Guest Post: Ellen @ Cinnamonalicious

Hello!! I have another great guest post lined up for you by another amazing UK blogger. So here is the lovely Ellen to look after you all.  This girl definitely knows how to have fun and eats some amazing food so go check out her blog as it’s awesome!!

Hi all you beautiful Celery & Cupcakes readers!

First off I wanna say a huge thanks to Jemma for featuring me on her blog 🙂

I was a terrible blogger as I said that I’d have a post prepared WEEKS ago and then totally let it slip my mind! I sat myself on the naughty step for a while though so I think I’ve learned my lesson 😛  Sorry Jemma!

Anyway, you’re probably wondering who I am right?!

My name is Ellen, and I write over at a little blog called Cinnamonalicious.

I blog about my life as a university student in the UK, trying to live a healthy, active lifestyle, with plenty of delicious and nutritious food, whilst also living it up and partying down like us students do 😉

If you read my blog, you might have noticed that I’m a self-confessed carboholic😉

I love my carbs, they’re by far my favourite food group and I most definitely couldn’t live without them!

Oats, wholegrain bread, vegetables and fruit are my faves!

Carbs often get a bad rep, and some people tend to see them as the devil.

I have to admit that at one stage, I believed that carbs were bad, and that if I ate a sandwich or big plate of pasta, I would blow up… emm hello?! This makes NO sense!

Carbohydrates are essential for a healthy, balanced diet. They provide your body easily released energy, PLUS they’re delicious!

However, you should be aware of the differences in the quality of the carbs you choose. There are 2 main groups: Simple and Complex.

Simple carbs like white bread, rice, cakes, crisps and sugarcontain fast-released energy that can make your blood sugar level rise and drop quickly, leaving you with a sudden burst of energy, followed by a slump.

Complex carbs like wholegrains, fresh fruit, vegetables and pulsesrelease energy slowly, throughout the day, and leave you feeling more energetic and awake!

It is recommended that we get 2/3rds of our daily caloric intake from these complex carbs, and the other 1/3 from a combination of protein and fats.

This is so simple to do if you base your diet around fresh fruit (think apples, pears, bananas, berries, melon etc.) and vegetables (particularly dark green, leafy veg, root veg like carrots, broccoli, sweet potato, spinach, peppers etc.), wholegrain breads, pasta, rice, quinoa, pulses, oats, cereal…need I go on?!

Moral of the story – DON’T FEAR CARBS!!

Just choose the complex ones most of the time, and indulge in the simple kind from time to time.

What’s your favourite form of carbohydrate?

13 Comments

Filed under guest post

13 responses to “Guest Post: Ellen @ Cinnamonalicious

  1. Lenna (veganlenna)

    Thanks for a nice post! I love carbs, I eat them all day long – oatmeal for breakfast is probably my fave form of carbs 🙂 Then a lot of fruits for snack, huge veggies salads for dinner, and some whole grains and pulses for lunch – that´s how I love my day 🙂

  2. It makes me sad when people give carbs such a bad rap because I absolutely love ’em! Oats are without a doubt my favorite way to get carbs in, but I don’t think I’ve ever met a carb I didn’t like 😀

  3. I LOVE carbs. I have to be careful not to go overboard on things like cereal and crackers (because I could eat the whole box in one sitting… no joke…)) but I eat tons of fruits and veggies. Who cares about carbs?!

  4. Pingback: Friday Failure | cinnamonalicious

  5. I love love love carbs of any variety. Seriously. Low fat diet I could do, low protein probalby could (though carbs aren’t as satisifying long-term as either of the other options) but try to take away my carbs and I would probably go NUTS.

    Love this! 🙂

    n

  6. I love carbs – my favourite is probably brown rice, but I’m also a fan of oats, potatoes, sweet potatoes, pasta, other grains etc. etc. …

  7. I love carbs! I think my favourite has to be fruit 🙂 and oats of course 😉

  8. Carbs are delicious!!! It makes me sad they are frowned upon. I love fruit and veggies! But oatmeal is another favorite. It’s pretty hard to pick considering they’re all pretty delicious

  9. haha I totes used to fear the carb…silly me!! now they are my bff ( fo life!) oatmeal and sweet potatoes, hands DOWN. Like every day consumption 🙂 Great post girl!!

  10. I so agree! I believe carbs = energy. I need them to power through my day and workouts!!

  11. Hmmmm. My favorite carbs are def cookies, but I also can’t live without my fruit. Right now I’m eating a scrumptious peach…mmmm. so juicy.

  12. Sad that regular potatoes are in the first picture. I love carbs too!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

