Simple Vegan Recipes and a Giveaway

Hello lovelies! How was your weekend?  I’m still feeling the after effects of the Summer Sundae Weekender I went to yesterday.  I think at one point I was actually falling asleep at my desk whilst reading.  Ooops!  Ah well, it was all worth it as I had the most amazing weekend, more of which you will find out about later.

My weekend started off great with a delicious green smoothie…

This turned out to be a pale pink colour due to the lack of dark leafy greens- I was all out! Instead I used romaine lettuce, hispi cabbage, a banana, a russet pear, homemade almond milk, water, cookies and cream powder, lucuma powder, maca powder, xanthan gum and guar gum.  I topped this heavenly bowl with buck wheaties, dried cranberries, cacao nibs and carob covered raisins.

Yesterday’s breakfast was a fab yoghurt mess made from vanilla soy yoghurt, melon, strawberries, blueberries, figs, buck wheaties and cashew nuts.  This tasted amazing!  I think I was trying to recapture some of the summer with fresh fruit mountain that I pile quite high. 🙂

To take to work on Saturday I made a salad using a mx of whole grains and fruit in the style of one of my favourite super food salads from Marks and Spencer.

*Fruity Mixed Whole Grain Salad*

Ingredients (vegan, 2-3 servings)

  • 1/2 cup of quinoa
  • 1/2 cup of pearl barley
  • 1/4 cup of green split peas
  • 1/4 cup of yellow split peas
  • 6 cherry tomatoes halved
  • 1/4 cup of diced cucumber
  • 1/4 cup of fresh pineapple
  • 1/4 cup of blueberries
  • lettuce (I used curly lettuce)
  • 1/3 cup of olives
  • 3 tbsps of fresh coriander
  • 3 tbsps of canola oil
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar
  • dried Italian herbs

This really is simple to make it’s just a case of cooking off all of the grains and pulses and putting aside to leave them to cool.  Prepare the salad vegetables and pineapple and blueberries and add to the bowl of grains.  Also add the olives and fresh coriander and stir well to mix the grains evenly in with the fruits.  In another bowl mix together the canola oil, balsamic vinegar, lemon juice and herbs and pour over the grain and vegetable mix until everything is lightly covered with the dressing.

Serve on a bed of fresh lettuce leaves.

Fresh. Wholesome. Delicious.

In the afternoon I headed for the gym for a workout.  I wasn’t up to doing my usual 1 hour of interval work as due to tiredness.  Instead I did a 45 minute cardio workout that consisted of a 30 cross country session on the cross trainer, 10 minutes on the bike and 4 minutes on the step machine plus my abs and core work.  I felt the most alive after this workout than I did throughout the entire the day.  It’s amazing how exercise can make you feel.  I went from Zombie to an happy endorphin boosted girly in the matter of minutes. Actually if anyone had seen he before and after effects of exercise they most probably think that I had some kind of personality disorder.

For dinner tonight I made some lovely bean burgers using red kidney beans and squash. It’s been a while since I’ve made homemade burgers and these just tasted lovely.

The mixture to form the burgers was really short, but they taste too good for me not to share the recipe with you all.  I’ve seen a few recipes in blog land recently that included rye bread in their burger recipes.  Forgive if I’m mistaken but I’m pretty sure that it was the lovely Laura and Nicky.  I had some sunflower seed rye bread so I thought I would add that into the mix too.

*Squash Bean Burgers*

Ingredients (vegan, makes 2 large burgers)

  • 1 cup of cooked butternut squash
  • 1 tin of organic red kidney beans
  • 1 cooked medium white onion
  • 1 slice of sunflower seed rye bread
  • 1 clove of grated garlic
  • 3 tbsps of lemon juice
  • 2 tbsps of fresh coriander

Cook the butternut squash and slowly cook the onion until they soften.  Add the onions, squash, red kidney beans, garlic, coriander, lemon juice and rye bread into a blender and process until the mixture becomes smooth.  Shape into burgers and leave to rest in the fridge for an our or more to allow the burgers to firm up.

I served my burgers on top of two portobello mushrooms with a warm tomato sauce made using organic passata, garlic, and dried mixed herbs.  Fresh lettuce, avocado, tomatoes, yellow pepper and roasted edamame beans and sweet potato fries made the perfect accompliment to my burgers.  Yum!

Desert tonight was a huge bowl of fresh strawberries, a chopped banana, greenages topped with a swirl of Hershey’s chocolate syrup, vanilla, agave and almond granola and some artisana raw walnut butter.

