Feeling thrifty

Hey Hey! I hope everyone is having fab weekend.  🙂

The weather in the UK is gorgeous at the moment and I’m really hoping that it lasts that little bit longer.  I’ve definitely been getting my dose of vitamin D by writing my thesis and reading papers in the garden.  Yes, I’m a sun worshipper I admit it.  But to be fair our summer was pretty disappointing so we might as well make the most of the sun for the short time that it is here.

When the fridge and fruit bowl are empty of veggies and fruit that signifies that a grocery shop is long overdue; this was me on Thursday.  In an attempt to cut back my food spending I decided to check out Lidl.  To be honest I have been harboring a snobbish attitude towards Lidl and Aldi for a while when comparing it to the major supermarkets.  My first thoughts were bruised fruit, very little variety and that everything was in tins.

My initial views were completely thrown out of the window when I picked up this little lot:

Apples, bananas, plums, butternut squash, living salad leaves, an avocado, an aubergine, pears, radishes, figs, sweet corn and a pineapple.

This little lot set me back a mere £13.45. 🙂

My organic veg box also arrived:

After Lidl I popped over to Morrison’s and picked up some things for Alfie.  I don’t usually shop at Morrison’s either but it was the closest major supermarket to Lidl.  The Lidl shop, my veg box and the bits from Morrison’s brought my total grocery spend to £35.  I was so happy as usually it would be around £50.  I’m hoping to try and stick around the £30-40 mark as my shopping hauls will very depending if I have ran out of something or need to buy toiletries etc.

I’m actually really enjoying the challenge of trying to stick to a budget and definitely behind Laura’s Big Budget Challenge!

bigbudgetbuttonbig5With my trip to Florida coming up and Christmas around the corner I really need to reign in my spending a little more.  I have already outlined my ways that I am aiming to achieve this in a previous post, but using Lidl to get my cheap as chips veggies and fruit is definitely high on the priority list.

In spite of all of this budget talk I have been eating some really tasty meals which has included an abundance of fruit and veg.  This super hot weather has really directed my appetite to much more fresher and lighter meals.  Most of my eats have been pretty stripped back and contained less refined sugar which has left me feeling great!

Yesterday’s breakfast included a toasted slice of rye bread topped with homemade almond butter and raspberry jam.  On the side I had an awesome and very simple green smoothie which was made from spinach, an apple, sunflower seeds, water, xanthan gum and guar gum.  My smoothie actually filled my glass twice over, but  I could only manage one glass at breakfast so saved the rest of my smoothie for my mid morning snack.

I’ve been in eating huge plates of fruit in abundance:

Pineapple, apples, plums, figs, and a chopped pear with cashew nuts and almonds.

Lots of huge salad plates:

Romaine lettuce, cherry tomatoes, cucumber, red pepper, pineapple, radishes, dried cranberries, RAW sprouted provencale sunseeds and a salad dressing made using canola oil, red wine vinegar and Dijon mustard.

I’ve also been getting a little addicted to rice cakes topped with smooth PB and apple slices too:

Dinners have mainly been meals to try and use all of veggies that need using up in my fridge such as lots of stir fries:

This particular one included mushrooms, savoy cabbage, aubergine, red peppers, carrots and smoked tofu in a sauce made from Chinese 5 spice, soy sauce, garlic, ginger, black rice vinegar and chilli flakes.  I served it with some wild rice to bulk it up a little bit and to  soak up the sauce…yum!

Last nights dessert consisted of a chopped orange with Lindt Cherry and Chilli dark chocolate:

OMG!  The chocolate was to die for.  I really wish that I had bought more bars home from my trip to Florence!

How are you all going to spend the rest of your weekends?  I really don’t have any major plans.  Tomorrow is just going to be really relaxing and restful, making the most of the beautiful weather.  I have a lovely walk and picnic in the park planned that I cannot wait for.  I love lazy Sunday’s especially when the sun is shining! 🙂

Remember that there is only a few hours left to enter my Blogiversary Giveaway!!!

