Guest Post: Rachel’s Delicious Journey

Hi all!  

I have another fantastic guest post you from another awesome blogger Rachel.  Please go and check out her blog after reading her fab post here!

  I absolutely love the blogging community and the lovely Rachel explains why she loves it too…

Hello everyone!

It’s Rachel here and I blog over at Rachel’s Delicious Journey.  I was honoured when our lovely Jemma asked me to write a guest post whilst she is on holiday (I hope you’re having a fabulous time girl..I can’t wait to read all about it when you’re back!)

I started my blog back in April 2009 generally writing about my day of eats, the odd recipe and of course moaning about my hate dislike for exercise! Now being a blogger is much more meaningful. I still write similar posts (I’d like to think they are much more interesting than back in the day hehe) but the main reason I stay blogging is because of the overwhelming sense of community. Whilst I only followed a small handful of people in 2009/2010, I now have around a hundred luscious people I can keep up-to-date with.

What I love the most..

Sharing & Talking Food

I’ve had endless conversations about the love of squash and pumpkin with bloggers. Just the brief mention of my Pumpkin Christmas In A Cupcaketo my fiance’s nan and I get “Pumpkin…in a cake..why would you want to do that?!” My friend’s don’t get it either. That is, until they try a bite!

I just adore the way you can find almost any recipe your mind can think of through this world and if not, there will be a dozen people more than willing to have a discussion about it. A quick look through Jemma’s Recipe page and I’ve already got my eye on something else to try out – Guilt-free Gingerbread Cookies.

With photos, new healthy food finds, restaurant recommendations and giveaways, blogging sure makes me hungry!

The Community

Whilst I’d still write if I had no followers, the comments do keep me going (and smiling). Absolutely everyone that I have encountered is amazing. I have yet to attend a blogger’s meet-up but have the pleasure of regularly meeting two of my readers.

The online friendships between us all are so strong. With comments, Twitter, emails and Facebook it is so easy to keep in touch. Some beautiful people have even sent me food products through the post for no reason other than they are simply amazing.

Never Being Alone

In this wonderful community you are never alone. Even though people are literally scattered around the world, I can be comforted to know someone is just a message away. If I’m feeling low about my eating disorder want a listening ear, or just read about someone going through a similar situation then I can. I have always said it’s like having a world of information and love in my pocket when out and about (thank goodness for modern technology hey).

What do you love about being a blogger or a blog reader?

Thank you Jemma for inviting me to do a guest post on your incredible blog.
See you when you get back.

New readers, hopefully I’ll see you on my site some time soon.

Much love,
Rachel x

6 Comments

Filed under guest post

6 responses to “Guest Post: Rachel’s Delicious Journey

  1. What a lovely post! I completely agree with every word. The blogging community is a really special one. Like you, I’d still blog even if I didn’t have readers but its so good to know that others are interacting with you. As a reader, I love all the inspiration I gain from blogs and as a writer, I love the fact that I can inspire people and share one of my passions!

  2. I hope you’re having a fabulous time Jemma 🙂 Thanks again for asking me to do a guest post. There was so much more I could have written. Blogging rules xx

  3. You hit the nail right on the head; it’s the sense of community that’s so brilliant. I haven’t met any other bloggers yet but it’s so good to be part of it, lovely post 🙂

  4. Fantastic post! I love this community too, even though I haven’t been part of it for very long. I definitely love the fact that you can relate to everyone else. 🙂 I’ll definitely check your blog out!

  5. Totally agreed, Rachel! It’s just such a fun outlet and in-let to be creative, encouraging, and gain that sense of community and togetherness. It’s always nice to know that I’m not the only one who has an interest in food, and there are plenty of people who “get” me. 😛

  6. I totally agree with all those reasons! And honestly, I love that there are people that LISTEN to me talk about food! I know I drive my friends and family crazy sometimes with my love of the grocery store, my reading of food labels, and my blabbing about recipes!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

