October fitness plan

I’ve not long got back from my Body Pump class.  This week all the students are back on campus, which mean that my instructor finally revealed the 79 release CD.  It’s a toughie, especially the lunge track.  I also had some difficulty with the shoulder section too, but I must have been doing something right as my upper body and thighs are killing me.  We didn’t have time to do the ab work out today because of all of the newbies attending this week my instructor had to give a little introductory talk about the weights and some of the moves, leaving us short on time.  Despite my instant DOMS I really enjoyed the class as per usual. 

bp7 Source

I love Body Pump and it’s such a great class.  The fact that they keep changing the exercises every few weeks makes life so much easier as they are formulating the new workout plans for you.

Admittedly when I first started this blog although the tag line has always read “on the quest for that healthy balance!” I think I was still seeking to loose weight.  I have addressed this issue before in a previous post.  But, on this journey all my ideologies and objectives about healthy and well being have been totally turned in it’s head.  I’m no longer on the quest to be super skinny.  I want to be strong, healthy and just ME!

strength

Source

With that in mind I have formulated a new fitness plan that focuses more on strength training, is varied and more importantly fun.  When I used to work out I used to combine my cardio and strength training together in one session and want to go back to that.  This new plan combines everything that I loved about my previous plans and much, much more. 

Monday

  • 20 minutes of interval training across the machines
  • 25 minutes of new strength training
  • 5 minutes cool down`
  • abs and core exercises

Tuesday (same as previous plan)

  • 20 minute Yoga download.com podcast
  • 10-20 minute interval warm up on the cross trainer
  • Body Pump class

Wednesday (weather dependent)

  • 4-5 mile run plus abs and core work

OR

  • 1 hour of intervals including 30 minutes on the tread mill and machines

Thursday (same as previous plan)

  • 20 minute Yoga download.com podcast
  • 10 minute warm up
  • new strength training session
  • 5 minute cool down

Friday

  • 1 hour of interval training on the treadmill and machines

Saturday

REST!!!

Sunday

After reading Laura’s post I want to bring back whatever Sunday.  Where I do what ever I want- quite literally.  This can range from a morning 10K run, yoga, fitness DVD, gym session, a class or rest.  Whatever I want just to make things more fun and varied.

I’m really happy with this plan as I think it’s really varied, flexible and interchangeable.  For instance, as Body Pump is on both Tuesday and Thursday so I easily swap these days around if needed.  So if I do end up missing a day only the way for what ever reason it should be easy to get right back on plan again for an awesome workout.  After a few days of rest at the beginning of the week I went for a run yesterday and did my ab and core exercises and today’s Body Pump was fab.  It’s amazing what a few days rest can do.

I will be sharing a detailed run down of my new strength and ab routines in a separate post next week.

Do you stick to a fitness plan or do just go with what you feel like that day?

Do you like a balance between cardio and strength or do you prefer to focus on just one thing at a time?

15 Comments

Filed under Points of interest

15 responses to “October fitness plan

  1. Great plan!! 🙂
    I’m working on making a fitness plan, and will try to stick with it! I try to balance it out, I do some cardio and strength training. 🙂

  2. That looks like a great plan! Really good variety too! I’m all for a day that you pick whatever you want to do – you’ll never get bored or burnt out that way!

  3. I like the idea of a whatever day too – injects a bit of fun and spontaneity into your routine 🙂
    I change up my exercise routine quite regularly. I’ve been training for a half marathon, so I’ve been all about the running, but after I’ve done that I want to incorporate some more strength and core work back in to my routine. I don’t enjoy strength training that much, but doing short workouts or doing it as part of circuit training keeps me motivated.

  4. I tend to have the same weekly routine, partly as the local leisure centre only does classes on certain days, and also it fits around work and things like that. I do love the fact that they change up body pump, and the same with my aerobics class too- the instructor is brilliant at changing it all the time- keeping it hard.

  5. This is beside the point, but I really don’t like that last photo of the motivation posters. I know it’s supposed to show determination..but having run with braces when I was injured only to make it 10x worse in the long run, they could have chosen a much better photo.

    Anyway! I really miss BP. I haven’t been in a few weeks since they tend to work legs a lot..and it isn’t fun having to wake up early one morning with sore muscles and have to run for training. It is a great workout!

  6. Awesome plan! I never make a fitness plan, because if I miss or change a workout I get major guilt – which is NOT what I want. I do make it a point to mix it up, and am constantly reviewing my week’s workouts to make sure I worked a good variety, and didn’t miss anything terribly important (ex. stretching!).

  7. Lenna (veganlenna)

    First, I am so happy to hear that your fitness goals have changed so much since starting this blog and now you want to be healthy and strong, it sounds much better than “skinny”! 🙂 You fitness plan sounds great, I like the idea of whatever Sunday.
    I have no fitness plan, I just do what I like, but on most of days I do legs or arms or abs strength workouts combined with some yoga, pilates, swimming or zumba.
    I used to do cardio all the time, then I was really into strength training, now I am training to find my balance between these two.

  8. I stick to a plan most of the time. It makes things easier, and it helps me build up strength before switching up my workout. Great job with your plan. Keep up the good work!

  9. beautyinthebalance

    I think it’s a great idea to have a structured weekly plan with a lot of variety. It also helps that you can switch days around.
    The idea of a ‘whatever’ day is great; that way you can tailor your work-out to how your body feels after a week of working out.
    All over this is a great concept!

    I have a fitness plan printed out which I follow when I’m training for races but when I’m not training then I still have a weekly routine (in my head) which I follow… it’s not very varied so I need to work on it!
    I’ve never tried Body Pump though- can you believe it?

  10. I really like the sound of your plan, it seems manageable and varied. I struggle with fitting enough of what I want to do in, especially as I work full time and study part time so I’m envious of you getting to fit in works outs six days a week. My gym does Body Pump and I keep hearing great things about it – you’ve inspired me to get my butt to a class next week!

  11. It sounds like you have such a good attitude towards how you want to be 🙂 A whatever day is a great idea. It takes the pressure off when you have the other days sensibly structured x

  12. Errign

    I don’t have a set plan, other than one I tend to make up at the beginning of the week.

    I like to incorporate yoga, cardio and strength into each week.

  13. I love when my focus begins to shift from skinny to strong! Its still a journey… but the blog world has definitely helped!

  14. Pingback: A HEALTHY budget « Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

