The dreaded dreadmill

Since the temperatures have plummeted in to this icy cold weather I haven’t been able to pluck up the courage for for a run outdoors.  Instead I have been doing all of my runs indoors on the treadmill.  My treadmill runs so far haven’t exceeded the 5K mark, just because my brain doesn’t seem to want to focus on my running after this point. The mindless running on the treadmill plus the crowded fitness suite really doesn’t appeal for too long!

I miss the waking up to the sun shining through the window in the morning, which really motivates me to get out there for a nice lengthy run.  I miss the changing scenery when running outdoors.  I also miss the sense of freedom that running outside can bring…you know that wind in your hair kind of feeling.

Until the temperatures in the UK decide to buck up their ideas I’m just going to make do.  I’ve listed some of the things that help me beat the dreadmill blues:

  • an awesome playlist- listening to your favourite music whilst working out can have a motivational effect and spur you on to keep going.  The playlist on my iPod which I work out to is completely different to what I would normally listen to.  It’s full of dance, heavy hip hop and rock!

  • A good read- I see a lot of people reading whilst on the cardio machines at my gym sometimes a text book, a magazine or a newspaper.  Such a great idea to kill two birds with one stone by studying or reading your favourite magazine and working out at the same time.  It’s a sure way to keep you mentally stimulated and the boredom away.

  • Interval workouts-  By breaking up your run into smaller segments with fast and slower recovery phases can really help bring variety to your treadmill run.  Also intervals are a great way to increase your endurance when you are ready to run outside again.

Now for the bold and confident there is Tracy Anderson’s dance cardio treadmill workout, which is full of skipping, leaps, side steps etc all on the treadmill.

I’ve known about this treadmill routine for a while and haven’t had the nerve to do it at my gym yet.  A part of me thinks that I never will, only in the privacy of my own home. 😀

Are you for or against treadmill runs? 

How do you spice up your runs on the treadmill to make them more fun rather than doom and gloom?

Would any of you dare to do the treadmill routine in the video above?

19 Comments

Filed under Points of interest

19 responses to “The dreaded dreadmill

  1. thats a cool workout on the treadmill! tracy rocks!

  2. I’m not a member of a gym at the moment, so I’m stuck with outdoor runs. It’s been ok, but I have had to be adaptable over the past few days when it’s been really cold and icy my sticking to flatter and well-lit routes to avoid falling and injurying myself.
    I would kinda like access to a treadmill, but don’t want to join a gym just for a few weeks while the weather is cold.

  3. i defs love my treadmill runs! but they need to be intervals or id go crazy!

  4. Hahha I’ve never heard of anything like that Tracy Anderson video but I totally want to try it! My gym is really big but there is a small room for Women only, if you want some privacy, and there is only one treadmill in there… so if I could get that one, I might have the guts to try it 😉

  5. Whenever I use the gym treadmills I usually do an interval one like fast for recover for 5 etc. I have been a bit mad and braving the out doors isn’t so bad after you’ve been out for 10 mins or son

  6. I hate the treadmill but have formed a better relationship with it since it became cold and miserable outside 🙂

  7. i love treadmill running! I change the speed and incline all the time to keep it interesting tho 🙂

  8. I like to read on most gym machines but I don’t have the coordination to do it on the treadmill, I’d definitely fall off. I used to be ace at running on the mill, I could go for an hour easily, but now no matter how good my music is etc I’ve gotten so used to running outside that I just can’t do it! I’ve been managing with the cold so far, the best thing I have found is one of those headbands that covers your ears. I got one for a £1 in primark and once my ears are warm my body soon follows suit. Definitely can’t wait for spring though!

  9. I’m not a huge fan of the treadmill, it’s just so much less enjoyable than an outdoor run. I think constantly seeing the time and distance that I’ve done makes it feel like a bit of a chore but since I discovered intervals it’s got better – changing up the speed and incline definitely makes the workout go by faster! I may also use your tip of reading a magazine while I’m running, even if it is just to cover up the timer! x

  10. I go through phases of loving and hating the treadmill – I like it because I feel like I get a better interval workout by being able to control the speed than being outdoors, but then for longer runs the boredom just kills me. I’m really bad in the cold and don’t risk running on frost so I’m glad I have the treadmill option available to me. I can easily manage 10k but definitely no more!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