I was happy to announce that Rice Dream are my blog sponsors for August.  Of course this means an amazing blog sponsor giveaway for you guys!! 🙂

Source

One lucky reader will win a 1 carton of every 1 litre carton in the entire Rice Dream range.  This includes 1 litre cartons of:

  • Rice Dream Original with Calcium and Vitamins
  • Rice Dream Original Organic
  • Vanilla Organic
  • Almond and Hazelnut
  • Chocolate with Calcium and Vitamins
  • Rice Dreamed Chilled with Calcium and Vitamins

To enter all you have to do is…

  • leave a comment on this post stating what you best achievement is
  • follow the blog on twitter and tweet about this giveaway ensuring that @celery_cupcakes is in the tweet
  • Like the Celery and Cupcakes Facebook page
  • link back to this giveaway in your own blog posts

Each action counts as a separate entry and please leave a comment for each one as I wouldn’t want to miss one out when I count them all up.  The giveaway will end on Sunday 21st August with the winner to be picked using the random generator and announced on Monday.

This particular giveaway is only open to UK readers only– HUGE apologies to my international readers!

I’m currently looking for blog sponsors for September.  If you are interested in becoming a blog sponsor and promote your blog, small business or brand on Celery and Cupcakes then please drop me an email at: celeryandcupcakes@gmail.com and you can read here for more details.

72 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Giveaway, Recipes

72 responses to “Simple Vegan Recipes and a Giveaway

  1. The burgers look delicious! Love the addition of butternut squash.
    I think my best achievement so far is my grades, from gcse to my first year of uni. I love writing them out and am very proud of them!

  2. My best achievement was winning a partial scholarship to high school!

  3. I follow you on twitter and tweeted

  4. oh i will enter this a bit later, but that salad is my fav ones from m and s I love the blueberries and magoes in it thanks for sharing

  5. I like the Blog on Facebook…

  6. And I’ve also linked to the giveaway post 🙂

  7. My greatest achievement was undoubtedly a tie between my first and second marathons. Sadly they are but distant memories now…

  8. Ohh amazing recipes here girly! Especially loving the burgers, particularly because they have squash in them hehe! 🙂
    My greatest achievement is getting good grades from gcse to university too, especially since I was really ill whilst doing them.

  9. I follow you on twitter and tweeted! 🙂

  10. Yaaay… I’m a happy bunny!! 😛 hehe!) Thank you for hosting the fab giveaway, sweetie!

    Hmm..an achievement.. of mine?? o_O That’s a tough ‘un, missie!
    (..and I most definitely don’t mean that there are too many to choose from! ^_^)

    erm.. well, my first thought was that my ONLY ‘achievement’ was that I passed all my GCSEs with above average grades (although I still didn’t feel they were good enough)..but then I realised – my perfectionist, driven self is being narrow-minded in only considering anything academic or career related as being an achievement – I wouldn’t view it like this for others, so why should I consider these the only ‘real’ achievements for myself??

    Thus, (and yes, this was a long-winded way of getting to my ‘proper’ answer..but hey-ho! :-P) I’ve decided – my greatest achivemement is that I continue in my battle against the eating disorder & mental health issues, which have consumed over 7 years of my (22 years of) life and, in spite of how much in can feel impossible to keep going, the doubts, fears & difficult feelings, I’m not going to give in to the illness.. I’m a fighter!

    (..hope that counts! :-|)

    • (ok, so apparently some of the first part of my comment got eaten..methinks your bloggie may be hungry! 😉 haha!
      What is was supposed to say, in that first bit, was:)

      “Yaaay.. I ❤ vanilla Rice Dream (I haven't tried any of the others, but – a dash of vanilla Rice Dream in mah coffee, and I'm a happy bunny!! 😀 hehe!)"

      ..etc, etc 😛

    • ACK..and a typo, despite the fact that I proof-read my comment before posting – i.e. ‘in spite of how IT can feel impossible…’ (not ‘IN can feel impossible!’).. d’oh!

      (Apologies for the comment spam now! o_O)

  11. Liked ya on faciebook!

  12. my biggest achievement as of recently was admitting i had a problem and proceeding with treatment!

  13. Clair Wagner

    So far my greatest achievment is running a 10k last year and taking 10 minutes off the previous years time. When I’m healed and a bit fitter I’m going to see about smashing my PB again!

  14. Clair Wagner

    I’ve liked the blog on facebook

  15. Clair Wagner

    and tweeted a link on my twitter feed.

  16. followin ya on twitta!

  17. Following on Twitter already..and tweeted about the giveaway! 🙂

  18. I love that M&S salad – I was far too happy when I found it reduced to £2 the other day!
    Enter me please, I tried the chocolate Rice Dream at the Vitality show earlier this year and it was so good. My best achievement lately is passing my law school exams. x

  19. oohhh those squash bean burgers look deeeelish!

  20. Rebecca

    Of all things, my best achievement in my life is being focused on helping my family by saving money, finding a ton of coupons, reorganizing pantries & cabinets, helping grocery shop, cooking for them, taking care of my dog, keeping my room spotless everyday, cleaning up after myself, creating very thoughtful homemade (80% of the time homemade) gifts and cards, and keeping straight A’s and staying focused on what’s important in life!

