Food Glorious American Food!

Happy Thursday people!  It’s almost the weekend and I cannot wait!  I’ve been trying to get back in to the old routine with a massive fail.  Waking up late and falling asleep at random times in the day, which has meant that I haven’t got that much work done at all…hmph!  I’m hoping a relaxing weekend will help sort me out and get me ready for a productive start to next week.

Enough with the moaning!  I’m actually writing this post to share with you my all important American food haul.

And so I begin…

DSCF2076

Kashi Go Lean and Nature’s Path blueberry and cinnamon Optimum cereal.  They used to sell this Nature’s Path cereal in Asda a while back but have stopped selling in it for some reason.  I’ve missed it so much”!

DSCF2077

I didn’t really need any protein powders as I do have a lot of Spirutien powders that I haven’t even used yet.  What I actually wanted to find was Sun Warrior protein powder, but I couldn’t find it anywhere.  However I just couldn’t resist the Choc-a-lot shake and go vegan smoothie.  I also visited the Hershey’s store i Time’s Square and picked up some Hershey’s Cocoa, Dagoba lavender and blueberry dark chocolate, Dogoba chai dark chocolate and a bar of Scharffen Berger 82% dark chocolate.

DSCF2078

Whilst at the Hershey’s store I also picked up some Reese’s peanut butter cups in milk and dark chocolate and a cute Hershey’s mug that I thought was perfect for hot chocolate.

DSCF2079

The PB&Co sandwich shop was high on my list of places to visit in NYC and I picked up some yummy flavours of PB.  I haven’t tried the Mighty Maple flavour before and I cannot wait to try it.  Alfie just loves the Cinnamon Raisin Swirl flavour so I stocked up on those for him too!

DSCF2080

I don’t think my nut butter collection will require any new additions after all of this lot.  I’ve heard so much about Justin’s hazelnut butter and Trader Joes almond butter so they were a must.  I’ve tried small sachets of Sunbutter before and loved it and also picked up another jar of creamy almond butter from Whole Foods too.  And the small sachets of Justin’s nut butter are just perfect for snacking.

Then came the snack bars…

DSCF2082

DSCF2084

DSCF2083

I just couldn’t resist and probably would have bought more if it wasn’t for the weight limitation on my luggage.  There are just so many flavours of Clif bars that I have never even tried or heard of before.  I cannot wait to try these lovelies! 😀

DSCF2085

Celestrial sweet coconut Thai chai tea and gingerbread spice herbal tea just sounded lovely!

DSCF2081

Whilst raiding Trader Joe’s other than the almond butter I also picked up some dark chocolate covered pomegranate seeds, dark chocolate edamame, chocolate coated sunflower seeds and some dark chocolate covered cherries.  These are going to be fab on top of smoothies and oats!

DSCF2087

I also picked up a cute I love NYC mug and an Aladdin cup that I thought would be great for smoothies on the go.  I have been using it everyday since I’ve been back for my morning green smoothies.

Overall I think I did quite well as I thought long and hard about whether I needed certain items or not, especially where some of the Artisana products are concerned.  It was tough to just walk away though I must admit.  I do have a small order coming from iHerb and I know most of the stuff that I have bought I can get from their site so I won’t be too worried when they run out. 

And talking of glorious food my Secret Santa package was waiting for me when I got home from the gorgeous and very generous Nicky!

DSCF2073

She has got me down to a “T” as I love every single item in my package and isn’t the Christmas card so sweet and pretty!  A big thank you to Laura for orgainising the Secret Santa and to Nicky for a fab and thoughtful gift…love it!

Have you tried any of these products before? What did you think?

Do you find it hard to show restraint when buying interesting foodie items?

37 Comments

Filed under Shopping

37 responses to “Food Glorious American Food!

  1. Wow your food haul looks amazing! I didn’t do any food shopping whilst I was in America, so jealous!

  2. kabochafashionista

    Oh wow, you sure did well to get all of those!! I’m SO excited to go to NYC and pick up some goodies next week!! Justin’s Nut Butters are definitely on my list..I’m having withdrawal symptoms!
    And yaaay!! Glad you like your secret santa stuff! 🙂

  3. Holy cow, lady–you picked up a lot of loot!!! I think I’ve tried all of those products (except maybe the Think Thin bar) before and they are all awesome. 🙂 You will LOVE the Justin’s nut butters, they are out of this world!

