wrap that was bursting with char grilled veggies, a yoghurt and mint dressing and Italian anti-pasti.

Now you all know how I like to pile up my veg, so this was perfect! πŸ™‚

I also found the time to hit up H&B to take advantage of their get one buy one half price promotion and the independent health food shop.

Vanilla soya yoghurt, blueberry soya yoghurt, carob coated raisins x 2, acai and blackcurrant tea, edamame beans, olive tofu, basil tofu, hazelnut tofu, cacao nibs and shredded coconut. πŸ™‚

Other foodie highlights from this weekend included this a huge bowl of chocolate and banana oats topped with drippy and melty peanut butter.

I added 1/2 cup of oats, 1 small banana, dates, 1 cup of chocolate soya milk, 11/2 cups of water, cacao nibs, lucuma powder, maca powder and ground flax, a great start to the weekend.

Lunches have been the same huge monster salad with an amazing tahini and sweet chilli dressing…

This included mixed leaves, romaine lettuce, cucumber, olives, sun blushed tomatoes, avocado and pecan nuts.  This dressing is probably one of my favourites right now.  I mixed 1 tbsp of tahini, 5 tbps of water, 1 tbsp of red wine vinegar, 1 tbsp of sweet chilli sauce, 1/2 tsp of black pepper.

If you haven’t tried tahini and sweet chilli sauce together, then you so should!

Dinner last night was just what I needed after a long day at work.  All I wanted was a green smoothie…a cookies and cream green smoothie obviously!

I mixed 11/2 scoops of cookies and cream powder with soya milk, water, spinach, strawberries, ground flax, maca powder and xanthan gum.  Toppings were kinda overloaded, but I was making this 2 meals in 1 (dinner and dessert).  I can be lazy like that sometimes…

I added shredded coconut, Kashi cereal, omega mixed seeds, dried cranberries and dark chocolate chips…yum!  I persuaded Alfie (or should that be chased him around the house with a spoonful) to try and he actually really liked it.  It’s the cookies and cream powder I think as he was pleasantly surprised.  So that’s green smoothies and basil tofu that I’ve got Alfie to try and he liked them both, but I don’t think he would ever eat them voluntarily, but I can always hope. πŸ™‚

This morning’s post run breakfast was delicious overnight oat sundae made using 1/2 cup of oats soaked in soya milk, water and maple, vanilla soya yoghurt, fresh blueberries, strawberries and a chopped banana, so summery!  This was the perfect refuel after my 7.67 miles in 1 hour and 16 minutes.  It was such an awesome run in the beautiful sunshine.

For dessert tonight I’ve been snacking on my now beloved carob coated raisins and vanilla pumpkin seeds and a chopped pink lady…nom!

I loved the whole festival experience this weekend. I would love to go to the V Festival and Glastonbury some time.  There’s another festival that I may be going to called Summer Sundae in my hometown Leicester, again all undiscovered acts but I like that about these small festivals as it shows of the local talent and the whole community gets involved.

Have you been to any festivals before? What did you think? Are you going to any festivals this summer?

30 Comments

Filed under EATS!

30 responses to “Festival Fever

  1. Love the look of that overnight oats sundae – everything looks so much prettier in glasses like that πŸ™‚
    So happy that you’re getting into the festival mood – i love them sooo much! There’s a Summer Sundae in Manchester this month too that i’m hoping to go to, and Glastonbury this year was amazing…only two years to wait until the next one!
    Sounds like you’ve had an awesome weekend.

  2. That’s so cool that the festival’s so close to your house! I would definitely be there all the time too πŸ™‚
    I’ve been to Oxegen (in Ireland) which was so much fun!
    I really want to go to one this year but can’t afford it 😦
    I’ve never seen hazelnut tofu! sounds delicious! That overnight oat sundae looks divine!

  3. I keep reading about people’s awesome festival times! Wish I was going to one, don’t have any plans but still time to change that I guess!

  4. allthingswholesome

    You have reminded me about overnight oats. πŸ™‚ well done on your run.
    I’ve been to Glastonbury you have to go, it’s the best thing I have ever experienced. πŸ™‚

    Love jess.

  5. sounds like you’ve had a wonderful weekend!
    festivals are so summery (:
    xxxx

  6. I always used to go to a festival in the summer- I went to T in the park, V when it was at leeds, Reading for loads of years- but now I am too old! I cannot stand the camping or the toilets any more haha! I will watch the highlights on BBC3!!!

  7. I got free tickets to Glastonbury a while ago and it was amazing! Had a brilliant time but then I love the local festivals too; there’s one near me in Kent which always seems to get big names the year before they get big, if that makes any sense πŸ™‚
    And I can never read your blog without drooling, especially over your smoothies!

  8. what a cute outfit!! perfect for a festival πŸ™‚

  9. I think all of my GMs are toppings-crazy and like desserts…and then I always have dessert too πŸ˜›

    I once went to T in the Park and it was a mudbath; rained the entire weekend. I’m not really a festival fan but give me a good metal concert and I’m there in a snap.

    xxx

  10. Festivals are so much fun! We have a tonne of them here, and the season’s just getting started so I can’t wait to hit them up. Good food, good music, good performances… good times all around πŸ˜€

  11. WOW! What a fun filled weekend. I love your outfit! Yay for summer clothes.

  12. tahini and sweet chilli sauce sounds like a great combo! love the outfit πŸ™‚

  13. Well I need not say much about the Summer Sundae Festival! πŸ˜‰ Hope your enjoy it! I can’t wait to attend the Kendal Calling, I was actually really wanting to go to a smaller festival too. I think the universe must be looking out for us two at the moment!

  14. Olive tofu??? Yummy! I’ve never heard of such a thing.

    Whitney

  15. That dress is gorgeous! and the mediterannian wrap looks awesome! I’ve been to an italian festival and a greek festival that is held in our area! I love trying new foods πŸ™‚

  16. You are inspiring me to make my second smoothie of the day πŸ™‚ Have a good one!!

  17. The festival sounds like a lot of fun. I went to V Festival quite a few years ago, but I was working – I still had fun though.
    Your food this weekend looks amazing – the chocolate banana oats are right up my street πŸ™‚

  18. OoOO! Don’t forget to ship me some goodies Jem! hehehe I kid~kind of? πŸ˜€ You’re such a cute and gorgeous gal, just wanted you to know that! And I love your outfit~It’s my kind for sure. Hmmm for some reason, I’m blanking out and can’t remember if I’ve been to a festival or not. Have a beautiful day!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

