WIAW…An American Tale

Hey folks!  I hope you are all having a happy WAIW.

wiawbutton

This week I wanted to share with you some of my recent activities and fun whilst I was in America the past two weeks.

DSCF2053

How cool are the number plates in America!?!  Ours are so boring in comparison.

As soon as the doors opened on the plane once we landed in Florida I had butterflies fluttering around in my stomach with all of the excitement.   This was my first trip to the states and I couldn’t wait to get started on my American adventure.  Once in the airport I everyone was greeted by a lovely lady with a cute accent and we were all put through a rigorous session at security.  I’ve never had my finger prints taken before…everything seemed to be new to me.

DSCF2045 The Beast…our travel companion for the duration of our trip.

It took a little while for my dad to get used to our ride that would take us around the place whilst in America.   For me the thing was like a tank compared to my little Corsa, but my dad seemed to get to grips with it quite quickly…thank goodness! I would have been hopeless driving on the opposite side of the road! 🙂

DSCF2043

We only stayed in Florida Sunday night and spent Monday looking around the place with my cousin.  On Tuesday morning we decided to start on our road trip to NYC!!!

DSCF2040 

It all sounded all good and well driving up to New York, but in total it took a whole 18 hours!  Over a 1000 miles in total! We travelled all the way north through Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, New Jersey before hitting New York.  On the way we did stop at some rest stops, gas stations and a restaurant to eat, but other than that my dad was determined to get us all there in one straight trip.

Even from the road side we could see how different each state was from one another we went from wide open spaces to rolling pastures and farm land until the more north we headed sky high buildings and inner city life were in full view.

DSCF1989 

We were all so tired after the drive, but it was worth it to see my Aunty and cousins in New York.  It made such a long journey so worth while.

DSCF2037Of course whilst we were there we hit the shops in down town Brooklyn and Manhattan and made that all important visit to Trader Joes (I couldn’t find one in Orlando) and the PB & Co sandwich shop in SoHo. I even got to experience Thanks Giving in NYC too, which was just lovely.  My other cousin also came to NYC to visit with his girlfriend-they took the plane! 🙂 It’s just like Christmas with all of the hustle and bustle in the kitchen and all of the family coming together.  It was a really lovely day!

On Thanks Giving evening a few of us headed in to down town in to Manhattan to explore a little.  We came across Grand Central Station which was just so pretty inside…

DSCF1870 - Copy

DSCF1871

DSCF1877 - Copy

My pictures really don’t do this place any justice at all.  I also think it’s too beautiful to be used as a working train station…stunning!

DSCF1884

DSCF1894 DSCF1888 - Copy Times square is so awesome!  I loved seeing it all lit up like that! The monthly electricity bill must cost a bomb, but so worth it!

DSCF1908

Christmas just seemed to be everywhere in NYC…

DSCF1913

DSCF1925

DSCF2033My aunty, cousins and my cousins girlfriend decided to have a girly day and we went on a ferry ride to Staten Island where we got to see some amazing views of the city across the water and the Statue of Liberty.

DSCF1991

DSCF1977

DSCF1975

DSCF1963

We also headed down to the sea port for dinner and do some evening window shopping around the mall there.

DSCF2005

DSCF2007

DSCF2016I had a total blast in NYC!  😀 It’s such a beautiful city.  We also explored West Village, Firth Avenue, China Town and Little Italy. I didn’t make it to Central Park, but I will definitely make that in my to do list when I make my next trip there as I will be going back for sure.

DSCF2030 Stunning! 😀

Of course the time came for my dad, cousin and I to make our way back to Florida, another 18 hour trip ensued.  Since the beginning of our trip back south was in the day light I got to see the Capitol Hill from the road side, which was pretty cool.

IMG_0797 Back on the road!

I actually did most of my shopping Florida as they have some great outlets there.   There was lots of stuff that my cousin suggested that I would have loved to do like horse back riding, Cocoa Beach and kayaking but I’m saving all of this for next time as they really aren’t my dad’s thing. Ha!

DSCF2052

American trucks are so cool! 

One evening we headed to Disney and Universal’s City Walk and had a great night in the Hard Rock Cafe…

DSCF2059

DSCF2062

IMG_0827

DSCF2069 

And then the sad time came where I had to say good bye to America and head back home.  I really did have an amazing time and saw and did so much.  This is definitely a holiday to remember and probably one of best of my life so far. It’s such an huge country that I know that I haven’t even scratched the surface.  I cannot wait to go back and explore this amazing country some more next time with my boyfriend next time!

