New starts and new beginnings

Hello lovies!  It’s been a while huh?!  I hope you are all well. 

I’ve been super busy, but have been making a real effort to make sure that I fit all of my work outs in:

Monday: 30 minutes of intervals on the treadmill and cross trainer plus strength workout 1

Tuesday: 3 mile treadmill interval run and 30 minutes of intervals on the bike and step machine and adaptive motion trainer.

Wednesday: 45 minutes of cardio across the machines plus abs and core workout

Thursday: 15 minutes of speed intervals on the cross trainer and 1 hour of Body Pump

Friday: 15 minutes of intervals on the cross trainer, strength workout 2 , 5 minute cool down on the bike

Sunday: yoga and pilates podcasts 

Despite being a busy bee I’ve also been making sure that I have been eating some tasty eats full of veggies, healthy nutrients and all that jazz.

DSCF2226

 Amy’s Kitchen lentil and vegetable soup with a chopped pear and kiwis

DSCF2225

Mixed vegetable stir fry with soya chunks and pineapple in a chilli sauce

DSCF2233

Roasted salmon in a lemon and coriander sauce with wholewheat cous cous and roasted vegetables

IMG_1228

Study fuel: Food Doctor fig an mango fruit bar

IMG_1185

 A luscious smoothie: pineapple, frozen strawberries and a banana

I’ve had such a busy week full of some amazing stuff.  Everything is happening at lightening speed.  Last Sunday I had a job interview and on Monday I got a call offering me the job, which obviously I accepted.  It means more hours and more money, which is perfect for an impending wedding.  It means working four days a week, which means it still gives me time to finish my thesis on my days off. Handing in my notice at my current job yesterday was sad as I’ve been there for 7 years, but I am so excited about my new role and new challenges ahead.

Today we went to a wedding fayre 10 minutes from my house to get some ideas and inspiration.  It was quite a small fayre, but there was still lots to see and gave us lots to think about.  My mum came along too and it was nice to see her get involved, especially when I tried on a few wedding dresses.  It was so much fun and I definitely know what style of wedding dress that I’m on the look out for now. 

Well I better get going I have a very important presentation to give tomorrow- more on that another time!

How was your weekend? 

Have you ever had to give in your notice before? Were you sad or more excited about your new role?

15 Comments

Filed under EATS!

15 responses to “New starts and new beginnings

  1. Katy Aubrey-Gray

    Congrats on the new job!!

    I’ve handed my notice in twice before, and it is sad to do if you’re happy in that place, but it’s also the start of something new which is exciting!!! X

  2. beautyinthebalance

    Ahhhh you tried on some wedding dresses! That is SO exciting! I’m glad you have an idea of what you’re looking for and I hope you find your perfect dress soon!

    Congrats on the new job! Brilliant start to the year 🙂

  3. Sweet Potato Sarah

    That’s so exciting about your job! Will you still be in retail?
    Can’t wait to see some wedding dress peeks by the way 😀

  4. Jenny Bridger

    Congratulations – please now do a post on job interview/application tips etc 🙂 Last year i applied for 50 & got 3 interviews 😦

    I’ve never had to hand my notice in i’ve normally left through ill health – actually thats not true when i was 17, after taking a year out i went back to 6th form to try A levels again & i had been working in the Early Learning Centre. Playing with toys – what more could you want! And actually the ladies wanted me to think about applying for assistant/deputy manager when she left, which was lovely but i thought A levels would be more important for the future – I still never got them though. But i was sad when i left there & i still have the bear they gave me.

  5. So exciting! We all reach a point where it’s just time for bigger and better things, 7 years at a job is a long time indeed. I haven’t done anything but school (and random part-time work), so I’ve never really had to give notice, other than at the end of a summer before going back to school.

  6. Congratulations on the new job 🙂 I have only given notice for jobs I did as a student/ at school- I was sad to leave one place because it was a family run bakery and really lovely, but all the other jobs I was glad to leave. Oh, and when I finished my teaching degree I was working in a little supermarket and they were convinced that I was not actually leaving but would come back and work weekends because I was only teaching in the week and so free at the weekends! So that was a little weird as even on my last day they were quite honestly thinking I would come back the next week!

  7. yey well done!! I have a new job too, really can’t wait to hand my notice in as hate my curent job.

  8. Well done on the new job! Is it similar to what you’ve been doing, or to do with the research work you’ve been doing? I think every-time I’ve had a new job its a mix of missing everyone and excitement for the new job, except for the last time where I couldn’t wait to leave Asda and get a job which used my skills!

  9. Congratulations on the new job! I was really sad when I left my last job but I think that’s better than being at a job that you can’t wait to leave!
    That Food Doctor bar looks really yummy, I’m going to have to buy some for my snack drawer at work. x

  10. Congrats on your new job! In most cases I’ve been happy to move on so apart from missing people its been all positive. Sounds like your enjoying the wedding preparations!

  11. Mmm, yum! The salmon and cous cous looks delicious 🙂

  12. Congrats on the new job!!! 🙂 Also that Fig and Mango bar looks so tasty! 🙂

  13. Congrats on the new job!! Your food looks yummy, I especially like that fruit bar and fruit smoothie 🙂

  14. I cried both times leaving my jobs. One at a gym and one as a waitress. No idea WHY I cried cause I honestly wasn’t happy at either..but I couldn’t help it! I felt like I was betraying them in some way…

All of your comments make me smile :-)

