Freestyling…

Howdy lovelies!  I hope you are all having a fab week so far!

I’m having a great week so far.  Yesterday I found out that I’m going to the Summer Sundae Festival next month for Alpro Soya!  I’m so excited!  Especially, because I only posted about wanting to go to the exact same festival on Sunday- such a lucky coincidence.

I have to say a BIG thank you to Laura for hooking me up- she’s awesome! πŸ˜€

I’ve not long just got back from the most awesome Body Pump class.  This new release seriously kicks some ass, not only that but I have upped my weights to make it more challenging as well.  I don’t usually go to a Body Pump class on a Tuesday but I’m taking two classes this week as the fitness suite in my gym is closed for refurbishment..BOOOOOOOO!  It’s meant that I’ve had to go off plan and think of other alternatives to keep my fitness levels up- great practice for when I go away next week as my hotel doesn’t have a gym.  Apparently they cycle a lot around Florence so I think I will be doing a lot of that whilst taking in the sights.

Totally off schedule I went for an early morning run yesterday.  I ran 4.2 miles in 43 minutes.  It was a short recovery run after Sundays longer distance and included two large hills where I managed to keep up the same pace, so overall I was quite happy.  I also fitted in some abs and core work too.

My post run breakfast was a huge bowl of my Homemade Mixed Muesli with puffed rice, strawberries, blueberries, a peanut butter sauce and soya milk…yum!

After this mornings yoga for runners podcast I had a yoghurt mess that included vanilla soya yoghurt, Dorset Cereals low fat flakes, puffed wheat and some Apple and Blackberry Compote and omega mixed seeds.

Yoghurt messes always taste fab!

Lunches have been the same salad beast made from a lovely mix of mixed leaves, spinach, millet seed black olives, radish, steamed green beans and cucumber.  I wasn’t so keen on this salad by itself the first time, but in today’s version I drowned it in tahini and sweet chilli dressing and preferred it much better this way.

Ohhhhhh and I’ve been snacking on these cherries too like mad.   All the summer fruit is tasting delicious at the moment! πŸ™‚

For dinner last night I headed to the Caribbean for inspiration and decided to use up some of the butternut squash and other veggies that needed using up in my fridge.  I made a mixed vegetable stew using the butternut squash, onion, garlic, ginger, aubergine, mushrooms and celery.  I cooked off the vegetables until tender before adding tomatoes, vegetable stock, ground coriander, pimento, dried thyme and soy sauce.   To add flavour rather than heat I pierced a scotch bonnet pepper and placed it in the sauce whilst it was simmering-those things can be scarily hot so this is a great way to get the taste of the chilli but not the heat.  Red kidney beans and okra were added just before serving with steamed greens and grilled plantains.

I’ve just finished enjoying an awesome socca sandwich stuffed with vegetarian sausages, mixed leaves, vegetarian mozzarella and sweet chilli sauce served with steamed vegetables sprinkled with chilli mix seeds.

Last nights desert also deserves a mention…

…raspberry and coconut ice cream topped with cacao bliss and dried cranberries…yummy!

Tonight’s dessert was even better…

…cookies and cream protein ice cream made with chocolate soya milk and the bees knees peanut butter…heaven!

I’m using this time out of the gym to formulate a new work out plan for when I get back from Florence to give my body more of a challenge.  I think after the 6 week mark I tend to plateau a little bit and become too content.   Free styling my workouts isn’t really what I usually what I like to do, but I’m actually enjoying the change form my usual routine which must be a sure sign to change up my routine.  Rather than using the cardio machines I’m relying on running, yoga and classes on this free style routine and so far so good!  I’m not sure what I’m not sure what I’m going to do in Florence yet though in regards to workouts- any ideas?

Do you free style and go off your normal routine very often?

Do you still workout whilst on holiday? 

How are you other fellow Body Pumpers finding the new release?

29 Comments

Filed under EATS!

29 responses to “Freestyling…

  1. Lenna

    I try to stick to my workouts even when I am on holiday, but sometimes I just do long walks or go swimming – whatever the season offers.
    I love that raspberry ice-cream, looks delicious!

  2. Ahh how exciting about the festival!! Lucky you!!
    WOW that coconut and raspberry ice cream looks absolutely amazing!!
    I’m going to my first BodyPump class this week, I’m excited hehe πŸ™‚
    As for exercising on holiday, well if I were you I wouldn’t really make it a priority..it’s only for a short while. And like you say, they use cycles a lot so you could go sightseeing by bike and maybe just use the walking as exercise? On holiday I definitely take it more easy and use the extra walking as exercise and just give my body just a slight break from the normal routine so that when I get back to it, I’ll definitely feel relaxed and ready to go.

  3. Yay! So excited for you about the festival i bet it will be awesome!
    Love how you’re so commited to working out and manage to work your way around obstacles- so inspiring!

  4. Those puddings look yummy πŸ™‚ The new release of the body pump is growing on me- I found I could go back up to old weights for some of the tracks (eg squats, back, biceps), but the lunges track was really hard!
    On holiday I tend to keep active with lots of walking, but I do not work out as I do not have time! As I do sightseeing holidays never beach ones. πŸ™‚

  5. Glad your all signed up for the Alpro festival! I don’t mind the new release but I think I still preffered the last one. I need to refigure my weights as I can definitely increase them next time I think. When I’m in Brighton next week I’m planning lots of beach front runs and yoga podcasts! I can not wait to run along Brighton seafront!