IMG_0841 Greeted by rain at the airport in Manchester!

Happy WIAW!

What has been your holiday to remember?

Have you been to America before? Where did you go? What did you see?  Would you ever want to go back?

34 Comments

Filed under WIAW

34 responses to “WIAW…An American Tale

  1. Great post! It seems like you really had an awesome time in the US – I wish I could visit too, I’d love to explore the states someday. My best holiday’s probably in June, when we visited UK and part of Lake District. It was awesomeeee.

  2. Oh great post!!! I’ve been in the US my whole life and yet to see what you’ve seen in NY!!

  3. That is a massive road trip you took! But it’s nice that you got to go through the different states to see what’s what. I still haven’t been to NYC, but that is hopefully in the cards in the next year or so. Looks like you had an amazing time!

  4. All those pictures take me back to my trips to NYC, we visited Grand Central Station when we went three years ago and it was amazing. Oh I wish I could go back! Looks like you had an amazing time! 🙂

  5. wish i was in nyc!!! love your pics, u r lucky !

  6. Ah love the pictures Jemma! Everything looks so wonderful and Christmassy in NYC, and it looks like you had a lovely time with your family. I visited my friends in Boston and Connecticut last easter which I absolutely loved (Boston especially, it’s such a great city), but would love to do a proper road trip and see all the sights some day.

  7. Looks like you had a wonderful time!

  8. Errign

    Love this post! 🙂 I love that all of our number plates are different by state here. The reason you couldn’t find TJs in Orlando is that there aren’t any in Florida 🙂

    I’m starting my own 1,000 mile journey home in just a few hours!

  9. So cute..the trucks here are different than your trucks? now you have to post a picture! Good old America.. glad you had a fun trip.. come back again! Boston next time 😉

  10. Looks like you had an amazing trip! Love the pictures of NYC. I went for my 21st birthday and have wanted to go back ever since. x

  11. What a holiday! The pictures are stunning and I’m so glad you had a good time. I love the one of you in Times Square and the one with the policemen – and the rain in Manchester! I’ve been on a west coast American road trip, LA-Vegas-Grand Canyon etc and it was the best holiday ever but I’d love to go to New York and this post makes me want to go more!
    And I was just thinking how nice that blue/green coat is when I saw it in your last post; gorgeous 🙂

  12. I live in the US, but I have never been to NY….I can only imagine how beautiful it must be during this time of year! Looks like your having a great trip!

  13. ahaha this all makes me laugh! Especially all that about the license plates. Yeah they are all different.
    I love this because it’s like seeing the US from another perspective. And Thanksgiving is one word, love 😉
    NYC at Christmastime is like Oxford Street x1000 isn’t it? I’ve never been but I’ve seen pictures.
    Would you believe that I live 3 hours from the city and hardly ever go? (read: I’ve been 3x)

  14. Yay for NYC!!! This is such a fun post for me to read, I love that city and try to make it out there at least twice a year 🙂

  15. Glad you had so much fun! Next time you shall visit the other side of the country! 🙂

  16. Donna

    Glad you had a wonderful time. Next time, come to my neck of the woods in Sunny Southern California 🙂 I always laugh when people from the UK get here and realize how massive the US really is. My husband (who is from the UK) flew out to Ohio from California to help me drive back home to California (completed my doctorate in Ohio), his mum called and asked when we would be home for dinner (she was visiting from Manchester). When he said, “In about 3 days!”, his mum asked if he was joking. He then put me on the phone and I said, “America is approximately 4000 miles from coast to coast and our trip was just under 3000 miles. He’s telling you the truth – 3 days if we’re lucky because we also have a trailer on the back of my car slowing us down.” 🙂

  17. That looks so much FUN! I LOVE new yorkl! ❤ I'm so glad you've had such a BLAST! 😀 Aaah, I have so many holidays to remember – probably my fondest was New Zealand with my Kiwi boyfriend last Christmas, it was so special to share his country and family with him over the holuday! ❤ And also canada, where I did my Moksha yoga teacher trainign – so much fuN! 😀 Have a wonderful weekend, yay for travelling! xyx

  18. I’ve been to America quite a few times, and have been to Florida, Virginia and both Carolina’s, but I’m desperate to go to NY! Looks like you had a fun trip!

  19. Pingback: I *HEART* 2011 « Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

