A HEALTHY budget

Happy Friday friends! 

This week has just flown by and the temperatures seem to back to normal and in keeping with the current season.  I love the return of the sunshine, but after packing away all of my summer clothes I was well prepared for the Autumn a few weeks ago.  Bring on all that is Autumn!

bigbudgetbuttonbig5

This week as part of the Big Budget Challenge I have been: 

  • Using up leftovers and meals that I have stored away in the freezer.  This way all I have to do is add fresh vegetables and maybe cook up a grain to serve.
  • Making the most of discount stores for toilet roll and kitchen roll to save a few pennies.  They usually have gigantic packs of toilet roll for much less and of a decent quality.
  • Selling more items on Ebay! 🙂
  • Only buying things that I actually need.  This week I was lucky and didn’t really need anything in particular as my cupboards are well stocked.  With this in mind I decided to make use of my local market and green grocers to stock up on my fruit and vegetables and went to Sainsbury’s to pick up soya yoghurt, hummus, spinach (market and green grocers had sold out) and peanut butter.  I spent a grand total of just £28 on my grocery shop this week.
  • I’ve also worked 2 extra shifts at my retail job to earn some extra cash.

This week has been very successful in terms of my budget.  Fair enough I had to put extra petrol in my car to drive to work for the overtime shifts that I snagged but in return for the amount that I earnt it’s quite neglible.  The fact that my food budget was relatively low (for me!) was fab!  With the money I saved I treated myself to getting my eyebrows threaded as I’m hopeless at doing them myself and hate plucking them.  As my eyebrows are quite thin I can get away without getting them shaped for a few weeks, but thought I would pop in for an extra session since I had saved some money.  I also bought the new ELLE magazine too. I don’t buy magazines that often as I usually buy them and it takes me forever to read them as I have no time, but thought what the heck- ELLE is my favourite!

My eats have been pretty tasty and very budget friendly too and on the quest to use up the things in my cupboards yesterday I made up a lovely bowl of hot oat bran made using 2 1/2 cups of water, frozen strawberries, chia seeds, dates, apricot kernels and melty dark chocolate dreams.

I haven’t had oatmeal for a while so this was just lovely and perfect for a chilly autumnal morning.

After this morning’s workout from my new plan I feasted on a gorgeous bowl of orange and walnut granola that I picked up at a health food shop near my work place reduced. 

The granola was lovely especially when served with fresh strawberries, a chopped peach, raw shredded coconut and vanilla rice milk. This fuelled right up until 2pm! I’m addicted to this granola the orange flavour sounds unusual but it totally works with the oats and walnuts.

Lunches have included a huge snack plates:

Rice cakes topped with Sainsbury’s own brand hummus and vegan pesto, raw broccoli, chopped apples, raw carrots, green pepper and cherry tomatoes with extra hummus for dippage.

Since I was working from home today and had some spinach that needed to be used I decided to make a green smoothie for lunch:

A banana, spinach, chocolate PB swirl powder, water, xanthan and guar gums topped with raw shredded coconut, dried cranberries and buckwheaties.

Before yesterday’s awesome Body Pump class I got in to snack mode and fuelled up on a chopped banana, with crunchy peanut butter, honey, buckwheaties and carob covered raisins.

Delicious! 🙂

I’ve also been indulging in some of my Gluten Free Peanut Butter Cup Cookies that I have stashed in the freezer.

These cookies freeze so well.  I’m so glad that I still have some in the freezer to keep me going as they came out all soft and buttery…tasty!

Dinner last night was a super friendly on the budget as again I headed to the freezer and pulled out some of my High Protein Three Bean Chilli.  I decide to use it as a topper to half a baked butternut squash.

This was lovely and didn’t take that long at all to roast up the squash.  I served it with steamed savoy cabbage in coconut oil and some plain soya yoghurt.

For desserts I’ve raided my Lindt chocolate stash and found an unopened bar…shocking right!?

Orange and pistachio-I don’t think I need to tell you how good this was! 🙂

I’ve also enjoyed a heavenly bowl of plain soya yoghurt mixed with a dark chocolate soya pudding that the lovely people at Alpro sent me…

…of course toppings ensued in the form of PB puffins, raw coconut butter and dried cranberries.

I’m really getting in to this budget challenge at the moment and surprisingly enjoying it and my stripped back eats.  I have a few recipes to try out this weekend for some more Budget Busting Meals.  Hopefully they will turn out great and you will be seeing them up on the blog in due course.  I’ve got a lovely relaxing weekend planned and not up too much. I think I may even squeeze in some research reading too make up for the extra hours that I worked this week.

How is your budget shaping up this week?

How do you treat yourself when you are trying to stick to a budget?

Have you got anything nice planned for this weekend?

12 Comments

Filed under The Big Budget Challenge,

12 responses to “A HEALTHY budget

  1. Wow you are doing so well! I never thought of checking out the discount stores for loo roll I will definitely be making use of that tip! Glad you got to treat yourself a bit too 🙂 I’ll link back to this post in my round up next week x

  2. Awesome job! I’m the worst at budgeting – I get impulsive, especially if i’m hungry and out during the day. I’ve been trying to limit buying snacks, coffees & tea, because they are SO much cheaper if I make them myself. It gets hard when you’re out at class all day and don’t have much time or space to eat.
    This weekend I have 5 days off from class for silly national holidays! But I don’t really have any plans…

  3. Oh wow, you are doing so so well! while still eating really delicious eats!! YUM!
    Im terrible at using money right! But I really try to just buy what I need, and save were I can! I bought a pair of really lovely shoes while in Paris though! But I needed them 🙂

  4. my food budget could definitely use a “makeover”… I spend waaaay too much money on groceries. I buy like 10 things for one recipe and then never use the rest of them! It’s frustrating!

  5. I would like one of each meal please! x x

  6. Wow, I can really relate to this post. I always have a hard time budgeting, especially since the healthy food that I love so much tends to be much more expensive than the less-healthy versions. Your food looks delicious though, well done! I find that the best budget-friendly food is pasta for dinner and yogurt with lots of blueberries for breakfast or lunch. Frozen veggies can help save lots of money too, but once in a while fresh ones are SO much better! Great blog! ❤

  7. Well done for sticking to your budget! I’ve been doing a lot better lately as I’ve swapped my pricey summer berries for cheaper fruit like apples and bananas. I’ve got a Wholefoods trip planned for Sunday though so I need to be strict with myself and only get a few treats!
    That chocolate bar and soya pudding dessert look so good. x

  8. Budgeting is such a hard thing, I always spend so much money on food!

    -Sophia
    http://whatyourmommadidntknow.blogspot.com/

  9. emma

    well done for your budget!! Mine hasn’t gone too badly apart from buying lunch on Friday which was £££! I’m giving myself a break this weekend as my friends are visiting and I want to enjoy seeing them!

  10. Sounds like you’re doing great at the challenge – I wish I only spent that on food shopping!
    You have got to have treats at the same time though, you’re right, because otherwise there’s no point in working so hard!
    That chcolate bar looks out of this world 🙂

  11. Well done for keeping to your budget. I love the idea of topping butternet squash with chilli- I often have it on a baked sweet/ normal potato, but never on a squash before.

  12. Health Freak College Girl

    i mainly use coupons when i am on a budget. i end up saving a lot of money!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

