WIAW…The Apple Factor!

Well it’s that time of the week again people!  You all know what I’m talking about, eh? 

Need a hint…

Peas and Crayons

It’s time to go to the best party in blog land of course- lets do this! :)

For this weeks link up party I’m going to share with you yesterday’s eats as I think they were pretty tasty by my reckoning.  It all kicked off with an energising and mood boosting green smoothie. 

I was in thesis stress mode yesterday morning and this simple bowl of green deliciousness really helped.  It included kale, curly lettuce, 2 plums, New Zealand honey, strawberry hemp protein powder, xanthan gum and guar gum.  I topped it with a Guilt-Free Ginger Bread Cookie, dried cranberries, homemade almond butter and sunflower seeds…yum!

Throughout the morning I was snacking on a load of cherries, practically the bowl disappeared in seconds!

For lunch I made a enormous Budha Bowl that was inspired by gorgeous salad that I love in Marks and Spencer’s for a fraction of the cost. I made a wholewheat cous cous salad adding in steamed broccoli, cherry tomatoes, edamame beans, red peppers, cucumber and sunflower seeds on top of some romaine lettuce leaves.

Whilst the cous cous salad was still warm I mixed in my dressing that I made from sweet chilli sauce, rice vinegar, lemon juice and cumin which soaked right into every grain.  This really was the perfect lunch ate outside in the sunshine.  Don’t you just love British weather? The leaves are falling off the trees like it’s Autumn, yet we have cloudless skies and warm temperatures like it’s the height of summer.  The weathers unpredictability is all part of Britain’s charm I’m sure. 🙂

And because I made up such a huge batch I have plenty of leftovers too-BONUS! 😀

My afternoon pick-me-up was a braeburn apple and a much coveted banana bread Nakd bar, which was amazing by the way.  The braeburn apple on the other hand was rather blah!  I thought I would mix up my apple varieties a little and look for cheaper alternatives but still nothing comes close…sigh!

For me pink lady apples are the best all the way.  They just have it all: the sweetness factor and that all important crunchabilty factor, everything that I look for in an apple. I’m sure if Simon Cowell was scouring the country for the most perfect apple he would be totally bowled over by pink lady’s too.

In the afternoon I headed to the gym for a 10 minute interval warm up on the treadmill and my Body Pump class.  I don’t know what it was but yesterday’s session was awesome, totally loved it!  I’m feeling the effects of it today though: it DOMS central over here!  Next week we are doing the new release and I’m super excited.  My instructor has been teasing us with it for weeks.  In fact she has had it for a while but didn’t want to share it with us until all the students are back on campus.  I cannot wait!

Dinner last night was super speedy and didn’t require much cooking.  I dug a Squash Bean Burger from the freezer and made some cheesy steamed kale using nutritional yeast flakes and served it with some parsnip chips made using New Zealand Honey.

Served with ketchup on the side of course.  This tasted lovely!  Rather than frying the burger I baked it in the oven, but I think I prefer the crispy outside edges that are created when they are fried.

After dinner I ate this:

A chopped peach with plain soya yoghurt mixed with some strawberry protein powder, almonds, dried cranberries and sunflower seeds.  A great way to end this weeks WIAW!

Which apple variety gets your vote? Do you have any particular features that you look for when choosing apples?

Has anyone tried the new Body Pump release yet?

What is the best thing that you ate this WIAW?

And don’t forget to enter my Blogiversary international giveaway!!!

32 Comments

Filed under WIAW

32 responses to “WIAW…The Apple Factor!

  1. Lenna (veganlenna)

    Hehe, thesis stress mode, I so know what you are talking about 🙂 I should probably try that smoothie to calm down 🙂
    I don´t like braeburn apples either, I love apples crunchy, sweet, with a hint or tartness and they have to be all red 🙂

  2. Ah thesis! My courses haven’t even begun! I can’t wait though, it’ll give me something to do, as I haven’t made friends yet 😦
    I love huge apples. I tried a UK apple this morning, but it was rather small 😦 sad, but it tasted okay.
    I have to join my school gym, so I’m working on figuring out about all that. Hopefully I’ll get to it soon!!

  3. I love fujis and braebuens! I love their natural sweetness. 🙂 to bring Out their flavor And crispiness, I like popping them in the freezer For a few minutes before eating them.

  4. Happy WIAW Pretty Girl :*
    I just love all the stuff you eat! Especilla the topping on your smoothie! Im sure the smoothie is good too 😉
    Apples MUST be a little tart, and crispy and not mushy!! Pink lady are good, and granny smiths are good! And the Norwegian apples that are in season now!

  5. Errign

    Pink ladies for me too. Mostly, I hate when apples are mushy or mealy – gross!

  6. buttonss - Cherie

    I love granny smith apples, but pink lady comes second.
    Yummy looking buddah bowl!!

  7. this all looks amazing! love your eats!! 🙂 I love the cherries they look so pretty!

