In hibernation

Hi guys.  I hope you re all feeling rested after the weekend and ready to start a brand new week.  My weekend was a quiet one, mainly spent at home relaxing and which I loved.

On Saturday morning before work I was in a serious oaty mood.  So for breakfast nothing would do except a huge bowl of hot oats:

My oaty fix contained 1/2 cup of oats, 2 1/2 cups of water, a chopped pear, strawberries, cinnamon topped with some melty crunchy peanut butter.  This tasted amazing and kept me full for what seemed lie forever at work.

Yesterday morning I was in the mood and cravings some green smoothie action:

This green loveliness contained spinach,  a banana, an apple, almond extract, cocoa powder, camu camu berry powder, honey, water, xanthan gum and guar gum.  I kept the toppings light (well by my standards!) with a peanut butter sauce and some Mornflake extra crispy muesli.  This is probably one of the best green smoothies that I’ve had in a while.  The addition of the almond extract really gave it a great flavour.

After breakfast we headed in town to have a wander around the shops and I had to exchange a dress that I bought during the week.  There is so much great stuff in the stores at the moment that I was surprised when I went home empty handed.  I’m just trying to make do with the pieces that I already have in my cluttered wardrobe, recycling and mixing it up a little with different accessories each time.  I used this theory yesterday when getting ready to go out after finding a pair of knee high boots under my bed that I haven’t worn in two years!!!

OTTD:  Black blazer, H&M, grey bat winged top, H&M, black vest top, H&M,  jeans, Warehouse, tan knee high boots, Office, scarf, House of Fraser, swallow earrings, Accessorize.

When we got back from our trip in to town I made up a snack plate for lunch:

Hummus and avocado topped rice cakes, raw carrots, cucumber, roasted kabocha squash and extra hummus for dipping.  I love baking up snack plates for lunch.  The Spanish definitely have the right idea with their tapas way of eating.

Mid afternoon I snacked on a quick Food Doctor seeded bar:

The rest of my afternoon was spent doing my yoga DVD, watching movies and cooking up some eats in the kitchen like pulses, grains, a soup and a lovely curry all ready for the upcoming week. With all that cooking done it was finally time to eat. I made a speedy stir fry using smoked tofu, sweet corn, aubergine, green pepper, broccoli and mushrooms with steamed kale with coconut oil.  I made a lovely sauce from soya sauce, rice vinegar, five spice and oyster sauce.

For dessert I made a huge mug of hot chocolate using soya milk and curled up on the sofa and enjoyed the last of my weekend.

It was great to escape the outside world for most of yesterday.  Sometimes a little time hibernating indoors can do the world of good after a busy week- it was just what I needed! πŸ™‚  Are you a fan of locking yourself away for a day or two escape the outside world for a whileWhat did you get up to this weekend?

I hope you are all having a happy Monday!

42 Comments

Filed under EATS!

42 responses to “In hibernation

  1. Sometimes, I just need time for myself to just relax and have me time. πŸ™‚
    I love your outfit!

  2. Sometimes, yes, I do like hide sometimes πŸ™‚ In fact, when I got home from a crazy weekend yesterday at 4, I did that for the rest of the evening. It was just what I needed!

    My weekend was awesome! I had some friends in town, so we played tour guide. SO much fun, but I’m sure you know why I needed a break last night.

  3. I love your outfit, especially that scarf! So cute. R&R is definitely called for once in a while! Have a happy Monday!

  4. You are so beautiful! Loving your accessorizing and bootcut jeans! Glad you enjoyed the weekend!

  5. I love hiding away sometimes……just letting the outside world go by…..this post made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside πŸ™‚ xxx

  6. I definitely hit up hibernation mode yesterday, and I think it was needed, I feel much better today for it!

  7. Now I want to curl up with a hot chocolate and hibernate! But exams don’t let me…
    love the outfit!

  8. I do love being by myself and getting on with things- listening to the radio, cooking, baking, cleaning and tidying, but I also need some fresh air otherwise I go crazy! So for me time I would have a walk outside too for getting rid of the cobwebs πŸ™‚

  9. It’s a little dangerous for me to hide away too much with my history of agoraphobia – if I get too comfortable in the house then there’s a strong possibility that I may never go out again, although that would probably do the world a favour!

    Given your busy week though, I think you more than earned some time snuggled up at home πŸ™‚

    Since my love for hot chocolate is no secret, I have to say that your drink has me craving yet another one right now…despite having gone through two already today!

    xxx

  10. Katy

    I love weekends like this every now and then! This past weekend I literally didn’t leave my house, except to go to Tesco once and yoga! And it was BLISS!! I tidyed the house, decluttered my dressing room, watched lots of cookery programmes and just chilled out!! Heaven! X

  11. I definitely need my own space for at least part of the weekend – can’t be doing with rushing around from one thing to another for all of it!
    I’ve been in a serious porridge mood too for the last week and I think some of that hot chocolate would go down a treat too πŸ™‚

  12. Your eats look so yummy! I am a big fan of locking myself away for some time every once in a while. At least 1-2/ month I dedicate a day to myself. Lock myself in my room have a mani, pedi, body scrab, long bath, hair mask, face mask, read some magazines…
    My weekend was really boring. I have a huge assignment for tomorrow, so most of my weekend was spent in front of my laptop!

  13. LOVE the outfit and the eats look amazing!

  14. That’s what weekends are for! After a busy week, I love laying around my house as much as possible πŸ™‚

  15. livinglearningeating

    The green monster looks delicious!

  16. That hot chocolate looks amazing. I love staying indoors sometimes, especially now it’s getting colder outside.
    I took part in my second 10k race this weekend and spent a little too much money shopping, opps! x

  17. I completely feel like hibernating at the moment! I think its the dark mornings and evenings, and the colder weather, but I feel like I’m overdue a duvet day!

  18. It’s not often you see a fab pair of bootcut jeans these days, but yours look lovely!
    L x

  19. Your weekend sounds so good and relaxing- perfect!
    And girl, you are so beautiful!! Love your outfit too!

  20. Errign

    What a great idea to use avocado to top rice cakes! yum. Also, love the almond extract idea – I bet it was delicious.

  21. I am really liking that outfit. I need more scarves in my life!

  22. I also had pink oats lately!! It must be a trend πŸ™‚
    As soon as I get back to the states, I’m making myself a big green monster. Which means….in a year…yeah
    Snack plates are amazing. I still have yet to try UK rice cakes. need to get on that.
    I actually did the opposite this weekend- I ventured out into the countryside!

  23. I absoluetly love looking at all your delicious food! You always make it look so simple and colorful! Love your blog Jemma! xxx

All of your comments make me smile :-)