  4. That haul is fantastic – you have done the blogger community proud 😉 I would love to try those nut butters, especially the cinnamon raisin swirl – it sounds brilliant.
    That Secret Santa present looks fantastic. I sampled those peanuts in Hotel Chocolat and they were delicious!

  5. I think I brought back almost exactly the same stuff as you when I was in NYC in May even down to the NYC mug and drinking cup! We obviously both have excellent taste! The dark chocolate reeces are my fave by far!

  6. This haul looks absolutely heavenly – can I move in with you?! I can’t wait till I visit the states next, I will genuinely take a separate bag for food. Your present looks lovely! I went into Hotel Chocolat to shop for my secret santa as well and was blown away by all the incredible dark chocolate goodies they have in there – definitely going to splurge on some for myself before I go away for xmas 🙂

  7. Wow what a great haul, especially the chocolate covered Trader Joe’s goodies! I’ve just seen Laura’s post and what a lovely thing to do for her… hope the jet lag goes soon 🙂

  8. Your stash is impressive! One of the coolest things about going to a new country is trying all the different kinds of food. Heck, I live in the US and I haven’t even seen some of these products- I’ll keep my eyes peeled 🙂

  9. WOW – had I gone to the US, I would have had no self-control whatsoever. Heck, it would be dangerous enough for me to have that many wonderful goodies in the house with me!

    I thought the fact that you brought Laura back some goodies was so altruistic of you, and such a kind gesture (I read about it on her blog) – made me feel rather warm and fuzzy to read, and I am not generally a ‘fuzzy’ person!

    xxx

  10. Your food haul looks amazing. I’ve had that blueberry cinnamon cereal before and the box did not last long at all! x

  11. Is it wrong of me to want to go to America just to get a good foody haul? So many delicious eats! Bet you’re glad you had a bit of room in your luggage.

  12. cinnamon raisin swirl is the BEST pb&co peanut butter!

  13. Wow, I’d say you did pretty well! Many of my favorites – especially the things from Trader Joe’s!

  14. I love your haul! I think one of the main reasons I wanna visit US is so I can buy back all the delicious stuff from Trader Joe’s. 😄

  15. beautyinthebalance

    Amazing haul from the States! I think you mamaged to get all the best stuff! When I went to Cali in October last year I really struggled to bring anything back because I had so much luggage! I did manage to find room for some PB&Co Cinnamon Raisin Swirl and 4 Clif bars… it was SO hard leaving all the other stuff behind!

  16. You write an awesome blog. 😉 I can just tell you have a wonderfu woice and are very intelligent. 😉

    You got some great loot in NYC, but if you’re ever in the States again, come to LA?

  17. Oh my gosh! I love all your loot! 😀 So so cool! 🙂
    I bought heaps back home from Colorado this year – so so many larabars, clif bars, nut butters, luna bars, a lot like yours!
    I love that you brought back so much, it’s so funny! You must have been in seventh heaven shopping for all that food, I know I was! And I adore dagobas dark chocolate…insanely good!
    Enjoy all your American treats! 🙂 xyx

  18. Wow you got a ton of great stuff!! 🙂

  19. Yum! American bars are the best. 😛 I want to try Vega, Angela (Oh She Glows) makes it sound so good! I’m glad you had a good time. 🙂

  20. It’s strange how much we take advantage of seeing it every day here. Although, no doubt it’d be the same way if I were to go over seas!

  21. Donna

    Larabars are fabulous esp. Cashew Cookie!!! Yum! I am fortunate that I live less than a 10 minute walk to Trader Joe’s. Clif and Luna bars are also quite tasty. Great food haul from my favorite food store.

  22. I have had a hankering for granola for quite a while and when I spotted a recipe for Elvis Granola on Eat, Live, Run , I knew I had to make it immediately! I had almost everything on hand, except the peanuts and dark chocolate so I went straight after tutoring to pick some up. I bought two chocolate bars so I can sample and see which one I prefered. I have always wondered if Ghiraldelli was really the best available in my store (asides from Scharffen Berger, but at a jillion dollars a bar, no thanks). So I bought Ghiradelli Intense Dark Evening Dream and Cadbury Royal Dark . I LOVED the Cadbury Royal Dark !!! I will definitely be using this bar from now on, I couldn’t stop “sampling!” The Ghiradelli bar was too much for me.

  23. Very nice! I love ombar!!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

