A wonderful wedding

Whilst a lot of you in the UK were out watching fireworks as part of the Bonfire night celebrations I was in London celebrating the marriage of Alfie’s best friend.

DSCF1689

It was such a gorgeous wedding and just full of colour, bold patterns and lots of singing and dancing…

DSCF1695

DSCF1694

DSCF1708

This year I have been to a Chinese wedding, an Indian wedding and this weekend was my first experience of a Nigerian wedding.  It really was a huge celebratory party right till the very end.

DSCF1709 I just loved all of the traditional outfits and the ladies head dresses were just pieces of art.

DSCF1770

The happy couple in their traditional African garms.

DSCF1715

DSCF1717

DSCF1718

The party then left the church and was in full swing at the reception too.  It was so much fun!  I love weddings and how they bring everyone together as it meant that I got to catch up with some old friends too.

DSCF1759

I even managed to grab Alfie for five seconds from his groomsman duties for a quick pic:

DSCF1779

I decided to wear a red shift dress from Apricot at Debenhams with thick black tights and black heels and a blazer. and The frill detail was great for hiding my huge food baby after the wedding breakfast. 🙂

DSCF1697

It really was a very special wedding and I’m so happy for the newly weds!

What did you get up to this weekend?

Have you ever been to a wedding of a different culture?  What did you think?

25 Comments

Filed under Points of interest

25 responses to “A wonderful wedding

  1. That looks like a great wedding! I love the white and blue colors 🙂

  2. I love all the colours! It looks like a massively fun wedding! Lurve your dress! 🙂

  3. A wonderful wedding indeed! The dresses are absolutely amazing, and the headpieces breathtaking. I’ve never been to a ‘regular’ wedding, let alone one from another culture, but having seen these photos I would certainly like to.

    xxx

  4. Awww, weddings are fun! You’re right – it is very colorful. 🙂

  5. I’ve never been to a wedding of a different culture, although I will be in 2013. My boss is Mauritian, & she is Hindu – so I’m really looking forward to that! Looks like you had a great time.

  6. misscheriexx

    I saw the lady in the middle of the second picture waiting for a train at Stratford on Saturday night – I absolutely loved her pretty dress and pointed her out to my boyfriend. The dresses do look beautiful, amazing.

  7. It looks such a wonderful wedding. I love going to any sort of wedding, although I haven’t experienced any from different cultures yet.

  8. Whoa, that’s one fantastic wedding! Looks like a lot of fun!

  9. Wow this is the most unique and beautiful wedding I have ever seen! So much fun, and such lovely pictures 🙂

  10. What a beautiful wedding! I would love to go to more weddings, especially ones from a different culture. My best friend is Indian, and although she’s not engaged yet she’s already planning a traditional Indian wedding- I can’t wait for this future wedding 🙂

  11. That looks like such a beautiful wedding! The patterned outfits look so pretty 🙂

  12. that wedding looks so unique and awesomeeee!!!!!!!

  13. What a beautiful wedding! I love the bride’s dress 🙂

  14. Awww what a beautiful wedding 🙂 x

All of your comments make me smile :-)

