10 things that make me happy…

Happy Monday y’all!  I hope you are all having a good one.

I love to be organised and I love lists- shopping lists, to do lists, lists of thing that you shouldn’t forget to do.  Well, in no particular order here’s a list of the 10 things that make me very happy…

1.  Amazing breakfasts…

I definitely have to eat breakfast like a King…

Breakfast is by far my most favourite meal of the day, it has been for a long time now.   I can never rush my breakfast.  I eat it at a leisurely pace and savor the moment, even if it’s on the go.  Weekend breakfasts are the best-totally relaxed and always delicious!

2.  Scientific research

Call me a geek, but I honestly love the work that I do in my lab.  It’s mentally draining, completely exhausting, I moan about it all the time and most of the time I feel out of my depth, but neuroscience is such an interesting subject to study.  The brain is actually quite cool, dontcha know?!?

There is so much that we know, yet there is still so much that is left to be discovered.  It is being involved in the quest to identify the undiscovered that excites me.   When a set of experiments brings to light an important and informative result that makes me extremely happy.

3.  Life

I’ve always viewed life as a precious gift that should never be taken for granted.  A privilege, a chance to experience and explore this beautiful planet.

Yes it can be hard.

Yes it can be painful.

And yes it can be darn right ugly…but we’re only here once so don’t focus on the bad!

Source

Life is for living not for existing!

4. Blogging

I love being a part of the blogging community.  Everyone is really supportive and it’s great to be able to share my thoughts and feelings with like minded people.  I’ve met some amazing and inspirational people via blog land that have all had an impact on my own life in very different ways.

To be a part something that is THIS amazing is very special and certainly brings a smile to my face.

5.  Early spring

I’m a little biased where spring is concerned as I’m a spring baby. But waking up on a Spring morning with the sun rushing in rather than waking up to blackness always makes me leap out of bed and puts me in a great mood.

Source

I also love the newness that Spring brings- new born wildlife, colourful flowers and fresh starts!

6.  Being active and healthy

I’m both happy and grateful that I can enjoy the benefits of a healthy lifestyle and all the goodness that it can bring.  I can honestly say that I’ve never felt better than the way I feel right now and I know that is down to eating right and exercising.

Source

Actually feeling healthy is amazing.  The fact that I enjoy being healthy is a miracle as I certainly wasn’t when I was younger.  I love having a good work out session in the gym or a long run and fuelling my body with fresh and nutritious food.  Definitely a reason to be happy! πŸ˜€

6.  My family and friends

I’ve been truly blessed with an amazing family and some great friends. They never fail to surprise me with their generosity, support and love.  Ok, I will stop with the soppy stuff now…

…but I could go on and on and on and on and on…

7.  Learning and new experiences

Having the ability to learn and a want to learn is something that I never take for granted as a very special aunt of mine simply cannot as developmentally she is not capable.  Taking in new sights, experiencing new food and learning about different cultures and religions is eye opening and experiencing new things is always fun.

8.  Late summer evenings

Source

I love to read outside on a late summers evening and got lost in a book.  They are perfect  for talking long evening walks, eating outside and watching the sun go down.

9. Travelling

I love to travel and that mainly stems for my love of learning an experiencing new things.  A lot of my most favourite memories are from holidays past.  There’s lots of places that want to visit one day,  the list is as long as my arm.

Source

I hope to make it there someday.  In fact, I will make it there someday!

10.  The  Future

If I owned a crystal ball that could look in to my future and tell me what was going to happen in my life I think I would throw it on the floor into, smashed into shards of glass.

Source

The future has always excited me and it is the not knowing that makes it exciting.  I have so much to look forward to, so much to come and so many new memories to be formed that I can not help but smile at the thought of it.

Do any of these things make you happy too? What things make you happy?

20 Comments

Filed under Points of interest

20 responses to “10 things that make me happy…

  1. I think I pretty much agree with every single one of these!! The blogging community is definitely something that is making me happier and happier these days and making me learn new things about myself and life that are totally invaluable and supporting me through everyday life…it’s amazing πŸ™‚
    Along with all of your suggestions for happiness, baking and shopping make me very happy. Oh and eating my fave foods – squash, muffins and PB puffins!

  2. Lenna (veganlenna)

    Lovely! I agree with EVERYTHING! Breakfast us a must for me, without it my day wouldnΒ΄t be good or even average πŸ™‚ I love science and it make me feel good being able to understand things πŸ™‚ Travelling – yes please! I am going to Finland, Estonia and Sweden this summer, canΒ΄t wait to be there! Sports, friends, etc..all of those things are so important. What other things do I like? Learning about new world cuisines, baking, reading, going to concerts, painitng, playing the piano, being creative in general…

  3. Aw, such a lovely post! Defintely agree with all of these and those breakfasts look amazing! x

  4. Aww THIS post made me happy!!
    But I have to say that what’s making me the happiest these days is the hot weather, can’t get enough of it!

  5. I definitely eat breakfast like a king too, my favorite meal of the day! yumm πŸ˜€

  6. Fantastic! I agree with it all! I love to go on holiday and I think spending money on doing things, as opposed to buying things, is better in the long run too! πŸ™‚ Make great memories!

  7. Great list! I agree with all of them (except maybe the sciency bit – not my bag ;-)), especially about breakfast. No matter how early I have to get up I will always make time for a proper breakfast!

  8. Angela

    Geek alert – I’m with you on number 2. I love labs. A day spent doing lab work is about a million times more enjoyable than one spent at a desk even if nothing you do works!

  9. i legit agree with aLLL of the above!! boys, parties, nut butter and sun all make me HAPPY!

  10. I love lists like this πŸ˜€ Reading about what makes other people happy makes me happy too. We share a lot of the same things… breakfast, life, blogging, being active, loved ones, learning, traveling… the only thing I’d add to the list is chocolate πŸ˜‰

  11. I had to double take at the Spring one since it’s been over 100* here for months! But I’m glad your enjoying your weather πŸ™‚

  12. Totally agree at eating breakfast like a king πŸ™‚ I always take time to prepare a good breakfast!

  13. Jemma, I loved each and every one of your favs! Couldn’t have said it better myself (seriously – I would have listed practically the same things!) Great post πŸ™‚

  14. Late summer evenings are my FAVORITE! I think that’s why I love summer so much. A night on the porch is one of my favorite things ever!

  15. Lists make me happy! I’m a total list queen, I love my wish lists too and I have my very own ‘happy’ list of all the little things that lift my spirits and make me smile when I think of them πŸ™‚

  16. What a lovely post, it’s really made me think about what i’m greatful for today πŸ™‚

  17. What a great post!! Sounds like we have a lot in common πŸ™‚ So glad I found your blog, consider me your newest follower!

  18. I think I agree with all 10! High-five!

    I missed the blogging community so much when I took a break from it. It really is a unique community but in some ways it’s a modern version of pen friends whom we regularly write letters to (does that make sense?). Oh, the only one I don’t love is scientific research- I value it and defo find it intersting. I’m just not clever enough to fully understand it and love it. But I do love how science helps people in such amazing ways and can teach us so much about what makes us humans… that’s partly why I loved studying theology and religious studies, it just teaches us about another dimension of what it is to be human- that’s why I geeked out and did a masters in it with the added studying of cultures; amazing). xxx

  19. Pingback: About « Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

