WIAW…Pretty in Pink!

Well, hello lovelies!  It’s time to head to the best party in blog land, WIAW.  I hope you have all got your glad rags on and dolled to the nines.  I think this one is going to get messy!

Peas and Crayons

Yesterday morning I woke up bright and early and did a yoga podcast from Yoga Download.com.  I opted for the shorter hip opening yoga session that involves a lot of runners lunges, pigeon poses and frog poses amongst lots of other poses to stretch out those hips. It was great preparation for my beloved Body Pump class in the evening. 

After stretching out those hips I made up a bowl of Whole Earth Swiss Organic Muesli with homemade cashew milk, strawberries, blueberries, a chopped banana and crumbled coconut butter.  The muesli tasted great especially with the added addition of the fresh fruit and coconut butter…yum!

My mid week run this morning went much better than Sunday’s run.  I ran 5.4 miles in 53 minutes which meant that my pace was 9.48 minutes/mile. I was really happy with this run as I felt strong throughout.  I also did my usual abs and core workout.  Beforehand, I decided to go out on an empty stomach, which seems to be working well for me when I exercise first thing in the morning.  I really did feel great out there this morning and the weather was beautiful- although it’s raining buckets now!

Post run I made a mega green smoothies using a banana, curly lettuce, frozen strawberries, homemade cashew nut milk, water, double fudge crunch protein powder, mesquite, lucuma powder, xanthan and guar gums.  It was topped with raw macadamia nut butter, molasses and pecan and treacle granola.  This tasted amazing and the perfect refuel after that run! 🙂

For lunch yesterday I made a huge salad plate which included curly lettuce, raddish, red pepper, carrots, cannellini beans, and sprinkled with sprouted sunseeds provencale by Raw Health.  This was perfect!  I made an awesome salad dressing to go with it too, not only did it taste great but it’s pink too! 😀

*Pretty in Pink Dressing*

Ingredients  (vegan)

  • 1 small raw beet root
  • 1 raw carrot
  • 1 tbsp of tahini
  • 1 tbsp of apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp of fresh parsley
  • juice from half a lemon
  • 1 clove of garlic (optional)
  • seasonings

Chop the carrot an beet root in to small chunks and begin to mix together in the food processor.  Add all of the other ingredients and mix until smooth. Depending on your food processor you may want to add some water and oil to help the mixing and change the consistency of the dressing.

This dressing is gorgeous!  I added some water to mine to change up the consistency, but I think I might leave it out next time so I can use it as a dip.  The tahini gives it a lovely creamy texture.  I could have quite happily ate this straight from the jar.

I ate the most delicious Crunchy Peanut Butter Cliff bar that I dug out of my Whole Foods stash yesterday afternoon:

I’m surprised that I managed to hold off eating this heavenly bar for so long.  It was all the way back in March that I went to Whole Foods.  I think another trip is required ASAP! 😀

Dinner last night was a bit of a mash up of a few things that I had lying a round as I needed to go grocery shopping.  I cooked off an onion with a clove of garlic and added courgettes, mushrooms, broccoli and edamame beans.  To this I added some brown rice that I cooked up at the weekend and some tomato puree, a pinch of sugar, dried thyme and veggie stock.  On top went sliced Linda McCartney vegetarian sausages and basil.  I served this mish mash of food on top of some spinach.

For such a speedy and random meal this tasted amazing!  The tomato-y sauce worked great with all of the delicious veggies and sausages. It just goes to show that you can always make something out of nothing.

My day of eats was all rounded off with lots of dehydrated blueberries and a few squares of Lindt Hazelnut Deluxe chocolate:

I really enjoyed this weeks eats for WIAW!  I hope you are all having a wild time at the party! 😀

What is the best thing that you have cooked up from random ingredients the day before a grocery shop?

What is the most tastiest thing that you have ate at this weeks fabulous WIAW party?!?!

58 Comments

Filed under Recipes, WIAW

58 responses to “WIAW…Pretty in Pink!

  1. your food always looks sooo good. i am so jealous of your creativity “random” dinners!!

  2. Lenna (veganlenna)

    Your breakfast looks delicious. And the dressing sounds really fabolous, I have to try it! 🙂
    I have never seen dehydrated blueberries, but I am sure they are pretty tasty 🙂 That yoga workout sounds very interesting, I wouldn´t mind stretching my hips a bit 🙂

  3. love those clif bars!! and a pink dressing sounds like my kind of dressing. can i ask what may seem like a sill question but I don’t really understand running paces is it better to have a high or a low one?

