Guest Post Swap: Emma @ The Quirky Kitchen

Hi there Celery and Cupcake readers! Before I go on, I’d just like to say a big thank you to Jemma!  This blog is one of my favourites so I am very excited to be here!

It all started with a challenge………….

Jemma and I decided to shake things up a little and challenge each other to come up with a new recipe containing an ingredient of each of our choosing. Jem picked cacao and I decided on tropical fruit.  Here’s what I came up with……….

……………………………………..MANGO CHEEZECAKE SHOTS!

20110811-085313.jpg

When I was clearing out my cupboards the other day, I came across several shot glasses from my student days 😉  Being a fan of bite-sized things, I thought that some mini vegan cheesecakes would make a great party dessert.

20110811-085323.jpg

This multi-layered treat comprises a raw cacao “crust” that has a brownie-like texture and taste, followed by coconut cream and mango puree to top it off.

20110811-085335.jpg

Layer by layer…….the lowdown!

Cocoa “crust” – Ingredients

– 1/3rd cup raw cocoa powder

– 2 heaped Tbsp dehydrated buckwheat

– 1/3rd cup mixed raisins (I used sour cherries too)

– 1/4 cup maple syrup

– 1/3rd cup coconut flour

– a splash of ground nut oil

– 1 Tbsp peanut butter

Blend everything together into a smooth paste that can be rolled into balls easily. Separate the mixture into approximately 6 parts and squish into the bottom of your shot glasses/serving glass of choice

Coconut Cream

1 handful of coconut flakes

– 1/2 cup silken tofu

– 2 drops vanilla essence

-1 tbsp coconut oil or coconut butter (I used Artisana coconut butter)

Place these in a blender and blend blend blend!!! Spoon over the chocolate base layer. I left the coconut flakes till last and only part blended them so that the cream was textured rather than completely smooth. Just do whatever suits you – I guess it’s like PB – smooth, crunchy and everything in between goes! You may wish to add a sweetener of your choice too 🙂

Mango Top!

diced mango

Chop a mango into pieces and blitz into a smooth puree.  Dollop on top of the coconut cream and then dig in!!!

These healthy little treats are perfect for girls nights in, tea parties and as a light dessert.   They provide you with protein, healthy fats and the raw cocoa will make you smile! 😀

20110811-085255.jpg

I’m thinking kiwi or pineapple shots next…….

Anyhoo…..thank you for reading 🙂  I hope that your road is paved with many kitchen adventures!  Can’t wait to try Jemma’s recipe over at The Quirky Kitchen!

Love and hugs from Emm (http://thequirkykitchen.wordpress.com)

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Guest Post Swap: Emma @ The Quirky Kitchen

  1. What a GREAT idea — this looks amazing! I am definitely going to have to try this. Thanks for posting. And its vegan to boot!

  2. Lenna (veganlenna)

    Looks delicious! Those are the kind of shots that I would enjoy 🙂

  3. Awww YAAY! Emma was teasing me with sound of these and I was soo looking forward to the recipe!! They sound absolutely YUM and so creative in shot glasses! Emma is definitely getting me more excited about raw foods, I love it 🙂

  4. allthingswholesome

    wow this is such a cool idea, and I love the idea of them being in shot glasses im always excited by small things, hence eating with small cutlery 😀 I am going to try this, because I loveeeeee Mango. 😀

    Love Jess xx

  5. Oh my goodness, YUM!! Anything with maple syrup and coconut is bound to be good. 😉

  6. Wow – those are genious! They look so cute in shot glasses, although I think that I would have several shots!

  7. Oh my, these are so cute- and they sound so delicious!v Love the idea!!

  8. Those are SO cute!!! I’m thinking they’d be good with a splash of rum in the coconut cream… what do you think??

  9. That’s so awesome! What a great idea!!!

  10. Ooh yum these looks delicious and soo tasty, I love the idea of mini shot glass desserts!

  11. Yumm these look so delicious! Anything mini is so cute too haha

  12. Errign

    Yum. I love parfait type things in any form – I think they’re so pretty.

  13. Great idea, those look so tasty!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

