Guest Post: Keeping Healthy Getting Stylish

Hello lovelies! 🙂

 I hope you all enjoyed Hannah’s guest post yesterday.  I thought it was great to hear how American supermarkets compare to ours in the UK.

Today I have another guest post for you from another fab blogger with a very inspirational story to tell.  I’ve been reading Laura’s blog for a while and love it.  So once you have done here you should all go and check it out!

Hello! I’m Laura from Keeping Healthy and Getting Stylish, the lovely Jemma has asked me to do a little guest post to keep you all entertained while she is away in the States raiding Whole Foods and Trader Joes 😉

clip_image002

I thought I’d share with you my healthy living journey. Throughout my life I have always struggled with my weight. I can remember the first time I became aware of it, I was only 7 years old and I experienced bullying at school which led to low confidence and self esteem throughout my teenage years. I did try to do something about it, I would exist on an apple a day to try and lose weight, but of course this didn’t work and I ended up bingeing on unhealthy food and eating in secret from my family and friends.

As I got older I tried weight loss clubs, joined gyms and did various detox diets. Sometimes I did lose weight but eventually I would fall back into old patterns and regain the weight, plus some more!

clip_image002[6]

When I turned 26 and reached almost 15 stone (210lbs) I knew I had to do something drastic. I was recently married and I could really see how much weight I’d gained when I looked at the photographs. I was so unhappy and didn’t want to spend my life like this. I loved fashion but never felt comfortable in my clothes and hated the way I looked. I read lots of nutrition and exercise books and decided that I would try and lose weight myself through healthy eating and physical activity. The more I read the more I realised that the best way to lose weight was to eat plenty of fresh ‘clean’ food and avoid processed food. When I realised how many chemicals and artificial ingredients had been in some of the foods I’d been eating I was horrified! I cut back on heavily processed food such as ready meals and cuppa soups and started to cook more food myself, and better yet I really enjoyed it! Over the course of two years I managed to lose over 5 stone (70lbs).

It wasn’t long after that I discovered healthy living blogs, I just couldn’t get enough of them! I found them so inspiring that I decided to start my own blog to help me in maintaining my weight loss. I started to become even more experimental with my cooking and I even started running – I have managed to do the Great North Run Half Marathon two years in a row now which only a few years ago would have seemed impossible.

clip_image002[8]

I used to really worry that I would end up regaining the weight that I had lost just as I had so many times before, but then I realised that something had changed. My journey was no longer about weight loss, it had become about health. Weight maintenance isn’t all that easy (this is something I’m going to blog more about soon) and I’ve had my ups and downs over the past few months, but finally I feel like I actually know my own body and what works for me!

clip_image002[10]

A big part of my journey has been transitioning my diet from being filled with high protein animal products to vegetarian, and now to almost completely vegan. I have found that eating a varied plant based diet has made a massive difference to my weight and energy levels – plus I love cooking vegan food! I’ve also grown to love raw foods, I start most of my days with a delicious green smoothie – which I know Jemma also loves!

clip_image002[12]

One big lesson I’ve learned is that being healthy and taking care of yourself is a journey rather than a destination.I’m learning more about myself and my body every day and I’m forever grateful for being able to share my adventure through blogging!

Hope you’ve enjoyed hearing a bit more about me! What is one lesson you’ve learned on your own healthy living journey?

8 Comments

Filed under guest post

8 responses to “Guest Post: Keeping Healthy Getting Stylish

  1. Great guest post, I love your blog 🙂

  2. Love your top and necklace!

  3. Great post 🙂 Your story is very similar to mine and the more people I meet in the blog world the more I realise that we’ve all been on a “journey” (cheesy, but true!) and we’re trying to find a healthy balance, whatever that is. Getting to goal weight is definitely not the end and I look forward to reading about your view on that.

  4. Great post Laura, you look fab!

  5. Thanks for those comments every one! 🙂

  6. Katy Aubrey

    Fab post, you’ve done so well and should be so so proud of yourself! I love your blog, and you’re a real inspiration to those out there struggling with their weight. x

  7. Great job gettin’ healthy! 🙂 Though I’m no vegan (not even vegetarian), I really enjoy making vegan meals. It forces me to get creative in the kitchen!

  8. Excellent, Laura! You have accomplished so much. You’re a great guest poster!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

