WIAW…Sugar Sugar

Howdy gorgeous people!  I hope you are all having a great week.  It’s Wednesday again, which means its time hurry up and get to this weeks party.  So lets go!

Peas and Crayons

It was so dark when I woke up this morning, I miss the sunny mornings already!  To recapture some of the summer sunshine I made a yoghurt mess for breakfast full of delicious and fresh strawberries, raspberries, a sliced banana, homemade plum compote, vanilla soya yoghurt and Lizzi’s pink apple and cinnamon granola. A-meh-zing!

For lunch I made another humungous salad made using cos lettuce, courgettes, carrots, yellow peppers, cherry tomatoes, RAW health provencal pumpkin seeds and a creamy dressing made using Sabra hummus in the garden herbs flavour.

This tasted gorgeous and was really filling- although I’m not surprised given it’s size and I’m proud to say that ate and enjoyed every last morsel! 🙂

Mid afternoon I snacked on a super cute mini blueberry muffin Lara bar…love these things!  A pink lady apple was also inhaled.  I also love my pink ladies too!

Then it was time to hop, skip and jump to my Body Pump class.  I  was really looking forward to this class after not attending the week before due the fantastic bloggers meet up in Manchester.  Since the weekend I have been eating much more simpler meals with and lowered my sugar intake.  Fair enough I’ve been consuming small amounts of natural sugar from fruit, dried fruit and some processed stuff in the Spirutein powders that I used in my smoothies the other day, but overall my body has been feeling so much better for it…up until yesterday.

During the whole of my class I felt weak, light headed, yawning and my muscles kept shaking throughout.  I knew instantly what what wrong as I have been here many times than I care to remember.  Diabetes is prevalent in my Dad’s side of the family, which has meant that I have inherited a minor sugar condition that can be controlled through my diet…thank God!  It means that my sugar levels drop super low I end up feeling very out of sorts and poorly.

So obviously when I got home I made this:

A huge bowl of creamy oats made with 2 cups of water and 1 cup of rice milk, a handful of blueberries and a small ripe banana.  Then on went the toppings and you all know how I luurrrrrve my toppings: cinnamon, sunflower seeds, almonds, dried cranberries, and creamy sunflower seed butter.  I added more toppings as I ate my way through this delicious bowl.  It was exactly what I needed and was back to my normal self straight after.  And the sunflower seed butter was from the Sunbutter brand that I received in my foodie blog swap haul.  It’s the most silky smooth sunflower seed butter EVER!  It’s definitely going on my shopping list for my Florida trip for sure! 🙂

I finished of my day with some beautiful cherries:

I would love to do a proper detox with lots of juices and smoothies, but I’m not sure if my body would let me.  If I was to do a detox I think it would definitely have to contain some whole grains to substitute the sugar restriction and fill up on nutritious soups and smoothies- more of a clean eating regime.  At least I know all of this now.  I would be really disappointed if I had to stop something like a detox mid way and I just hate giving up on anything.  I’m definitely not a quitter that’s for sure.  Alfie likes to call me stubborn! 😉

Enjoy this weeks party everyone!

Have you ever done a detox before?

Do you feel that you need sugar in your diet to function medical or non-medical related?

34 Comments

Filed under WIAW

34 responses to “WIAW…Sugar Sugar

  1. Lenna (veganlenna)

    I have never done detox, but I think that my diet is quite clean, fresh and healthy, so I feel like it is a constant “detox” for my body and it doesn´t need much more.
    I definitely need sugar from fresh and dried fruit, it just makes me happy and comfortable. But I don´t need sugar in the form of processesed sweets and such, those make me feel terrible.
    Your WIAW post is wonderful as usual, I would like to spend such a lovely Wednesday with those amazing meals 🙂

  2. I did Carol Vorderman’s 28 day detox thing a couple of years ago. I found it really tough. I did lose a lot of weight on it but didn’t feel all that amazing. Absol love all your food choices in this post – given me some fab inspiration. 🙂 x

  3. I have never done a detox before because I am pretty sure feeling the need to stick to something like this would send me into some issues with eating… like restricting and all of that nonsense. But that is just me personally as I tend to be a compulsive control freak sometimes!

  4. Delicious eats Jemma! Plum compote? YUM!!

    I hope that someday in the future I can try out a detox! Like a juice detox! But I think, at this moment in my life, I would have done it for the wrong reasons! My focus now is to get strong again, and i kind of feel a detox would make everything worse! But Im aaall for clean eating (if it makes us happy)!
    Happy Wednesday ❤

  5. Yummy eats! 🙂
    I’ve never done a detox before and dont think I will. I try to eat healthy and well balanced meals (with a few sweet treats!) 🙂

  6. Looks super yummy!

    I’ve never done a detox, but a quick question…wouldn’t you be afraid it would drop your sugar levels again? If not, than happy detoxing!

    Happy Wednesday 🙂

  7. I’m actually doing a detox right now. It’s only for three days though because I honestly don’t think I could last any longer! I first saw it here http://www.eatliverun.com/feelin-fruity/. Then I did a bit more research to find out what exactly I could eat and I found this http://www.threedogyoga.com/the-fruit-feast. I’m on my second day and it isn’t as hard as I thought. I really do love fruit but I am definitely craving chocolate!

