Guest Post: Healthiful Balance

Happy Friday peeps! 🙂

 The weekend is upon us again and I have a great guest post from the lovely Shannon if you are in the mood for a bit of pampering.  

Shannon has some more great posts and delicious eats on her blog so make sure that you go and check it out cos’ it’s fab!

Hi everyone! My name is Shannon and I blog over at Healthiful Balance about my life in Germany, food, health and fitness.  I’m so glad to be doing a guest post for Jemma today because I am a big fan of her blog! So when she was looking for someone to guest post, I jumped at the opportunity!

Today I’m going to be sharing three different DIY Beauty Recipes that I love with you. There are so many great beauty recipes that you can make, that don’t have a lot of ingredients. These three that I’m going to share with you, are my favorite! Enjoy! 🙂

Branch with olives and a bottle of olive oil isolated on white 1.) The Olive Oil Hair Treatment
Not only is olive oil healthy and great for cooking, it’s also great for your hair! Olive oil has been proven to give hair a healthy sheen, help to repair split ends, and reduce frizz. If you ask me, I think that’s better than any shampoo that’s loaded with chemicals. To give your hair a conditioning treatment, massage 2 tablespoons of olive oil into your hair and scalp. (The amount you use should vary depending on the length and thickness of your hair.) And remember to massage it in well because it is important to the treatment, as it helps promote a healthy scalp.

Next, take a warm, damp towel and wrap it around your hair. Leave it on for about 30 to 45 minutes. This will allow the olive oil to work into your hair and then you’ll get the full effect. Finally, rinse out the olive oil with shampoo. This might take a few shampoo-ings (Again, depending on how long and think your hair is. I did two rounds.) If you have the time, let your hair air dry.

yogurt-bowlLG

2.) The Yogurt Mask
Yogurt has so many health benefits, even for your skin! It refreshes the skin, helps get rid of redness and makes your skin glow, it fights blemishes, it sooths sunburn and it can even tighten your pores. How awesome is that? 

You’re going to need: Unflavored & organic yogurt, honey, a foundation brush and a small bowl.

First step is to put about two tablespoons of yogurt and half a teaspoon of honey in a bowl and mix well. Then, take your foundation brush and dip it into your yogurt mixture and spread it evenly on your face. (Avoid putting it to close to the eyes, though.) Leave it on for about 25 to 30 minutes and then wash it off with warm water. *If you are allergic to yogurt, I would not recommend doing this face mask as it can cause an allergic reaction. If you are going to do this face mask, then be sure to test it first by putting a tiny amount on your arm to see if you get any allergic reaction. If you do, wash off immediately.

3.) The Brown Sugar Body Scrub
This skin treatment helps get rid of dry skin and dirt.  It will leave your skin glowing and feeling smooth. All you have to do is put half a cup of brown sugar, a tablespoon of honey, a little bit of olive oil, and 1/4th a tablespoon of fresh lemon juice into a bowl and mix it. Then, apply on your body and rinse with warm water.

What are your favorite DIY beauty recipes?

Have you tried any of these
before?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Guest Post: Healthiful Balance

  1. i love shannon! these are great recipes girl! I have a friend that loves all this kind of stuff so it reminds me of her! Its so fun when you can make your own beauty products

  2. Kit-Kat

    I’ve done the brown sugar rub. I love brown sugar so much! Call me crazy, but if I need a REALLY fast carbo load for biking, I’ll mix 1 Tablespoon Asure pancake waffle mix, 1/4 cup flour, 1 tablespoon Shaklee protein powder, and (get this) 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Yep, I’ll mix these all up well untill thoroughly combined and eat for a quick sugar/carb/protein spike (the flour contains 11 grams of protein, too).
    And when I was younger, I would have a huge bowl of oatmeal (like, 1 cup dry of oats, and then cooked to over 2.33 cups), and I would add about 1/4 cup of brown sugar (maybe more) to my oatmeal. Super sweet, but SO good!

  3. Lenna (veganlenna)

    I really believe in olive oil, it works wonders for skin and hair. Also coconut oil is great for dry skin and dry brittle hair ends. And if you don´t mind honey, try using it instead of a cleanser. It is the best cleanser for dry, yet acne prone skin 🙂

  4. The olive oil hair treatment sounds great – really need to give it a go as winter is making my hair so dry. x

  5. jranolajoyce

    My mom puts avocado on her hair! I guess the healthy fats make your hair lustrous!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

