Friday Feature: Choosing a Workout DVD

To spice up my workouts other than looking changing up my exercises, and taking new classes I also look to workout DVDs for inspiration.  They are great as many of us lead busy lifestyles and just don’t have the time to exercise, but DVDs offer a kind of support that allows you to squeeze in a little something when you can.

Using a workout DVD is like having a personal trainer in your very own home so for me making sure that I connect with the personality of the instructor.  Basically, the instructor has to have a fab personality for me to actually enjoy the workout as we are going to be spending a lot of time together, so that time it has to be good.  A workout DVD with a boring instructor is never a good thing and just results in the DVD being sent to the back of the DVD collection, or worst case scenario on eBay. 

There are so many different types of workout DVD from strength training, dance, yoga, martial arts and aerobics.  When choosing what type of workout DVD I want to buy I always ask the same question: what is it that I want to achieve? Right now I’m working on trying to to be as strong and healthy as I can be and focusing on strength and core workouts.  Although sometimes I just want to have fun and fancy just dancing around for a good workout.

fitnesws

The best thing about a workout DVD is that you can do them anywhere.  They are portable so you can take them on holiday and do them in your hotel room etc.  All you really need is a DVD player and some motivation and then you are good to go for an awesome workout. On some occasions you may need extra equipment like a chair or weights but you can always improvise.  384304_253908394662223_161712710548459_635125_2043972306_n_large

Another thing to consider is how much time do you have to actually workout.  Some workout DVDs are designed especially people that do not have time to workout.  They have sections of various time frames from 10 – 30 minutes constructed of different exercises aiming to give you the best workout in what ever time you have.

You don’t need to be a gym member or a fitness instructor to get a good workout.  DVDs are a cost effective way to stay fit and healthy!  Also you are in control of the quality of the workout too.  If you a section is too hard I either try it out at a lower intensity or fast forward to the next section until I feel strong enough to tackle it.

Reviews are also a great indicator on how good a DVD is.  I’m thinking about ordering the new Davina-Ulitmate Target DVD as the reviews have been great and I have heard great things about her previous releases in blog land.  Word of mouth is a wondrous thing my friends!

Are you a fan of workout DVDs?  Which ones are your current favourites?

How do you go about picking a workout DVD to buy?

13 Comments

Filed under Friday Feature Posts

13 responses to “Friday Feature: Choosing a Workout DVD

  1. Katy Aubrey-Gray

    Davina’s websites are fab!! They have high and low intensity versions of the moves so anyone pretty much can have a go! X

  2. I think I own upwards of 50 workout DVDs – back when I was at the worst of my agoraphobia, they were a lifesaver for me. They inspired me to exercise when I was too scared to go to a gym or run outside.

    Having done just about every variation on the workout DVD, I’d say that nothing beats the new Jilllian Michaels ones. I have Ultimate Target and before my re-stress fracture I was going to do a comparative review of it versus Jillian’s Ripped in 30 and Killer Buns and Thighs DVDs (don’t let the latter’s name put you off!) Honestly, I find Ultimate Target has the same problem as the other Davinas in that you *really* have to put in a lot of extra personal effort in order to get a good workout, particularly in the strength sections where you’d probably need to own at least 5kg dumb-bells to get anything out of them…whereas with Jillian all you have to do is *try* to keep up – there are some seriously hardcore moves in Levels 3 and 4 of Ripped in 30 and KB&T Level 3. Plus, they’re quite short – 30 minutes and 40 minutes, and in that time you get your booty totally kicked, but with Davina the pace tends to be more meandering (and Davina witters on so much!)

    As you’re very fit already I don’t think Davina’s stuff would challenge you much – I also like the Nell McAndrew series but they’re very old, and the moves are pretty repetitive. They are a good workout though.

    xxx

  3. Jenny Bridger

    I’ve never tried one personally – i don’t think i can motivate my self well enough. Thats why i’m a group Ex lover.

  4. It’s so hard to find a good DVD. Even some of the seemingly good ones end up being lame once playing them. I usually go by ratings/popularity. If a ton of people like them, chances are they’re worth trying. But what I look for is intensity and engagement. It has to be fast paced and challenging but not have “bootcamp” people yelling at me the entire time. That would just end up frustrating me!

  5. I only have one workout DVD but I love it!
    It’s Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred and it’s great because it’s only 20 minutes long yet you still feel the burn the next day!

  6. i love the davina dvds but agree with jess – u need to pay attention to putting extra effort in if u ramp it up want to get a decent workout xx

  7. The only workout DVD I have is the 30 Day Shred. At the moment I’m doing it once a week, so I don’t feel the need to have a whole library of DVDs. I have some Amazon vouchers, so maybe I will invest in one or two more.

  8. I’m a fan of workout DVDs but I hardly own any. I think they are a great way to workout, especially if you dont have a gym near by or dont have the money etc.

  9. I think word of mouth, especially in the blog world is a big one – I’ve just ordered all of Nell McAndrews ones after Jess’s recommendation. I do love my Davina ones but agree with Jess’s comment above – I got the Nell ones to be more challenging. I’ve also just been sent an amazing Zumba collection to review, I think they are going to be a lot of fun!

  10. I want to try the new Davina DVD although I find her really annoying! I like the 30 Day Shred and the Ministry of Sound DVDs are good for something a bit more fun but they’re still a good workout. x

  11. sharon

    Have to absolutely recommend Jillian Michaels here, she is the real deal. I have been doing her ’30 day shred’ DVD for almost two years. Her workouts are short (25min ish) but very effective, and there are hundreds of reviews on amazon on all her DVDs if you’re not sure 🙂

  12. I’ve never used a workout DVD but I’d love to try one out out of curiosity. I guess I just never feel like they’d give me enough of a good workout!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

