Festival Weekend

Hello lovely people!

The weekend is upon us again and I for one is very glad that it’s mad it’s pretty arrival. It’s been one tiring week and quite frankly I’m feeling quite drained. But, I have lots of fun in store this weekend so that makes up for the hectic week- cos’ yah gotta take the good with the bad!

Did you manage to check on my very first guest post on the lovely Emma’s blog?

Raw Chocolate Covered Coconut and Mango Bites

We set ourselves a little recipe challenge where we each had to pick one random ingredient each and incorporate both ingredients into our recipes.  You can read my guest post here.  It was so much fun guest posting and I loved the challenge of creating a recipe that had to include both ingredients.  🙂

Other than eating copious amounts of my raw chocolate covered bites yesterday morning for breakfast I decided to have a lovely bowl of Dorset Cereals High Fibre Flakes with two chopped pink lady apples and some vanilla rice milk.

This morning for breakfast I was channeling that banana vibe again and made a lovely bowl of voluminous and creamy banana oats made with vanilla rice milk and water.  I was going to keep this bowl of oats very simple for a change, but on the contrary on came the toppings…

…dehydrated blueberries, shredded coconut and a gigantic spoonful of dark chocolate dreams…

Yum!!! I’m so glad that I didn’t go topless with my oats…ahem!  Sorry, couldn’t resist the urge to write that one.  Childish I know. 🙂

Lunch on both days has been the most amazing hummus topped salad.  I picked up a pot of the best hummus EVER created, Sabra hummus, when I was shopping the other day.  This time I went for the piquant pepper flavour and it was a-m-azing, just as I was expecting.  I would have been happy with just a plate full of hummus to eat to be honest.  However, I thought I would mix it up a little and added romaine lettuce, red pepper, cucumber, olives, spouted beans and lentils, black olives and raw sprouted sunseeds provencale by Raw Health.

Dinner on both last night and tonight have variations of the same stir fry served with brown rice.  It included pineapple, broccoli, red peppers, spring greens, onions, hispi cabbage, mushrooms and coriander.

This was fab! 🙂 I made a sweet and sour style sauce using sweet chilli sauce, soy sauce, ume plum vinegar and lime juice.  I used to order sweet and sour sauces all of the time from the Chinese takeaway, but loved this version a whole lot more.

I’ve also been enjoying lots of fresh fruit topped with vanilla soya yoghurt and a raw chocolate sauce.

Russet pear, persimmon and strawberries.

I’m so excited for this weekend as the time has arrived for the Summer Sundae festival that I am attending on behalf of Alpro Soya.  A part of me is regretting that I won’t be pitching up in a tent, but the festival is only a 40 minute drive from my house and the weather is being very unpredictable too.  There is an amazing and varied line up!  I’m most looking forward to seeing Example, Newton Faulkner, Dionne Bromfield and The Maccabees.  There’s also so many other bands playing that I want to see, way too many to mention.  A lot of them are new to me too. Oh and lets not forget the comedy tent too! Of course I will be hitting up the Alpro Soya breakfast stand as soon as I arrive.

I would just like to mention that I am attending the festival on behalf of Alpro Soya as a guest after accepting their invitation and not as an employee.  My opinions in my wrote up post will be my own and I haven’t taken any form of monetary payment to attend or been influenced in anyway.

Well I think that clears up any of the formalities! 🙂

I will be updating my Twitter and Facebook page during the festival too, so don’t forget to look out for my updates!  And I want to say another big thank you to Laura for hooking me up!!!

I hope you all have a beautiful weekend! 🙂

Have you been to any festivals this summer?

Have you discovered any new bands recently?

What are you up to this weekend?

39 Comments

Filed under EATS!

39 responses to “Festival Weekend

  1. Oooh sounds exciting, i hope you have an awesome time, festivals are the best!
    Love the look of that salad with hummus, i need to pick some of that Sabra stuff up 🙂

  2. YES i did se eyour post!! AMAZING!! and delicious! have a great time!

  3. Everything looks delicious! I love sabra<3 It's my favorite! No plans for me this weekend!

  4. I love festivals! I haven’t gone to any this summer (mainly because it’s so dang hot here, it’d just be miserable!)..but I did go to one last May. It was a BBQ fest so even though I couldn’t eat a single thing there, it was still fun to spend time with the family.

  5. I sure did check out that post! Loved it btw 🙂
    Yay for festivals, have a great time!

  6. oh have a lovely time, I went to a local beer festival lol does that count:p

  7. I haven’t gone to any festivals this summer 😦 I usually go to Lollapalooza, but we went to Vegas instead. I hope you have a fab time!

  8. Ohhhh how exciting!!! 🙂 Can’t wait to hear from you whilst you are there! Very jealous!!
    All of your eats look so tasty! I still need to try that Sabra hummus when I can eventually find it..
    I’ve never been to a festival..I’m not sure whether I’m into the whole camping thing..I did Duke of Edinburgh and did not enjoy the camping part lol! If I could go and just be there during the day and then crash into my bed I’d be a happy camper haha 🙂

    • The festival was amazing!!! You can pick up Sabra hummus in Sainsbury’s. I haven’t spotted it in any other supermarket yet.

      I’ve never camped out either. I’m not sure if I would like it as I love my creature comforts too much! 🙂

  9. OMG. the chocolate looks delish.
    yummmmmm.

  10. jranolajoyce

    Everything looks great! so yummy!

  11. great eats! your veggie and salad pics are so artistic, I love it. and now I want raw chocolate…

  12. Have fun at the festival! I saw Newton Faulkner last year and he was amazing 🙂

  13. I hope you have a really awesome time chick! The guys at Alpro are lovely, tell them I say hi!

  14. Your eats looks fantastic as always Jemma! I must try out those chocolate+mango bites- they look like heaven!
    I hope youll have a lot of fun at the festival! Im having a relaxing weekend- MUCH needed to say it the least 😉 And Im going to a birthday party tonight! And eating lots of chocolate!
    Happy weekend :**

  15. The festival sounds really exciting 🙂 I’m not doing too much this weekend, just shopping, catching up with blog stuff, reading and relaxing.
    Hope you’re having fun!

  16. Errign

    This weekend is pretty quiet over here – day off today and work tomorrow…nothing exciting 🙂

    Have fun at the festival – and I’m with you – hummus makes excellent salad dressing!

  17. vivoir

    Oh Pink Lady apples are YUM – as are Jazz apples 😀 Asda do the best price on persimmon by the way 😉

  18. omg your eats are making my mouth water!! delish….and awesome photography!

  19. I just went to a festival and posted about it and also commented on your guest post you did…great work! 🙂

  20. YUM! Every time I read your blog my stomach starts growling! 🙂

    I went to a beer and oyster festival back in May which was lovely! And a few wine festivals as well!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