31 Comments

Filed under Budget Busting Meals, EATS!, The Big Budget Challenge,

31 responses to “Feeling thrifty

  1. I love Lidl for fruit & veg! Lidl and Waitrose are the two main supermarkets near to me, and I find the quality of the fruit & veg much better in Lidl – their avocadoes are the best I’ve found, even better than our local (very good) greengrocers 🙂

    I’ve got a relaxing sunshiney weekend planned too, just what we need 🙂 We’re off to visit my sister tomorrow and spend a few hours in a child-friendly pub garden near to her which we’ll be nice, and I’ve got a few baking projects I need to do (cake for my Grandma etc)

    Have a great weekend! 🙂

  2. Great haul of fruit and veggies 🙂
    I am loving this summer weather too- got to get some gardening done tomorrow.

  3. I have one of every supermarket near to my house….Asda, Tesco, Morrisons, Waitrose, Lidl, Aldi, Netto & Sainsbury’s…but I find the quality of food from the likes of Aldi, Netto & Lidl to be far superior to that of ‘The Big Four’ and even Waitrose.

    I’m LOVING this weather, who’d have thought it’d be like this on the 1st October? I’m planning a nice walk around Cannock Chase tomorrow with my family. It’s great to have such beauty on your doorstep 🙂

  4. YUMMMM!! all those veggies and fruit are making me in the mood for some shopping! time to stock the fridge 🙂 I can’t believe it’s Oct. 1ST! I’m going to stretch out the summery foods as long as i can 🙂

  5. I am stuck writing a journal article that has to be in for 9am on Monday. Eek. It appears I’m going to have to miss Pump this afternoon and probably going out with friends in Newcastle too tomorrow if I can’t churn out another 2000 impeccable words soon. Urgh. Actually this heat is a bit much for me – I’m not thinking straight!

    Those are some impressive bargains! The fruit/veggie plates must be so refreshing in the current climate.

    xxx

  6. lidl and aldo are great for fruit and veg, and aldi’s fruit and veg, ive found, actually tastes amazing (spesh the avocados!)!

  7. Oh, I’m in love with your fresh looking meals – just the way I like it 🙂 I was really surprised finding out about Lidl and Aldi existing in the UK, too as these are German discount grocery stores – too funny, but obviously good for them. I’ve been shopping at Lidl a lot lately, haven’t been there all too often in the last two years and was pleasently surprised, too. They even had squash, fresh spinach and an awesome choice of frozen veggies & berries now 🙂 before it was more like convenience dinners & fast food.

    Hope you get to enjoy the sun some more!! xoxo Mel

  8. Yey for joining in the challenge! Glad you liked the stuff from Lidl, I’m a big aldi and lidl convert now!

  9. It really is amazing what you can do on a budget sometimes! I’m still working on that one, but it helps for me to have trader joes really close. Although expensive, quality ingredients are so hard to resist sometimes..

  10. Your eats always look so good and make me hungry! 🙂

  11. The budget challenge is a great idea…..I may join in as it’s always good to get back to basics and save a few pennies 🙂 Great going girlie!

  12. I shop at whatever supermarket is the most convenient – I have no loyalty! I’ve never been to Lidl, but I’ve heard some quite good things about the fruit and veg available.
    That Lindt chocolate sounds amazing – I need to get some!

  13. oh wow, you got so much for such a low price! You are doing great on Lauras challenge! Love her idea!
    Ah, cherry+chocolate is so good together! I believe you when you say it is to die for!
    Enjoy your Sunday 🙂

  14. That’s awesome that you’re doing a budget challenge! It can be so hard to eat an abundance of fruits and veggies and stay in a reasonable budget. It’s something that I’m constantly struggling with.

  15. livinglearningeating

    I’m loving the green monster!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