  8. Charlotte Katherine

    Granny Smiths all the way, I really can’t fault a good chilled granny smith anytime of day. But sometimes pink ladies especially if in my oats aren’t too bad!

    Those cherries look so lovely and red, I really fancy some now!

  9. I asked the same question on my blog today too! Has to be Jazz for me. I love the crunch and juiciness but, yes, they are pretty pricey too which is a shame. We have some Granny Smiths left over from a recipe my mum used and I don’t really understand the fuss over those…too sour for me.

    Best WIAW was the honey Weetabix. 🙂

    Hope you have a great day!

  10. Your eats always look so good!

  11. I am loving your ending to the week too… your presented it so well! I need to get my fix of peaches in before they go out of season!

  12. kabochafashionista

    As always, your eats are just simply amazing! You always inspire me!! I love the sound of your dessert especially – I am lovin’ peaches and nectarines at the moment 🙂
    My fave apple would be the common royal gala! Nobody in the blogging world raves about them but I love them..perfect texture – not too crunchy not too soft and a nice sweetness!

  13. I’m really enjoying an apple variety called Honey Crunch from Lidl, they are delicious and much cheaper than pink ladies! I also love russets and coxes at this time of year. I blogged about Body Pump 79 last week, its good and very tough, although my instructor forgot her CD so we ended up doing 78 again yesterday!

  14. Apple-wise, I always favour Jazz apples, as they have just the right balance between tart(e?)ness and sweetness, similar to Pink Ladies I suppose, but juicier and crisper. M&S do some lovely Jazz apples in x4 packs. I don’t like watery or oversweet apples such as Galas, or sour/woody ones such as Russetts, which my Mum loves. I like Tentations and sometimes Golden Delicious, but they have really short seasons where they’re both affordable and tasty.

    I WISH we were getting the new Body Pump…we still have to wait ages at my gym. Grr. This old release is driving me nuts, particularly as I didn’t really like it much in the first place.

    I feel you on the thesis stress. Keep on trucking – we’ll get there in the end!

    xxx

  15. love the way you make your budha bowl, sounds delish!

    I have yet to do any Body Pump but plan on incorporating it very soon! I actually wanted to do it Friday but they cancelled all classes this weekend at our gym…bummer!

  16. I can’t decide what apple I like best. I like greeny/red ones, but I do love a good pink lady too. I hope your thesis isn’t stressing you out too much – how long until you finish with it?

  17. I totally agree – pink ladies never disappoint. I also like jazz apples, so they come a close second. I hate apples that are grainy or soft – urgh!

  18. jenandberries

    Ah tell me about it the weather has been insanely good, I’m craving smoothies all day! Love the look of that Budha bowl!!! They don’t do body pump where I am unless you are a member of a private gym, which us students can’t afford – boooo. Agree with you on the pink ladys, yummm

  19. I like Pink Lady or Jazz apples the best – typically they are the most expensive! x

  20. I think apples are my favorite food. Yumm! Happy WIAW.

    Whitney

  21. Jazz apples! Sweet and crunchy too- that is what I like, crisp apples, yum. I do love pink lady too, those 2 are my faves.
    I love bramley for cooking with, and granny smith are nice in a salad with some nuts and cheese, but try jazz apples if you like pink lady 🙂

  22. Our gym released the new release a while ago and I really liked it..but I was happy when they began mixing things up again. It was a killer class but I get bored knowing what’s coming next!

  23. I love Braeburn and Jazz apples best : )

  24. oh too right homie, pink ladys have always been my fave, ya got the best so sweet and crunchy. winner. oh and those nakd banana bars are my fave too!

  25. You = Smoothie Queen! 🙂 They always look fabulous

  26. Ooh I bought a banana bread bar today, can’t wait to try it! That dressing for your cous-cous sounds dreamy.

  27. survivingcandyland

    Those cherries look like perfection. I’m so sad that there are no more cherries here or if there are they are super expensive and not great quality. You are like smoothie master or something. You should probably teach a smoothie class.

  28. i love honeycrisp and fuji! braeburn…not so much 😦
    love your eats–and i soo need to try strawberry protein powder! sounds awesome!

  29. Royal gala gets my vote by far. I’ve actually never tried braeburn apples – but your glowing review has inspired me to try some!
    Also your buddha bowl looks awesome, I might try a quinoa variation 🙂

    Best thing I ate this WIAW was my italian-inspired spinach chickpea and mushroom curry – random combination but SO tasty.

  30. Rachel

    i totally feel you on the sweetness and crunch being necessities. i love honeycrisps, but their season is almost over. usually, i’ll only buy gala and fuji apples as they have the texture and taste i like most (granny smith can be too tart for my liking).

  31. I’m with you on the pink lady vote! in fact….i just had one!

  32. Looks like some boozy fueled drinks may pass my lips later……. : )

All of your comments make me smile :-)

