WIAW…The Cosmopolitan Blog Awards 2011

Howdy my lovelies!  How are we on this fine WIAW?

Peas and Crayons

Shall we all go and get to the party?  Oh yes!  I think we should! 🙂

For this weeks WIAW I’m just going to share with you some of the foodie highlights that I have experienced over the past few days, starting with an oaty breakfast that is perfect for any cold autumn morning.

This bowl of Pear and Blueberry Oatstopped with apricot kernel butter, pumpkin seeds and chopped dates was fab!  I made it using 1/2 cup of oats, 2 1/2 cups of water, honey, a chopped pear and half a punnet of blueberries.  I love my oats on a chilly morning and these really worked a treat to warm me up.

Pretty much as soon as I woke up this morning I was out pounding my streets for my usual run.  I ran 4.6 miles in 44 minutes.  It was quite cold this morning, which means that I will be soon switching my outdoor runs to treadmill runs. 😦  Although it was nice running as the sun came up and seeing all of the leaves on the trees changing colour…beautiful!

For lunch today I raided the freezer for some of the Carrot and Ginger Soup that I batched cooked on Sunday:

I served it with 2 rice cakes topped with the pumpkin seed butter and homemade balsamic vinegar and salt kale chips baked in my beloved dehydrator.  I love me some kale chips! 🙂 The soup is great if you have a cold as the fresh fresh ginger in it really gave it a kick!

Since I had some strawberries that needed using up yesterday’s snack was a lovely banana and strawberry green smoothie which also included some strawberry protein powder:

Tasty!

Another highlight and budget friendly meal was all made from leftovers.  I used the last of the buckwheat and green lentil pilaf and Creamy Avocado Dressing and added some roasted butternut squash that I had in the fridge and added some fresh romaine lettuce leaves.

This meal was so simple and basic, but leftovers for some reason always tastes so much better the day after when the flavours have had time to mingle.  In most cases when it comes to stews and curries etc. I think I prefer leftovers than freshly cooked. The food is just way more flavourful and delicious.

My dessert highlight has to be Lindt’s 99% dark chocolate with gigantic pink lady apples:

It’s so incredibly rich and bitter…yum!

I’m totally overwhelmed and over the freaking moon!  *squealing with excitement*

Celery and Cupcakes has been shortlisted for the Cosmopolitan Blog Awards 2011 and that’s all because of you guys.  A huge, huge, huge THANK YOU to everyone who took the time and effort to nominate, you have know idea what this means to me.  I really never expected to get this far, but now I need all of your votes for the next stage.

How to vote (if you would like to of course!)

1.  Click here to take you to the voting page

2.  Enter your email address in the first box

3.  Click on the category “Health, Diet and Fitness Blog

4.  Click on Celery and Cupcakes and then on the “Vote Now” that will appear in the same box.

That is all!  You can also shout about it from the roof tops as I have been doing since I found out, but that of course is purely optional! 🙂

Thank you all for your on going support- I love you all!

What foodie highlights have you experienced so far this week?

Do you prefer leftovers or freshly cooked food?

23 Comments

Filed under WIAW

23 responses to “WIAW…The Cosmopolitan Blog Awards 2011

  1. Have already voted for u! I much prefer leftovers – much tastier!

  2. Huge congrats on being nominated that’s awesome, you deserve it! Leftovers can be so good sometimes, they usual taste better when they’ve been left for the flavours to mingle 🙂

  3. Lenna (veganlenna)

    WOW, 99 percent Lindt?!? I need that! I haven´t seen it here yet, but I always wanted to taste such an intense chocolate 🙂 I love your oatmeal combo, pear+blueberries must be nice!
    Congrats on being shortlisted for the award, you totally deserve it!

  4. Oh my gosh that’s so exciting! I’ll totally be voting! 🙂

  5. Charlotte Katherine

    Mmm, you’ve made me crave carrot and ginger soup!
    Voting done! Good luck lovely!

  6. Wow, that is so great that you have been nomintated!! Im so happy for you, and it is most definitely well-deserved!!
    Your meals looks gooood! Carrot Ginger soup is one of my favorits, I had it a few nights ago! And I agree, some leftover foods are so much better than fresh 🙂
    Happy Wednesday 🙂

  7. Congrats on your nomination: totally deserved though 😀

    I like leftovers when they’ve had a chance to soak up the flavours a bit, but some dishes are better freshly cooked. Lentil bolognese seems to just get better the longer it sits in my freezer though!

    xxx

  8. Wow how cool about that nomination! I will certainly vote for you, I couldn’t be more happy to 🙂

  9. Congratulations! I hope you win, I love your blog 🙂 xxx

  10. Errign

    I actually don’t have a preference for leftovers/fresh food. Weird, eh?

    Congrats!

  11. You are doing very well on the budget challenge- lots of freezer meals and leftovers 🙂 Love the sound of the ginger in the soup.

  12. Congratulations! Just voted for you 🙂
    I agree with you about leftovers, i love em!

  13. Congratulations – that’s awesome 🙂
    Gorgeous food as usual! I love that Lindt, but it is very intense!

  14. Congratulations on the nomination.
    That green smoothie looks amazing – so bright and vibrant! x

  15. buttonss - Cherie

    I’ve always wanted to try pumpkin seed butter.
    Congrats on the nomination! that must be so exciting.
    Although i prefer fresh food, things like currys are SO much better as leftovers!!

  16. congrats girl! u deserve it!!!
    im so jealous u hav a dehydrator! thats awsome!

  17. Wow you’re oats look amazing! I would never have thought to pair pear and blueberries together. I am definitely going to try this.

  18. Congratulations! I love leftovers especially when it means I can have dinner asap!

  19. Oh my you didn’t!! I’m so proud of you! I’ve always loved your blog- your writing is well done and your eats always look fab. Please give me a shopping list haha. I want to know where you get apricot kernal butter because I’ve never heard of it!

  20. Congratulations! That’s so awesome 🙂

  21. livinglearningeating

    That just made me crave a green monster…must get blender!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

