WIAW…Blood and a laboratory!

Hello lovelies!  It’s Wednesdayyyyyy!!!!  How are your weeks shaping up?  I’m having a rather busy one with so many things on the go, but it’s all going towards something super exciting, so I guess that it’s all good!

Peas and Crayons

A big thank you to Jenn for hosting as always.

This week’s WIAW is taken from yesterday’s eats.   I was teaching a haematology lab yesterday and the students had to make smears of their own blood samples.  This meant that I had to demonstrate the finger prick test to them and how to prepare their blood smears on their slides.  The lab was a pretty mess by the end of the day. the students seemed to enjoy all of the gorey blood though.  Although one porr girl actually fainted…bless!

To save me from passing out I decided that it was best to have a hearty breakfast of banana bread oats made loosely using my Banana Bread Batter recipe.  I topped it with some Sunbutter, dried cranberries and shredded coconut- one of my favourite combos at the moment.  😀  it seemed to do the trick though as I felt well enough to demonstrate the test and didn’t feel at al queasy at the sight of my own blood.

This also worked as perfect fuel for my mid morning workout in the gym before class.  I did a 10 minute interval warm up on the bike, a 30 minute hill climb on the cross trainer and a 10 minute session on the step machine plus 10 minutes of ab and core work.

For lunch I raided the freezer again and this time found a bag of Carrot and Red Lentil Soup…one of mt favourites.  The lentils act as a great thickener and make the soup extra creamy!  I also ate a Peacan Pie Nakd bar, some purple grapes and an apple.

Since  was teaching way into the afternoon I didn’t have time for a snack so as soon as I got home dinner was my only priority as I was starving.  I fried off some sliced tofu that I had marinated in char siu sauce and soy sauce and stir fries some Chinese leaves, green beans, carrots and red peppers for a quick but tasty dinner.    The added sunflower seeds added a extra crunchy element…yum!

For dessert and for some study fuel I munched on some sliced apples and grapes with a a dipping sauce made from peanut flour, cocoa powder. vanilla stevia and water.  A total yumfest and definitely got me through a late night of preparing a presentation that I have to give on Monday.  The presentation is quite a big deal, but I will share all at another point.

It’s all go for me at the moment so i do apologise if my posting becomes a bit sporadic. 😀

Are you scared of the sight of your own blood?  Have you ever fainted before at the sight of blood?

Did you do any cool experiemnts at school/uni?

25 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

25 responses to “WIAW…Blood and a laboratory!

  1. that banana bread oat bowl has got to be the tasty looking thing i have seen all day 🙂 we will be making this very soon 🙂 thanks 4 an awesome idea

  2. ooh all looks lovely; im not too bad with my own blood and i havent ever fainted from it before but thinking about it too mmuch makes me feel a bit woozy!

  3. Corinna

    in my bio lab last year we also made blood msears from our own blood to look at the different cells and we also tested our blood type. and we also used banked blood (?) to learn how to count cells under a microscope! i thought it was fun, but one girl nearly fainted too, the same one who couldn’t handle dissecting an eyeball

  4. Sounds like a delicious day indeed. 🙂 I used to be super freaked out by blood, but now I’m pretty much okay with it. I was pretty much the biggest wimp!

  5. I never used to be queasy, but when I was a teenager I had to go to the doctors for an immunisation and I fainted right after- then I gave blood (not the same day) and after each time I fainted when they took the needle out, (after 5 tries I gave up) and since those experiences I am very very nervous around needles. Then doing A level Biology made me also very queasy when we learnt all about the heart pumping the blood, so now I am pretty bad!

  6. Blood doesn’t bother me but I don’t like watching the needle going in!

  7. Bronagh

    I have a huge phobia of seeing blood and needles and stuff like that 😦 I would definitely be that girl in the class fainting! I try to avoid blood tests at all costs and luckily havent needed too many in my life so far… fingers crossed it stays that way.

    Loving all your eats in this post, both the soup and the sitrfry look absolutely delcious! I’ve been on a seed kick too recently, I love sprinkling them on top of stirfrys for added crunch. Cashew nuts are also awesome for that. Mmm.. that’s dinner tonight sorted 😉

  8. I get so sick when I see blood, haha! I dont always get sick when I see MY own blood, but when I see other people bleeding I feel like I’m going to pass out..

  9. Alexiasana

    carrot and red lentil soup is one of my favourites too! your banana oatmeal bowl looks great too, almost like a smoothie!
    I dont faint when i see blood but when i get my blood taken i cant look at the needle… ahhh

  10. This is the reason I could never be a doctor. My own blood doesn’t bother me, but I’m not good with other people’s! So kudos to you all for doing what I cannot 🙂

  11. For some reason I don’t get nervous when I cut myself or see blood…but when I get blood drawn, watching it go in the tube out of my arm creeps me out.

    I guess I can oddly handle accidental blood…not prescribed and planned blood?

  12. I don’t mind blood, but I do look away when I have any drawn. I think it’s the idea of a needle going in my that’s more scary.
    All those eats look yummy, especially the oats – I’m hungry now!

  13. Loved your tofu dish. Looked amazing!
    I almost passed out last weekend actually- I cut my finger when slicing a lime. Wasn’t a deep cut but got super woozy. Give you a lot of credit! 🙂

  14. Hope you get to chill a bit; I’ve been having a real flat-out mission week too, not good!
    That poor girl… I have to have loads of blood tests so it’s lucky I don’t mind but feel for her 🙂
    Love the look of that tofu and that whole dinner looks great.

  15. Aww poor girl! I get blood work done all of the time so it doesn’t bother me, but I can understand her reaction!

  16. i’m fine with blood….good job in my profession!

  17. My own blood doesn’t bother me…but, I imagine if I saw A LOT of someone else’s blood it probably would! ps-I love coconut!

  18. That soup sounds so good! I bet the lentils give it a great thick texture 🙂 YUM!

  19. Sounds like such a delicious day of eats. The sight of my own blood scares me very much. I cannot take it. Blood in general bothers me. I work at a dentist (receptionist) and as soon as I see blood I run away lol. I never fainted but I have come very close. As a business student we don’t really do any cool experiments sadly 😦

  20. Your dessert looks delicious! Such a nutritious form of study fuel 🙂

  21. I can’t handle blood AT ALL. Not even my own blood. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve passed out when I’ve gotten hurt or had to have blood drawn. It’s ridiculous! I have so much respect for people like you who can work around it and not immediately feel light headed.

    Everything looks delicious! Especially the soup…mmm…<3

  22. I would probably faint too, I’m so squeamish! Banana bread oats sound delicious, and I love coconut. Your dinner sounds and looks delicious 🙂
    I’m not really afraid of my own blood, being a woman you kind of have to learn to deal with it, although I don’t know how I’d react to seeing it in large quantities!

  23. That banana bread batter sounds awesome. What would you recommend as a replaceent for the coconut milk? Would almond milk work but just in smaller quantities because it is thinner? Thanks 🙂

  24. I definitely don’t like to see my blood; I have been known to faint in the past! I’m studying food science at uni but since I’m in my first year most of my experiments haven’t been too exciting yet. However, I just found out that in one of my practicals coming up we get to experiment with making yogurt! So I am looking forward to that 🙂

All of your comments make me smile :-)