    • Running a long the beach front sounds amazing! I’m definitely going to take my running gear with me and see how it goes. I know lots of walking and exploring will be involved. I’ve always wanted to got to Brighton- it always looks so amazing in all of the pics that I have seen. Definitely a gem in the UK. πŸ˜€

  6. That’s so cool, you’re gonna have so much fun!! πŸ™‚
    I love the look of that last pic of the protein ice-cream, YUM!
    I prefer to structure my workouts, or else i get lazy πŸ˜› And I don’t tend to work out much if I’m on holiday…I don’t worry about it anyway, if there’s the opportunity and I feel like it, I do, but if now, just enjoy the weather πŸ˜‰

  7. The festival sounds awesome! That vegetable stew looks so delicious, I’m definitely going to try something like that out! I’m quite a free styler because if I don’t stick to my plan I always feel a bit bad.
    On holiday I always walk and swim tons so I never feel like I’m not exercising and it’s nice to take a break!

  8. That’s so exciting about the festival, girl! Congratulations πŸ˜€ Alpro actually make my favorite caramel soy pudding, so I’d be jumping on an opportunity like that as well πŸ˜€ Hope you have a great time!

    As for exercise, I honestly wouldn’t stress too much about it. I never go out of my way to work out while I’m on vacation, and nothing bad ever happens. You’ll probably be spending a lot of time moving around anyways, so I wouldn’t worry πŸ™‚

  9. gah so jealous!!! i was asked to go to the festival but im int he US!! GAHH!! HAvE FUN!

  10. All your foods here look so delish Jemma~
    Hmm I usually don’t skip out on workouts if I don’t have to. However if i’m with a group of people and it would be an inconvenience for others, then I don’t. But I usually do stuff like one legged squats in the bathroom, or pushups, or something of that sort if I get the chance. It’s just a few here and there, to keep my blood flowing nicely πŸ˜‰ However, don’t worry about losing strength or anything like that and enjoy your time! We actually don’t lose as much strength as we think we would hehe.

  11. That ice cream is so pink! Yummy πŸ™‚
    I like to change my fitness routine regularly to stop me getting into a rut. I don’t normally worry too much about fitness on holiday. I might do a couple of runs and lots of walking. The most important thing is to enjoy yourself!

    • I’m not going to stress too much about not working out. I think some runs around Florence would be lovely and I’m going to be doing lots of walking anyways I guess. I know I’m going to make enjoying myself the main priority. πŸ™‚

  12. Mmmm all your eats look SO yummy! And yaaay for the festival thing- sounds like fun! πŸ˜€

    Depends on the holiday to be honest! If I can, I do, but I don’t worry about it! I focus more on spending time with family/friends and living it up! Oh, and the new BodyPump isn’t as good I don’t think! I think the squats+chest+lunges are harder, but other than that, easier! Bring on the NEXT release I say! πŸ™‚

    • I hate the lunge track. It’s so hard, especially when you do the low lunge sets straight into squats. My legs are still sore. Your right in the sense that the last release was better, so I’ve had to up myweights to make it more challenging. But, I’m now a Body Pump groupie so I’m still going to say that I love it. Ha! πŸ™‚

  13. Lindsey

    Florence is incredible! Trust me you will be walking so much to see all the great places you may not even need another workout. But there is a nice running path up by Piazzale Michelangelo. It’s up on a hill and a lot of people go there to take pictures because it’s the perfect view of the city, so that would be a great place to go take in the sights and get a run in if you’re feeling it.
    (Also, if you have some time and want a quick/cheap/delicious meal you have to go get a panini at this place called Li per Li (corner of via XXVII Aprile and via San Zanobi). They have a different mix of veggies every day and they pile it on ciabatta and it is so good. I’m bias because this was pretty much my daily lunch for a while, but I was never disappointed πŸ™‚ )

    • You’ve just made me even more excited to go nowe. I cannot wait. I’ve never been to Florence before. Thanks so much for the heads up about the running spot. I will definitely be checking that out and the eatery. I’m making up a list of things to do and see this weekend. My hotel is right in the centre of Florence, which is really handy! πŸ™‚

  14. Gotta love bodypump!!

    mmmm, that dessert looks beyond fantastic πŸ˜‰

  15. I’m loving the colors on this post! πŸ™‚

    Whitney

  16. I’ve not been on holiday when I’ve been into fitness… I’m going soon to Ibiza and to be honest I’ll probably take the week off.. It might be different if I was going somewhere else and not on a girly holiday but I think I will just give myself permission to relax and have the week off… of course I may change my mind when I’m out there!

    • I’m thinking all of the walking that I will be doing should pay off and I’m thinking of doing some yoga and short runs if the surrounding areas allow that. Although I know I won’r be working out as intensely as I normally would. Have a great time on holiday! πŸ™‚

  17. We don’t even have the new Body Pump release here yet! My crappy gym always seems to get the last of everything. I’m really excited about it though and have been reading all of the evaluations on various blogs.

    I do try to introduce new things every now and again, but it depends on which exercises aggravate whichever injuries I have the least.

    I must admit holidays or time away stress me out a lot in terms of working out: I’ll have to be away in Leeds, Cambridge or Manchester (or all three!) depending on what happens career-wise this year and I am desperately trying to find hotels with gyms and suitable running routes. But for most people without my eating issues, I don’t think a couple of days here or there really matter at the expense of enjoying your time away.

    xxx

    • I think your right. I’m not going to be stressed out over not working out, but I really would love to do some running around Florence to see what it’s like. The new Body Pum[p class isn’t as intense as the last one, but back and lunge tracks are really hard core. I’ve had to up my weights to make it more challenging, but it’s a nice change from the other release. I really do love it! xx

  18. I haven’t tried the new BodyPump release yet. My gym membership has expired and until I find a new gym I’m having to cope without. Booo!
    I’ll send you an email about Florence, but Lyndsey’s comment sounds a bit more helpful then what I can tell you!! haha!! I can’t wait to see all your photos from there though πŸ™‚

All of your comments make me smile :-)

