A medicinal broth?

When I’m full of cold and flu I taking lots of drugs to try and combat the situation seems to be the easiest option.  However, I’m also a big believer in herbal and natural remedies and always turn to these first when given the option.

DSCF2198

I’m feeling much better now (thank you everyone for your concern).  I’ve been drinking lots of tea with lemon and honey- it works wonders for a sore throat! Also lots of green smoothies too.

DSCF1781

But, I have also been eating the broth that I made at the weekend by the bucket load.

Why?

Well it tastes pretty darn good even if I do say so myself. 😛  It also contains paprika which surprisingly is a great source of vitamin C and other antioxidants.  Now we all know how important vitamin C is for boosting our immune systems.

SIDE NOTE:  I’m seriously going to turn into an orange with the amount of clemetines I have been eating this week.  There could be worse things I guess?

The best thing about this Cold Soothing Broth is that it’s really simple to make…

IMG_1078[1]

Ingredients (vegetarian, makes a truck load)

  • 2 tbsps of oil
  • 1 small onion diced

  • 2 cloves of garlic minced  

  • 2 small leeks diced

  • 1 carrot diced

  • 4 large tomatoes chopped

  • 1 cup of swede or celeriac diced

  • 1 cup of broth mix or red lentils

  • 1 tbsp of tomato paste

  • 1/2 tsp of smoked paprika

  • 1/2 tsp of cumin

  • 1.5 litres of vegetable stock

  • seasonings

In a large pan heat a the oil and cook the onions on a medium heat until softened.  Add the garlic and stir in the pan careful not to burn it.  Add the leaks, swede, tomatoes and carrots cook for 5 minutes and continue to stir frequently.  Mix through the tomato puree and for 2 minutes before adding the vegetable stock and broth mix.  Bring the broth to the boil and then allow it to simmer for at least 20 minutes.  Next add the the cumin, paprika and seasonings and cook for a further 5 minutes. 

Enjoy! 😀

Do use particular herbs and spices for medicinal purposes?  What do you use them for?

What foods do you reach for when you have a cold/flu?

19 Comments

Filed under EATS!, Recipes

19 responses to “A medicinal broth?

  1. Oooh that broth looks lovely 🙂
    I swear by manuka honey for sore throats, made into a tea with warm water & lemon juice. Feel better soon!

  2. Yum! When I am sick, I make chicken broth with tiny pastas (ancini di pepe, for example, or little stars) and I squeeze lots of lemon juice into it. I love it, and it reminds me of being little and having my mom make it for me.

    Take care!

  3. I love honey when I feel I have a cold on is really nice in hot soya milk. I also have lots of soups with spices.

  4. I always go for garlic, ginger and chilli when I have a cold, plus honey and lemon, makes me feel better every time!

  5. Honey and lemon in hot water for a cold- makes you feel so much better 🙂

  6. Mmmm Jem! I am definitely going to make this broth! Sounds delicious! Hopefully be good for my diet too babe! xxxx

  7. Glad you’re feeling better. I’m the same when I’ve got a cold; I take as many drugs as possible! But I also go for echinacea, vitamin C and active Manuka honey to cover every base 🙂

  8. I usually reach for fruit, soup and bread when I’m sick. OH, and LOTS of tea!! 🙂

  9. I’m sorry you’ve been poorly! That broth looks delicious. I like eating spicy things when I have a cold as it definitely seems to clear the sinuses. I eat loads of vitamin C anyway, so I’m not sure I need any extra.

  10. It is so encouraging to find others who are like-minded when it comes using natural means to help with physical ailments. I strongly believe in it and I also believe in the power of soup!! The vegetarian soup looks absolutely delicious. I will be trying it.

All of your comments make me smile :-)

