Budget Busting Meals 2

Hello lovelies!  I have another budget friendly meal for you- if you missed the first one you can view it here.

So this marks the second recipe in a little series of budget busting meals that I am putting together.  I’m currently trying to reign in my food budget and attempting lots of different meals that are easy to cook in a huge batch and freeze well.  As such, I thought it would be nice to share my budget experiments with you as I know a lot of you said that you were also conscious of your food budget.

I don’t know about you, but it always feels that supermarkets are not on anyone’s side when you want to eat healthy on a budget- the majority of the really good deals are on all of the sugary food.  But, after stocking up on lots of dried beans and pulses I’ve realised that deal or no deal healthy food can be cheap and tasty too!

DSCF1095

High in protein, nutrients and full of all that good stuff that I love!

DSCF1103

DSCF1100

DSCF1098

*High Protein Three Bean Chilli*

DSCF1109

Ingredients (vegan, makes 4 servings)

  • 1 cup of soya beans
  • 1 cup of red kidney beans
  • 1 cups of black turtle beans
  • 1 clove of garlic grated
  • 1 onion diced
  • 1 carrot diced
  • a handful of chestnut mushrooms
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1 can of tinned tomatoes
  • 1/2 of a tomato tin of water
  • 1 tbsp of tomato puree
  • 2 tbsp of tamari soy sauce
  • 1 tsp of chilli flakes (optional)
  • 1 tsp of cumin
  • 2 tsp of dried mixed herbs
  • 1/2 tsp of sweet smoked paprika
  • seasonings

Cook the onion in a little oil until it softens and then stir in the grated garlic and cook for 2 minutes.  Keep stirring to prevent the garlic from burning.  Add the carrots, pepper and mushrooms and cook for a further 5 minutes.  TIP: If the vegetables begin to stick add a splash of water rather than oil so the vegetables begin to steam.

DSCF1076

When the vegetables become tender pour on the tinned tomatoes, beans, tomato puree, spices, seasonings, tamari and water.  Stir together and allow the chilli to simmer in the pan for at least 25 minutes on a low heat- for longer if you have the time.

DSCF1102 

This tastes wonderful and is great on it’s own or as a dip.  It would also be good on top of nachos, in burritos and fajitas, on top of a sweet potato…it even tastes great cold.  Yah!  I’m weird like that! 🙂

DSCF1099

I love the fact that chilli is so versatile. This is my own recipe, but you can really make it you own and put what ever you want in it.  Recently I saw a recipe for chilli that included grated 70% dark chocolate, which sounds really interesting.

DSCF1106

I think so far chilli is definitely has to be my most favourite budget friendly meal so far especially when served with wild rice and steamed broccoli florets with some plain soya yoghurt on top…yum!

How do you like to eat yours?

Do you add any non-conventional ingredients to your chilli?

36 Comments

Filed under Budget Busting Meals, Recipes

36 responses to “Budget Busting Meals 2

  1. oh thanks for the chilli recipe, ive just started seeing this guy and his fav meal is chilli so will give this a go, I quite fancy adding some chocolate to it for a spice, I wonder if dried fruit would go in it? hmmm lol I like chillli with brown rice or a wholemeal pitta for dippage

  2. Lenna (veganlenna)

    I like to add a bit of cocoa to chilli, it really brings out the taste of all the ingredients. And I have tried adding peanut butter and it was delicious too 🙂 Thanks for the recipe, it sounds really nice!

  3. I have to admit I never eat chilli unless it is made for me or I eat it out but its usually made with soy mince and beans : )

  4. This looks delicious. Good to see another economic blog 🙂

  5. Adding dark chocolate or cocoa to chilli makes it taste out of this world. Red wine also adds a delicious richness (you can drink a glass while you’re cooking as well). I like mine just with some rice as I usually stuff the chilli full of veggies!

  6. I like eating mine on it’s own, or wrapped in a tortilla! YUM!

    I’ve heard of people adding chocolate to chili but I’ve never tried it. It sounds crazy but I’ve heard it’s actually pretty good!

  7. kabochafashionista

    Ooooh I love chillis along with curries and stews – perfect for the cold months ahead! They’re just so easy to make, throw in loads of beans and veggies, add some spice and leave it to simmer away! Yum!! It’s nice in a roasted sweet potato or just on it’s own 🙂

  8. yumm that looks so amazing! i love veg chilis!

  9. Chilis are fantastic!! Ive seen recipes with chocolate too, but I have never tried ity out! Im sure i would loved it though 😉
    Its no so often I make cornbread, but i think that is my favorit thing to eat with chili! So sweet! Makes the perfect combo with hot hot chili!
    Have a great weekend ❤

  10. This looks so tasty! I bought a slow cooker yesterday and i bet this would be perfect for that 🙂
    I love a bit of sliced avocado on top of my chilli just to make it a bit more mexican and to offset the spice a little bit. Can’t wait to try this!

  11. I love a good chilli, especially my simple veggie chilli and hippie bean recipes which are also cheap as chips! I’m going to buy some dried beans later today to as part of my Big Budget Challenge!

  12. I used to add cocoa powder to it- apparently that is a mexican thing and the chocolate is meant to bring out the chilli a little- it makes it rich but not sweet.
    I love love chilli 🙂 On a sweet potato it is delish too.

  13. I just made chili last night and it was sooo good. But, yours looks so much better than mine! 😛

  14. livinglearningeating

    Ooh, that looks delicious!

  15. Pingback: I *Heart* September « Celery and Cupcakes

  16. Pingback: A HEALTHY budget « Celery and Cupcakes

  17. Pingback: Budget Busting Meals 3 « Celery and Cupcakes

  18. Pingback: WIAW! Budget Busting Meals Round Up « Celery and Cupcakes

  19. Pingback: Week one DONE! « Celery and Cupcakes

  20. Rebecca

    Just had this chili tonight & have been waiting for it all week! End product: SOOOO GOOD! Probably my favorite chili, and no need for vegetable broth which i love! Actually this is my favorite chili recipe (I would know, i’ve had MANY chili’s in my past, most of them terrible)!

  21. Pingback: WIAW…Faking the Potato « Celery and Cupcakes

  22. Sweet Potato Sarah

    Ooooh i love chilli 😀
    I know it’s random but i like putting loads of really finely sliced celery in mine, it really bulks it up and you get little bites of crunch…yum!

  23. Hey Jem, James always puts a couple of squares of 70% dark chocolate into his chilli and let’s it melt in, and it is fab! Seems to give it more flavour and richness. Try it. Xxx

  24. Pingback: Farewells, Cookies and Shoes « Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