    • Running paces differ for everyone and depends on your progress and edurance levels. As I keep running my pace seems to get a little faster each time. Every run is a great achievement and you shouldn’t compare your own progress with somebody elses- no matter hard it is to stop yourself! 😀

  4. Love the pink dressing, beetroot and tahini rules! I once made a delicious mix of feta and olive bread croutons mixed with tomato sauce and cabbage, sounds totally random but tasted fab!

  5. That pink dressing looks good – I’m obsessed with beetroot!
    Omelettes are always my standby before a grocery shop – I usually have eggs in.

  6. I don’t think anything I ate could possibly compare to your beautiful pink dressing 🙂 I’m such a sucker for pink things, which is odd given that my favourite colour is black and I’m SO not a ‘girly’ girl.

    xxx

  7. That is indeed a very pretty salad dressing : )

  8. Great run Jemma!! And lovely eats! Love that pink dressing- sounds delicious!
    I have eaten so much yummy cheese lately, but it havent been all good. My feelings are all over the place, and Im not sure where Im heading. Only time will tell 😉
    Happy WIAW 😀

  9. That dressing is beautiful! I have a bunch of roasted beets that I didn’t know what to do with, so I can’t wait to make the dressing!

  10. Love the idea of that salad dressing- I love beetroot anyway and also pink!
    Also did you know that wiggle.co.uk does pb clif bars in boxes (also choc chip and oatmeal raisin)- you have to get a bix of 16 (I think?) but once you have tried them and know you love them it works out cheaper- plus you dont have to wait for a wholefoods trip and postage is free. x

  11. There have been plenty of times where I bought something only to leave it sitting in my pantry forever before finally getting around to trying it, and then I wonder what took me so long! That beet root dressing is SO pretty. I would never have thought to make a dressing like that.

  12. That dress is rather pretty and tasty I am sure 🙂
    Clif bars are insanely good! There is no kind I don’t enjoy!

  13. Great run! I’ve been slacking on the running front lately but really need to get back into it asap. That pink dressing looks amazing, I love food that looks as good as it tastes. x

  14. Starting the day out with a bit of yoga usually makes for a good day, if you ask me!
    I quite like your pretty theme of pink, so bright and refreshing, love!

  15. I am definitely going to have to try a dressing like that…looks so pretty and fun! [And oh my goll those Clif bars are AMAZING. I had to stop buying them because they are like candy to me…I have one and then just want another.]

  16. That pink dressing is adorable!

    So do you normally work out in the morning on an empty stomach? I don’t do morning workouts often, but I can never decide if I should eat first or not! Sometimes if I eat, I get cramps, but its hard for me to wake up and not eat!

  17. buttonss - Cherie

    Everything you eat always looks devine, your food photgraphy is great as well.

  18. all your eats always look so good. I’m loving that smoothie I’ve never tried beets before but maybe I need to give them a try!

  19. Mmmm chocolate and cherries – works for me!

  20. I’m in serious need of a good yoga sesh. Fab WIAW sweetie!! I always want you to be my personal chef :-0

  21. It’s very rare that you can make foods pink! I think I will try that salad dressing just to “dress” up my salads a bit! hehe

  22. jenandberries

    Hey this is my first comment woop! That sauce is so…attractive lol! Just bookmarked it. Well done on the run, that’s awesome! I once made a tinned sardine, brussel sprout mash which I spread on my flatmates english muffins…times were desperate but it was really nice 🙂

  23. the dressing i sO COOL!! love the beetroot!

  24. The Teenage Taste

    That dressing looks fabulous! I love tahini in salad dressing! 😀

  25. Do you have a recipe posted on here for cashew milk!?

  26. Yum, love the sound of your pink salad dressing, and it’s so pretty!

  27. Errign

    My whole week has been random ingredient central as I’m trying to finish off all my food before I go away!

  28. That dressing looks A-MAZING! i’ve got to try it. something I have never tried is making my own salad dressing.. but this one is one I just might have to try! and mmMmMmM to clif bars.. and now I love Larabars too.. they are pretty awesome too, less ingredients and still yummy! great blog 🙂

  29. yolie @ practising wellness

    Hey girl!
    I just found your website by chance, and am so delighted i did, because it is wonderful to find a fellow UK blogger 🙂
    Mmm…your meals today look divine…I love the idea of crumbling coconut butter on your bowl of muesli…yum! Where did you get the coconut butter? I struggle to find it now in England…and it is sooo good! (read: addictive :-P)
    Just thought I’d say hey, and that I’m lovin’ your blog! ❤ xyx

  30. yolie @ practising wellness

    PS: Totally agree – those clif bars are the most delicious flavour 🙂 I also looove the oatmeal raisin one. They sell clif bars at a bike shop about 5 minutes walk from me, and I’m known in there as the clif bar girl, lol! 😛 xyx

All of your comments make me smile :-)