  8. I try to keep my diet as ‘clean’ as possible and steer clear of sugar mostly because I believe its ‘bad’….not only for my teeth, but health in general! Agave and maple syrup taste so much nicer =]

  9. yoru food and photos are always so fresh and vibrant!! ive nverrrr done a cleanse!.. i couldnt.. i wud much rather just eat my normal food and enjoy life than have 2 days of ‘cleansing my body’.. i dont care that muchh!

  10. Not necessarily sugar, but carbs for sure. I’ve felt the same way at Body pump a few times and it makes lifting really, really hard when it’s at that intensity if not having a clear head. Carbs are a life saver!

  11. Like Mary said, I definitely need carbs in my life. I used to avoid carbs in the evening, but now I try and have a little, or a lot if I’ve been running.
    I love the look of your salad – super healthy 🙂

  12. I love your meals…they are so colourful and look so yummy!
    I need carbs (and the sugar of them) to stabilize my blood sugar. Without carbs I am becoming a monster and that is a thing I can`t so with the people around me;-)

    Greetings from Germany!

  13. Your humungous salad is really pretty with all of those colours! 🙂 Beautiful food x

  14. Your food looks amazing. I am the same, my Mum is diabetic and I get a little shaky and weak if my blood sugars go low, I also feel almost sick if I don’t eat something then, so now I plan snacks and things like that, and I am ok at the mo touch wood!

  15. i need to start making yogurt messes for breakfast!

  16. I’ve never done a detox but i love the idea of just eating homemade smoothies, juices and soups for a weekend to really make you feel in tip top shape 🙂
    Those oats look sooo delicious too, and the mini larabar is adorable!

  17. I’ve d one a few detoxes back when I was experimenting with a raw food diet, and I can honestly say that I’m not a huge fan. Our bodies are equipped to be able to deal with toxins, so I think that as long as you eat relatively healthy and stay active, doing something extreme like a detox doesn’t really make that much sense. And I can definitely relate to the need for sugar. If my blood sugar levels drop too low, I experience all sorts of unpleasant symptoms. Besides, I have a sweet tooth that I have to keep satisfied 😀

  18. oooh i don’t think i’d be able to do a cleanse – especially a liquid only one!

  19. RAH my computer is doing something weird where I can’t see any picture variation. I can only see your breakfast- which is delicious and great, but I want to see your huge salad!!
    is it odd that I use your blog to see how my eating prospects in london will be, haha?

  20. I would love to do a detox, especially to cut down on my sugar consumption. I think I would need a long period of stress-free time in order to do it effectively, though. I know I need sugar to function sometimes, but I hope I can get to a point where I’m not eating any refined sugars – only fruit ones. It’s so much harder than I thought!

  21. Pink ladies are my favorite apples, but they’ve disappeared lately! I hope I can find them soon. Fujis just don’t cut it 🙂

  22. I want some of those mini larabars! They’d be such a perfect snack.

    I’ve never done a “real” detox but my roommate did one for 2 weeks and she felt great afterwards! (Maybe not so great DURING it thought)

  23. buttonss - Cherie

    I always add more toppings throughout my oat eating as well. I put extras in a little bowl to the side along with extra nut butter. 😀

  24. I did a detox at the start of the year and I’m definitely planning on doing another one soon. I think its great that you have that awareness of your body to know what would, and would not work for you. I tend to feel sugared out very easily, especially with refined sugars like the ones in PB&Co unfortunately! Sometimes even too much fruit does it for me! Sounds like you clearly need more sugar in your diet, I think your spot on about doing any kind of ‘detox’ for you and making sure that you kept some natural sugars in there to stop you from feeling worse!

  25. oh wowww that must be tough Jem! But it’s awesome that you don’t have it full blown, and that you already take great care of yourself~ 🙂 I think my body does get a little funky when/if I eat too many sweets and stuff. And there are times when I shake a little if I’m hungry, but I’m actually healthy and the doc said so himself! hehe. Hope you’re feeling okay now!

  26. That salad is the best one I’ve ever seen, it looks delicious!
    I’d imagine a completely clean eating plan, with whole grains as you say, would be the best idea as you’d know you were getting enough of everything… or maybe a stricter plan but very short and at a time when you weren’t doing major exercise? x

  27. I have a heart condition that keeps me from having sugar so I kind of have the opposite problem, haha!

    And hey, I know I’ve said this before, but your food is always so colorful! Love it!

  28. Errign

    I’ve never done a detox before, but I thinking of doing a fruit fast for a couple of days 🙂

  29. jenandberries

    I don’t think I’d care enough to do a detox, which is really quite bad haha. Your detox food looks so good though, I might have to give it a go ;P

  30. Great job. Cleaning out your body is the best feeling. 🙂 Love your blog!

  31. Your food always looks so yummy. I’d like to do a detox one day but there just never seems a convenient time to do one…I know that’s an awful excuse but real life just gets in the way!
    I find it hard to get the balance between too much and too little sugar sometimes, I eat a lot of fruit/dried fruit which sometimes makes me feel a bit sugared out but too little sugar makes me feel awful too! Aah! x

  32. I get the low blood sugar levels too, it sucks! Laura (@keeping healthy) and I think are doing a bloggie detox at beginning of October- more of a cleanse (i.e. clean diet, without sugar etc) rather than a full on one. I’ve done a fruit fast before but only for 24 hours. Was ok. I’d like to do a juice fast at some point soon but I’m thinking I’ll wait until I’m done with Uni so I can use the time to destress and look after myself. x

  33. Pingback: WIAW…Counting the pennies! « Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

