Vita Coco Review

Whilst at the Vitality Show in March I had the amazing opportunity to talk to and meet the lovely people of Vita Coco who generously offered to send me some of their products to review for the blog:

The packaging is just so bright and colourful. 🙂

I love recieving packages (well, who doesn’t), but I was more than happy to recieve these lovelies.  I was sent two cartons of 100% Coconut Water, Acai & Pomegranate and Peach and Mango.

I’ve tried them on their own at the Vitality Show, but mostly at home I have been incorporating them into my green smoothies, particularly my post run smoothies due to the rehydrating qualitiies of the coconut water.

PB & Jelly Green Smoothie

Not to be confused with coconut milk, coconut water is that cloudy liquid that you can hear shaking about inside of a coconut. Coconut water is a healthy and natural source of electrolytes such as sodium, potassium, magnesium and calcium- making it an extremely popular drink amongst atheletes.

Drinking coconut water before a workout or race prevents the body from dehydration and can protect against hyponatremia.  In cases of hyponatremia there is a depletion of sodium ions (salt) in the extracellular fluid surronding the cells and can be associated with many different disorders.  You can read more about  hyponatremia here.

Coconut water is fat free, caffiene free, sugar free, entirely natural and actually contains 15 more times the electrolytes than a sports drink.  What I like about Vita Coco as a company is that it doesn’t claim to be a pre-, during or post workout drink.  It’s key message is all about hydration which the body needs all day everyday.

Tropical Green Smoothie

Before being sent these products I had read great things about Vita Coco, but was alway put off by the higher price pont.  You can pick up a 1 litre carton of 100% Coconut water for £4.65 and 500 ml is £3.09 at Holland and Barratt.  The flavoured coconut water is priced at £2.05 for 330 ml.

I have one carton of the Peach and Mango coconut water left and after trialing these products I am definitely going to purchase some more and make them a regular feature in my diet.   Fair enough it is at a higher price point than a bottle of water, but for something so natural and full of goodness I thinkit’s worth it. Packed with so many nutritional benefits there is also the added bonus that they taste amazing too.

It tastes like you are drinking straight out of a coconut.

Alas, it’s a shame that it’s from a carton and not a freshly hand picked coconut from a palm tree in the Caribbean, but boy it’s just as good!

Have you tried Vita Coco products before?  What do you think?

Do you drink sports drinks whilst working out?

24 Comments

Filed under Reviews

24 responses to “Vita Coco Review

  1. I actually tried Vita Coco for the first time just the other day! And I am not exactly sure what I was expecting… but I hated it! It’s probably just my personal taste though because I am not a huge fan of coconut flavor… but yeah, not for me unfortunately 😦

  2. ive never tried vita coco before–idk why, i guess i just never got around to it! maybe ill try some now 🙂

  3. I love vita coco! I think i’ve taught myself to like it, though, because I refuse to drink gatorade or other synthetic sports drinks. And I often need the extra electrolytes. I also love coconut anything, so that definitely helped.

  4. I’ve never tried Vita Coco products before, but I HAVE tried coconut water, and I enjoyed it quite a bit. I love how refreshing it is. Better than any other sports drink for sure.

  5. Great review! We dont have these products in Norway though 😦 But I do love coconut water.- so so refreshing!

  6. I love vita coco, I’ve been using it in green smoothies for ages. I love that Sainsbury’s is now selling the large cartons as well. I do love them for when I feel like a need some extra hydration 🙂

  7. I love it especially for Bikram! x

  8. I love the flavoured ones but the original one always tastes a bit muggy for me.
    They are pretty expensive but i now my local health food shops sells the 1l cartons for about £2.85 so they could be cheaper in other places too?

  9. vivoir

    I absolutely love the passion fruit one. my mum? well, she just puts some rum in it for a pina colada… 😉

  10. Errign

    Love Vita Coco stuff – I think they’ve got the best flavors, though I don’t like plain coconut water all that much!

    I don’t usually drink when I’m working out, unless I’m biking, but afterwards, I have lots of water or sometimes a coconut water or something.

  11. I love coconut water – it is so refreshing to drink after a hard workout! I’ve never thought of using it in a smoothie though – great idea!

  12. I find that sports drinks are typically not necessary {and a waste of money/calories} unless I am working out intensely for longer than an hour. I usually stick with water 🙂

  13. Sophia

    but i’m a total coconut water fiend. just try a different brand!

  14. I want to try coconut water!! I always see them in whole foods 🙂

  15. I’ve always wanted to try this stuff! I’ve heard it’s good instead of Gatorade, so I definitely need to get some from Whole Foods. I’ve even seen it on sale recently 🙂

  16. I’ve tried this once before and liked it! I didn’t get to try a flavor though, really excited to do so!

  17. ive never ever tried vitacoco!

  18. A Tablespoon of Liz

    Vita coco is one of my favorite brands of coconut water! So delicious and refreshing!

  19. livinglearningeating

    Your smoothies look good! I love making monsters. 🙂 Green ones, that is. 😛

    I’ve never tried coconut water, though!

  20. I love vitacoco. I use them to rehydrate after any intense workout, but it is costing me crazy amounts! I wish they were cheaper, I have started buying the litre carton now as it’s so much cheaper than the smaller ones.

  21. I LOVE coconut water! Zico is my favorite but I bought an 18-pack of Vita Coco off of GiltCitySF.com as a deal and it just arrived! Can’t wait to dig in! 🙂

    I never thought about putting it into smoothies – what a GREAT idea!

  22. Pingback: I *Heart* September « Celery and Cupcakes

  23. Pingback: Vita Coco and Nakd Giveaway! « Celery and Cupcakes

  24. Ron

    We only have 2 flavors of Vita Coco at our local market. I tried the coconut water/pineapple juice one and I LOVED it. I am drinking one now as I type this actually. One day they were out of this flavor and they only had the plain coconut water one. I tried it and DESPISED it! For some reason, the coconut water one by itself is just disgusting, but when it is mixed with a little pineapple juice, the combo flavor is exquisite. I wish the store carried the other flavors you have displayed up there. I’d be happy to try them all..

All of your comments make me smile :-)