  21. Rebecca

    i’m following you on twitter and i tweeted about this giveaway!

  22. Rebecca

    I liked the Celery and Cupcakes facebook page!

  23. i always say so far in my life my greatest achievement is graduating from college. i had a rough start and was very proud of myself for sticking it through. I am also very proud that i paid my own way through it. two achievements in one!

  24. I love simple recipes. Thanks for posting, and thanks for the giveaway!

  25. Wow, fab giveaway! My greatest achievement so far has to be completing my triathlon, even though I had a panic attack during the swim stage!!

  26. I have liked you on Facebook 🙂

  27. You always eat the most delicious food girl! So jealous 😉
    Great giveaway!!

  28. Cheryl

    My best achievement is overcoming a 7 year eating disorder… Life is so full without being controlled by yourself!

  29. Cheryl

    Follow you on twitter and tweeted!!

  30. Bronagh

    Thanks for the burger recipe – they look delcious! I would never think to include squash in a burger recipe so I’ll definitely be trying these.

    I have just started experimenting with non-dairy milks and love the Rice Dream varitities I have tried so far, so this giveaway is right up my street! I think my best achievement is probably changing so many of my previous habits and adopting a much healthier lifestyle. It sounds cheesy, but it initially took a lot of determination and discipline to clean up my diet and get regular exercise etc. Now I find it second nature to run 10Ks and half marathons and eat huge salad beasts every day and can’t ever imagine going back to my unhealthy student days, but I still think it’s important to remind myself what I’ve achieved for my own health and fitness levels. We should all remind ourselves of that 🙂

  31. Bronagh

    I just liked your facebook page too 🙂

  32. I’m hoping my best achievement is to come when I walk the half marathon London Shine in October for Cancer Research UK 🙂 x

  33. Jessica

    Love the sound of these burgers! The addition of squash id genius – I can imagine the great taste it adds!

  34. Haha – I’m like that with exercise too. On Sunday morning I was curled up on the sofa feeling very sorry for myself and after a run I was really energised!
    Awesome giveaway! My biggest achievement was probably surviving living for 3 months in China in the middle of nowhere with a Chinese family.

  35. Emma

    My best achievement is obtaining a 2:1 on my Psychology degree whilst struggling with an eating disorder.

  36. Errign

    Best of luck to those of you in the UK on winning 🙂

    Yum – bean burgers are so quick and easy to whip up!

  37. Pingback: Ice ice baby! « Knitting Running Eating

  38. I have linked here on my blog chick x

  39. My best achievement? Hmmm. Does moving to a new city, and starting a new job count? I never thought i’d do that, but I did it last year, and it’s been amazing!

  40. Kasey

    I’m a huge almond milk fan but recently I got blood work done and they called to give me the results for allergies and told me not to have almonds before I go … Idk what I’ll do If that’s what I’m allergic to! So trying rice milk is something I need to switch to!

    My biggest accomplishment was getting second place in my first figure show! Lots of hardwork & dedication!

  41. Oooh cool i love rice dream!
    I think my biggest achievement is getting in to Manchester uni even though i didn’t do any A levels, not sure quite how i pulled that one out the bag!
    I love the look of those burgers too 🙂

  42. Pingback: WIAW…Suprise! « Celery and Cupcakes

  43. Pingback: WIAW…Surprise! « Celery and Cupcakes

  44. emily

    Getting up and going to the gym every morning is my greatest current acheivement, i never want to, but once i have been i always feel a million times better! emily x

  45. emily

    follow on twitter. x

  46. emily

    liked you on fb. x

  47. oooh! I love rice dream, especially the almond and hazelnut one…amaaaazing in coffee (:
    I’m thinking of what my biggest achievement is….will have to get back to you on that one haha!
    x

  48. and I already follow you on twitter (:

  49. My biggest acheivement is probably getting over my stage fright enough to study music performance at university

  50. Wow, my best achievement? I would say so far this MONTH my best achievement is being kind to myself. I’ve been going through a rough patch and it would be easy to beat myself up but I’ve been taking time to be thankful and think of reasons I am doing well!

  51. Rebecca Farndale

    My greatest achievement is my son. I’ll not go into details nor a long sob story but my baby boy is most definately my greatest achievement ever.

  52. Hello there! I would love to enter. My best achievement is… getting my Masters from Bristol Uni I guess.

  53. I have liked you on facebook 🙂

  54. I have tweeted this. x

  55. Pingback: On a break, gasp. « Welsh Girl Eats

  56. And I have linked back to this giveaway on my blog 🙂 xxx

  57. Pingback: Enjoying the sun « Celery and Cupcakes

  58. just tweeted and already follow you

  59. my biggest achievement has been getting to university

  60. Pingback: Recipe Archives « Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

