New Girl!

Happy Friday friends!  Thank you so much for your wonderful messages on my last post.  It really meant a lot to me- you guys are just amazing! 😀

I hope you have all had a great week!  My week has pretty much been about getting used to my new job and routine.  I’m really enjoying the place at the moment because everything is so new and fresh, completely different to what I’m used to after spending 7 years at my previous job. 

It has been hard trying to fit everything in though.  I still have 2 Saturdays left at my old job to work out my notice, plus my thesis to write.  Also Alfie has some time off work so I have feeling a little guilty if I have somehow neglecting him by going off to work out after a long day at work. 

However, I have managed to fit in some workouts here and there early on in the week:

Monday: AM 30 minutes of intervals on the treadmill and cross trainer plus strength workout 1, 5 minute cool down on the bike

Tuesday: AM 20 minutes of blogilates podcasts

Wednesday: AM 1 hour of cardio including 30 minutes of intervals on the treadmill and 30 minutes on the cross trainer, step machine and bike (10 minutes each)

Thursday: AM 30 Day Shred level 1

Friday: PM MTV yoga video

As you can see I have been heavily reliant on fitness videos and podcasts, just because my schedule has been pretty crazy.  The idea was to do at least half of the DVD/podcast workout in the morning and the rest after work.  To be honest I have been so tired that I just haven’t found the extra energy to work out in the evening.  Instead I have just been cosying up with Alfie watching TV and movies, which has been great. 

Other factors such as needing to be at work for 9 am and my gym not opening until 7.15 am have also played a part in my fitness routine changes.  My working hours will change from week to week though and once I’ve worked my notice I will have some more free time to get to the gym for some cardio.  Mixing my routine up with the DVDs and podcasts has been a nice change. 

Getting used to my new working routine has also meant that meant that I have to adopt some new habit to help my mornings run more smoothly.  I have been religiously making up huge batches of lunches to take to work with me.  Most of them have been lasting two to three days, just like Phil’s bean and halloumi salad, which I adapted slightly…so good!

IMG_1249[1]

I’ve so been relying on huge smoothies on the go and handfuls of Kashi cereal to eat in the car on the way to work to save me some time:

IMG_1256[1]

Banana, strawberries, blueberries, strawberry hemp protein powder, rice milk, vanilla stevia…yummy!

IMG_1248

Also making meals in the evening that will make lots of leftovers has also been handy.  Getting home for 7pm means that I’m never really in the mood too cook so on my days off I have been making up meals preparing me for my days at work.  It’s so worth the time and effort! 😀

My new job just means that I just need to adapt and change my routine a little. It will mean that it will be more mixed and varied, which will be great. Also I’m guessing less cardio will be involved on some weeks too, but I’m not going to take that as a negative.  Like Laura it is a scary prospect of working out less, but what I’m working towards far outweighs my demons.  I’m working towards my future to marry the man that I love and to build a future together.  Oh yes!  Definitely worth it I think! 😀

How have you had to adapt your routine when you started a new job?

Did you have to adapt your workout routine too?  How did that make you feel?  How have you dealt with this?

9 Comments

Filed under EATS!

9 responses to “New Girl!

  1. kabochafashionista

    Awh lovie, you are doing AMAZING to adapt to your new job and finding a balance in a new routine, but you’re right, it is definitely worth it! I think it’s things like this in life that make you realise what REALLY brings you happiness and although exercise is great for keeping you healthy and lifting your mood, it is not the most important thing in life and even just a little in the week is enough to keep you well and fit, especially when you eat so healthy! I’ve been learning this slowly recently when things in life have taken priority over exercise and I’ve realised that actually, it’s not all that bad because I’m happy and have people I love 🙂
    I’m going to have to be adapting my workout routine when I start interning in London pretty soon as I will have a 9-5 job for 5 days a week for the first time for me. Yes I’m a little anxious and scared, but like you I know that I can still keep a balance and it’s not the end of the world 🙂

  2. What an exciting time this is for you! Of course it will take a while for you to get used to a new routine, but it sounds like you have prepared adequately for it – I think as long as you’re flexible you’ll be fine, as it’s ok to have down time too.

    When I was working in an office in London and doing the commute on the train, plus 2 hours of walking all up to and from the station each day, I found I didn’t need to run as much to keep fit! It was all incidental activity and that made it easier somewhat because I didn’t have to carve out time on top of my working day and could do long runs, etc. at the weekends. It’s all about working out what works for you, and making sure you get some rest and relaxation in there as well 🙂

    I’m so making that shepherds pie….once my oven is fixed 😦 xx

  3. I think you’re coping with the change in routine brilliantly. I must admit I would struggle a lot – I am utterly terrible at organising myself.

    Hopefully all those antioxidants in your delicious smoothie will power you through the weeks 🙂

    xxx

  4. I think the key is to be prepared- like the way you are making meals on your days off for when you are really busy. And working full time is hard, so don’t feel bad about “only” working out once a day- that is still plenty anyway especially when you are rushing around with a busy job. I am sure once you have had a few weeks you will get the hang of your new routine.

  5. It’s a bugger trying to fit everything in… I don’t do “proper” cooking in the week either because by the time I’ve got back from work and doing the horses and done some sort of workout (not every day) I’ve got no energy left! It’s hard but as you say, the job’s good, you’ve got your life with Alfie to look forward to – and you’ll soon get into a new routine I reckon 🙂

  6. Like you said I can really relate to the changes in routine! I’m just trying to focus on all of the positives instead of worrying about things. I think its probably better for me in the long run anyway because working out like this is going to be more sustainable in the long run so I might as well get used to it! I think its also more difficult in the winter, at least when its warmer and lighter you can nip out for a quick run if you like. Hope you have a great weekend x

  7. I can totally relate to adjusting to new routines! Last year when I was on placement everything was very regimented in the sense that meals and lunches would be packed in advance, I’d hit the gym early before work (it opened at 6, thank god!) or after sometimes depending on what classes were on etc. TBH, I prefer having a looser schedule now that I’m a student again but it still requires a lot of planning ahead in order to fit everything in. I’m sure you’ll be fine once you get the hang of things – and what a wonderful thing to be working towards indeed! Love your positivity girl 🙂 x

  8. Keep up the great work and setting a routine for yourself. I am all about cooking things in advance to make my life easier. Take Care, BAM

  9. you’re doing great! I’m a nightmare when it comes to change but everything that’s meant to be will work out for the best 🙂 go Jem!!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

