A Mega Festive Smoothie and giveaway winners

Well hello rain and wind! It’s been pouring it down all afternoon in the West today.  What’s the weather been like where you are today? 

First things first I have to announce the winners of my Munchy Seeds Giveaway

Lucy

image

Jessica 

image

Lauren

image

Jo Lock

image

Kate

image

Thank you to everyone that took the time to enter.  Could the winners please email me with their addresses so that I can sort out the delivery of your prizes.  CONGRATULATIONS!

Yesterday for me meant getting back to the old work routine, which I didn’t really mind after having two weeks off.  To get me in the working mood I made a huge bowl of oats.  The last time I had eaten oats was before my outbound flight to Florida.  It had been so long and I love my oats.

IMG_0882

I was inspired by my Cherry Bakewell Granola.  So in went the usual 1/2 cup of oats, 2 cups of water, 1 cup of unsweetened soya milk (stirred in at the end), 1/2 tsp of almond extract, shredded coconut and dried cranberries.  This really hit the spot and got me all geared up for a busy day full of rampaging Christmas shoppers. 😀

This morning I headed out for a run and managed 4.01 miles in 39 minutes and 30 seconds. This was my first run in 3 weeks so I was quite happy with my pace.  It was quite cold out, but bearable.  Luckily I headed out before the torrential rain set in.

IMG_0889

My post run breakfast consisted of a Mega Festive Smoothie.  In this bowl of Christmas cheer went some mince pie filling (sweetened with apple juice), an orange, a banana, cinnamon, unsweetened soya milk, water and gums.  Festive toppings included SunButter, dried cranberries and gold and silver decorations.  I loved the sunflower seed butter on this smoothie.  It’s so creamy and made the smoothie extra delicious!

Even in the cold weather I still enjoy my salads.  So for lunch yesterday I packed a lovely salad made for mixed salad leaves, lambs lettuce, spouted green lentils, tomatoes, avocado, carrots, yellow pepper, hazel nuts and sunflower seeds with a simple dressing made from canola oil, apple cider vinegar and seasonings.

IMG_0883

So simple, but so good!

Whilst on my last break at work I had a quick look see around the independent health food shop where they were selling off their savoury bakes at 50% off.  Of course, never to pass on a bargain I picked up vegan pizza for 90p…dinner sorted.

IMG_0884

I served it with some roasted sprouts in balsamic vinegar and ketchup for dipping.

IMG_0886

Dessert was also a quick and speedy with blueberries, vanilla soya yoghurt and dark chocolate covered cherries all mixed in a bowl.  I do love those soya puddings especially with fresh berries!

I hope you have all had a great weekend.

What kind of foods make you feel all festive and Christmassy?  I think for me it would have to be mince pie oats, gingerbread and brussel sprouts.

Do you find it hard to get back into your workouts after a long break? I’ve treated this first week back as a kind of getting back into the swing of things as far as my workouts have been concerned.  I can tell that the break has taken it’s toll but I think I am finally ready to hit the gym tomorrow and give it my all.

28 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Giveaway

28 responses to “A Mega Festive Smoothie and giveaway winners

  1. Your eats always look so yummy! 🙂 I love how you added blueberries to your pudding, I’ve never done that before but will try it!

    Anything gingerbread and peppermint flavored make me feel festive. 🙂
    Is it just me or is it snowing on your blog?? 🙂

  2. I’m a winner! Woooooooo! I just e-mailed you 😀

    It all depends how much I’m looking forward to the workout, I guess. I went back to the gym this morning after cancelling my membership in February, & I haven’t done any physical activity in 3 weeks, so I was really looking forward to getting a bit hot & sweaty. Other times, it’s just not fun if I have to force myself into it. At my gym workout today, however, I was relieved that I hadn’t lost a lot of fitness – not at all as I’d presumed!

    Definitely the most Christmassy foods for me are mince pies (who could refuse?), stuffing, & hot mulled wine.

  3. What a pretty smoothie! It’s beautiful – when I was a kid I was obsessed with those little silver/gold edible decorations….to an extent I still am 😀

    All of your food does indeed look wonderfully festive – even the pizza is red and green. What brand was it, just out of interest? I can’t find vegan pizza where I live!

    I’m so happy about the giveaway – I don’t usually win anything. Whoop! I’ll e-mail you in a second. Thanks!

    xxx

  4. Love your festive smoothie! Anything cinnamon or gingerbread flavoured definitely gets me in a festive mood! I think it is quite hard to get back into workouts after a break, it definitely takes a little bit of extra motivation to get back into it.

  5. I’m so jealous of the winners 😉 haha

    I love dipping my veggies in ketchup too!

  6. yummm your eats look insanely good!
    awesome job on your run! thts a great time for not running in 3 weeks!

  7. Jo Lock

    Wowweee!! I won! I’m so excited, will email you now. Your smoothie looks delicious xx

  8. Haha, my festive foods are exactly the same as yours! Your smoothie sounds amazing, I love the little candy balls on top! Weather hasn’t been to bad here today, it was nice to be able to go out and run! Hope you have a nice week ahead, and enjoy getting back to the gym 🙂

  9. Oh wow, I’m so happy I won, thank you! 🙂 I was actually in a bigger Tesco than usual yesterday so looked for some Munchy seeds, but they still didn’t even have the vanilla ones let alone these. Excited I get to try them after all! 😀

    Foods that make me feel Christmassy would be gingerbread, mince pies, …and Baileys! Although I haven’t had a glass yet – I will when we finally get round to wrapping all the presents! 🙂

  10. I actually look forward to getting back to the gym WEEKS before break is over! I already miss it.

  11. That smoothie sounds and looks fantastic – so festive. Gingerbread always gets me in the mood for Christmas, although I haven’t had very much yet.

  12. I’ve been addicted to your granola! Yum! I need to make another batch before christmas. I love roasted sprouts….and with ketchup to boot! Ketchup + broccoli is also a match made in heaven 🙂 xx

  13. So happy that you like the granola! 😀

  14. Wow that is a great time for not running in 3 weeks! Great job Jemma 🙂
    And your eats look rather fantastic…. lovin the colors!

  15. I’ve never thought of brussel sprouts as Christmas-y! 😛

  16. That smoothie looks great and I LOVE that you put little gold and silver balls on top of it – so cute!
    Your vegan pizza looks delicious, I’ve been craving pizza lately.
    Christmassy foods for me are definitely mince pies first and foremost and then things like roasted, caramelized parsnips and carrots, gingerbread and brussel sprouts like you 🙂

  17. Pingback: ~ Almost Over Now ~: WIAW – Festive Feasting |

All of your comments make me smile :-)

