Budget Busting Meals 4

Hey hey hey loves! Are you all having a good day?  I’ve got a little tasty somethin’ somethin’ that may make it a little bit brighter.

As part of Laura’s budget challenge I’ve been finding alternatives and cheaper foods to buy as a way of saving money.  On this mission I have created some healthy, but cheap and more importantly tasty recipes along the way as part of my Budget Busting Meals challenge.   You can find a recap of my previous Budget Busting Meals in this post here.

big budget buttonbig

I’m a huge believer in eating breakfast every day without fail as for me it is the best me of the day.   Breakfast foods range from green smoothies, oats, chia puddings, muesli, granola, yoghurt messes, which I think are all fab.  However, muesli and granola can get a little expensive.  Since I’ve already made my own muesli recipe I thought it was time to hit the granola scene.

DSCF1343

DSCF1344

*Cherry Bakewell Granola*

DSCF1345

 Ingredients

  • 11/2 cup of oats
  • 2 tbsps of canola oil
  • 2 1/2 tbsps of honey
  • 1 1/2 tsps of almond extract
  • 1/4 cup of dried cherries
  • 1/4 cup of dried cranberries
  • 1/4 cup of whole almonds
  • 1/4 cup of raw shredded coconut (optional)

Preheat the oven to gas mark 5.  In a bowl mix together the oats, almond extract, honey and canola oil until all the oats are well covered.  Next spread the oats evenly on a ready prepared baking sheet that has been sprayed with oil.

DSCF1325

Bake the oats for 15-20 minutes until the oats become a deep golden brown turning the oats half way through the cooking process.  Once cooked allow the oats to cool and firm up.  Add in the dried cranberries, dried cherries, whole almonds and coconut.

DSCF1346

DSCF1349

 Serve up and enjoy!

I don’t think I will be buying granola ever again!  Well maybe not EVER again, but it’s so easy to make.   Sometimes I find  that shop brought granola can be too sweet and packed out with too many oats.  By making your own you can make sure that it is tailor made to your own preferences, plus it’s way cheaper.

I had another idea of Homemade Pumpkin Butter Granola too using my version of pumpkin butter.  Using the same instructions as before and the same quantities of oats, canola oil and honey, leaving out the almond extract and adding in some raisins and nuts.  At least 2-3 tablespoons of the pumpkin butter should be mixed in at the same time as the canola oil and honey until everything is well combined.

DSCF1350

*Homemade Pumpkin Butter*

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of pureed pumpkin (I used fresh, but canned is perfectly fine)
  • 2 tbps of honey
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp of ginger
  • 1/3 tsp of nutmeg

In a food processor combine all of the ingredients until well combined.  I added 2 table spoons of honey this was just enough sweetness for me, but feel free to add more or less depending what suits your tastes buds.

DSCF1352

This tastes amazing on top of oats, toasted rye bread and in smoothies.  I think it would be great in baked goods too and again is far more cheaper than buying canned pumpkin and this had the added extra of the spices too.

What to you prefer to make at home rather than buying from the supermarket?

Do you prefer granola or muesli? 

What was the last thing that you baked?

35 Comments

Filed under Budget Busting Meals, Recipes, The Big Budget Challenge,

35 responses to “Budget Busting Meals 4

  1. That granola looks amazing! Will have to give it a go after my raw food experiment is over!

  2. Mmmm, cherries are wonderful! I think the last thing I baked was a carrot cake loaf. It was great.

  3. That granola looks amazing! I’ve always loved muesli but I guess granola is just like a crunchy muesli! With the big budget challenge in full force I’m definitely making more things at home instead of getting store bought when I can, its so much cheaper, and its nice to make things yourself sometimes – so satisfying!

  4. awesome idea!:) These sure look like you’re getting some bang for your buck!

  5. Bronagh

    Just checking… in the granola recipe is the second ingredient meant to be 2 tbsp oil (not granola)? You mention canola oil in the recipe so I’m guessing it’s just a typo 🙂

    I usually avoid buying store-bought granola because it always seems so full of sugar and unneccessary fats/oils etc. The only kind I really do like is the Bear Granola Nibbles packs, they have a brilliant ingredients list and are only 100cals for one of the small packets so great for portion control. That said, they’re not the cheapest so I reckon I’ll have to give your recipe a go 🙂

  6. Mmm, I would never buy granola again (well, I don’t anyway because I eat the whole bag at once…) if I could make my own and it looked as delicious as that!

    I don’t make many things at home really, because I am not a confident cook…and I’m lazy 😉 Sometimes the cost of electricity, once factored in, actually makes the supermarket version cheaper anyway!

    I prefer granola to muesli – it doesn’t need to be soaked as muesli does, and it can be enjoyed with or without milk (non-dairy, of course)

    xxx

  7. Yum! Two of the best things on earth in this post. I’ve made homemade pumpkin butter in very small batches by just adding some maple syrup and cinnamon to pumpkin…but yours sounds much better. 🙂

  8. Oooooooo that granola looks mighty fine : )

  9. I’m a real muesli fan, but I do have expensive tastes, so I should probably try to make my own to save some money. I like granola as well, but it’s dangerously moreish.

  10. I prefer muesli for breakfast, but granola for a snack! I love making it but do not hardly ever get around to it! 🙂

  11. This looks absolutely fabulous Jemma! I love dried cherries- so tart and sour and sweet!
    I basicly make everything at home! I have made granola in the past, but I would like to try out more recipes! At the same time, Im not the biggest granola-person out there, so I dont like to end up with too much! But, it is actually perfect for gifts too! Small packages of homemade granola is so sweet to give away! Im planning to do a lot of that this christmas 🙂

  12. Waw, that granola looks so good! Great recipe!

  13. Granola rocks! Like seriously the best crunchy delicious way to start the day – way better than standard muesli… but nothing can ever beat bircher muesli for breakfast ♥

  14. Pingback: Unnecessary necessities « Celery and Cupcakes

  15. I always add granola to my yogurt because I love the added crunch granola has. 🙂

  16. Pingback: Budget Busting Meals 5 « Celery and Cupcakes

  17. Pingback: I *HEART* October « Celery and Cupcakes

  18. Pingback: Product Review: New Zealand Honey Co. « Celery and Cupcakes

  19. Pingback: Getting back to my eats « Celery and Cupcakes

  20. Pingback: Orange and Chia Seed Granola « Celery and Cupcakes

  21. Pingback: WIAW! Budget Busting Meals Round Up « Celery and Cupcakes

  22. Pingback: A Mega Festive Smoothie and giveaway winners « Celery and Cupcakes

  23. Aesha

    Wow I’ve been looking for a simple recipe for making granola and I think I found it! Can’t wait to try. Also the pumpkin butter, how long will that last in my fridge? Thanks a bunch for the recipes.

  24. Pingback: Family Recipes « Celery and Cupcakes

  25. Pingback: Cherry Bakewell Oat Slices | Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

