Orange and Chia Seed Granola

You may remember this…

DSCF1344

…or may be not, but it tastes pretty darn good!

DSCF1822

As part of the Big Budget Challenge I have been making up some simple and tasty recipes that are easy on the bank balance.  Granola is so easy to make and most of the time I always have the basic ingredients on hand to make up a batch at home rather than buying it.  Since I ran out of my Cherry Bakewell Granola a few days ago I thought I had better restock my granola supplies this weekend.  Although I wanted something a little bit different so I got my thinking cap on…

DSCF1821

…and came up with this…

*Orange and Chia Seed Granola*

Ingredients

  • 11/2 cup of oats
  • 2 tbsps of canola oil
  • 2 1/2 tbsps of honey
  • 1 1/2 tsps of Sicilian orange extract
  • 1/4 cup of raisins
  • 1/4 cup of mixed nuts1/4 cup of whole almonds
  • 1/3 cup of chia seeds

DSCF1823

Preheat the oven to gas mark 5.  In a bowl mix together the oats, chia seeds, orange extract, honey and canola oil until all the oats are well covered.  Next spread the oats evenly on a ready prepared baking sheet that has been sprayed with oil.  Bake the oats for 15-20 minutes until the oats become a deep golden brown turning the oats half way through the cooking process.  Once cooked allow the oats to cool and firm up.  Add in the raisins and nuts and stir through.

Enjoy!🙂

DSCF1824

I do love granola and my favourite way to eat it is with a bowl of chopped fruit topped with lots of soya yoghurt.

DSCF1829 

How do you enjoy eating your granola?

Do you make your own granola or do you prefer shop bought?

36 Comments

Filed under Recipes

36 responses to “Orange and Chia Seed Granola

  1. Lenna (veganlenna)

    It´s been a long time since I last had some granola, but this one looks really good 🙂 I prefer making my own combinations, because I can add whatever I like.

  2. Mmm I have never made my own! I bought some chia seeds recently as well, so will def try this 🙂

  3. That looks lovely! What kind of oats do you use? I usually only have Scottish oats in the house and I wasn’t sure how good they would be in granola as I tend to see people using the big old fashioned oats. 🙂

  4. I love granola, both store-bought and homemade. But I have a tendency to eat way more than any person should in one sitting, so I try to stay away from granola to avoid overeating. It’s just that delicious!

  5. Kit-Kat

    I usually eat granola as a cereal or power bar, not as an actual cereal. I would rather have oatmeal.

  6. This sounds so great to eat for breakfast with vanilla soymilk 🙂

  7. That looks amazing! Whenever I have made granola I loved it, but I find it a bit tricky to not let it burn and to get the proper clumps in it. Also have never had raw chia seeds- good idea.

  8. I still haven’t made my own granola, but it sounds so easy that I really need to give it a go. I’m a muesli girl really – I love Dorset muesli

  9. Sounds delicious! 🙂 Such a unique and tasty sounding idea!

  10. I’ve never thought to make it but actually I have all those ingredients in so there is no reason not to – it looks and sounds delicious.

    🙂

  11. I much prefer homemade granola, but I recently bought a really good pumpkin seed granola from Costco and am going through it at record speed!

  12. That looks gooooood! I love orange flavor, but I’ve never tried orange extract. I’m a big fan of orange and cranberry or cherry, so maybe I’d sub in some dried cherries for raisins.

  13. great recipe! thanks for sharing 🙂 granola’s are great snacks!!

  14. This sounds so yummy! I haven’t bought granola for a while as it tends not to last for very long around me, not so budget friendly but I do treat myself sometimes! I also like granola on top of yogurt and fruit. x

  15. Errign

    I don’t actually like granola all that much so if I have a craving for it, I just make a small amount for myself and then I’m all set. Looks yummy though- love the addition of chia!

  16. Looks great! I always make my own because the shop stuff isn’t usually gluten-free – and I prefer to make it without all the sugar. I love it in just that way though; fruit and yoghurt with it is perfect 🙂

  17. Pingback: Budget Busting Meals 8 « Celery and Cupcakes

  18. Pingback: WIAW! Budget Busting Meals Round Up « Celery and Cupcakes

  19. Pingback: I *HEART* November « Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

