Guest Post: Eating Like a Horse

Hellllllo! It’s me again!  I hope you all enjoyed yesterdays post!  Today I have another one up my sleeves from the very lovely Eleanor who writes such a fab blog called Eating Like a Horse.  It’s also really funny too, so make sure you head over there to check it out!

Thank you to Jemma for allowing me to take over her lovely blog for a day!

My name’s Eleanor and I blog at Eating Like A Horse which is, as my subtitle says, my ramblings about gluten-free and mainly “healthy” eating and general life as a horse-riding local newspaper journalist with coeliac disease.

I think it’s nice to make a guest post fit with the blog it’s on, so here’s some celery:


Apparently, celery’s a really good thing to eat if you’re stressed. It it blocks the production of stress hormones – and it lowers blood pressure, plus it’s high in potassium too – good all round 🙂

But then there’s cupcakes…


I love carrot cake in every possible form.

I made some carrot cookiesrecently:

And my current favourite breakfast is cooked grated carrot mixed into porridge with mixed spice and maple syrup… although when I mentioned that to a bloke at work the other day, he said: “Well you’re just weird then aren’t you?” Whatever, Sam, you’re just jealous 🙂


So I was surprised I hadn’t made carrot cupcakes before. Something I sorted out straight away when my friend asked me to make some cakes for an indoor boot fair she’s holding.

Preheat oven to 180C and line a 12-hole tin with paper cases.

180g rice flour

150g carrot, grated

125g brown sugar

1 medium eating apple, cored and grated

Zest of one lemon

3tbsp rapeseed oil

2tbsp apple puree

1 large egg

1/2tsp ground mixed spice

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

Sieve the flour, baking powder and spice together into a large bowl, then stir in the sugar, carrot, apple and lemon zest and mix.  In a separate bowl, lightly beat the egg with the oil and apple puree. Pour the egg mixture into the dry ingredients and mix well. Spoon into the cases and bake for 18-20 minutes, until a skewer inserted comes out just about clean. Leave to cool.

I drizzled the tops with icing sugar mixed with enough lemon juice to make a paste:

So the sale only gets 11 cupcakes… but it would have been very unprofessional not to do some quality control. Mmmmmmmmm 🙂

And of course, as anyone who reads my blog will know, when it comes to carrots, the madder-shaped the better. My dad does love growing some weird vegetables, so here’s one of my favourites:

Yes, it is definitely a carrot…

Thank you again Jemma, hope you’re having fun in America!

Have you baked with carrots before?

What did you make and how did it turn out?

16 Comments

Filed under guest post

16 responses to “Guest Post: Eating Like a Horse

  1. Aw, two lovely bloggers in one spot 🙂 Love it! Hahah that carrot is so freaky! I do love me some carrot cake though 😉 YUM!

    I hope both of you ladies have a great weekend!

  2. hahaha aomgsh!! that carrot looks like a lobster or something’….? And carrot cupcakes and cookies sound amazing right about now! Mmmmmm. And Jemma! It’s snowing, haha! I love it, how cool is that?

  3. that looks so good!!! the cookies!!! haha the last one looks like a lobster, i agree!
    🙂

  4. Great post, I love baking with carrots! Carrot cake is one of my all-time favorite desserts. But I don’t make it that often because I’m usually too lazy to prepare the carrots! Ha 😛

  5. Eve

    Oh wow! That’s possibly one of the very few porridge combos I’ve had. And luckily enough I’ve just bought a kilo of carrots! How is the porridge done? – I’d be having having with water because I don’t like any type of milk.. How much carrot in it? Does it make it like a carrot cake?
    Eve xx

  6. Love the carrot theme 🙂 I love carrot cake, and carrot cake cookies (although mine are more like oatmeal raisin cookies with added carrots)- and also once I was brave enough to try carrot porridge I loved it too! 🙂

  7. beautyinthebalance

    Ohhhh that carrot looks like some super freaky prawn!

    I love carrot-cake oatmeal! Best idea EVER.

  8. Great post! I’ve never had carrot cake oatmeal before – mostly ’cause all the carrots run out before I can use ’em up. 😄 That is one super freaky carrot right there.

  9. Those cupcakes look fab! I like carrots in porridge too but with raisins and coconut! I love them in my carrot date and walnut loaf recipe as well 🙂

  10. Thank you for the lovely comments – and thank you Jemma!

  11. Pingback: Father Christmas | Eating like a horse

  12. I love them raw, or cooked with tomato sauce OR baked into my carrot cake flapjacks. YUM!

  13. Errign

    I like to add carrots to muffins and pancakes and stuff like that. Tasty little things!

  14. Great guest post! 🙂
    I’ve only made carrot cake..

  15. Pingback: Slightly struggling | Eating like a horse

All of your comments make me smile :-)

