Butternut Squash Thai Coconut Soup

Recently I have been making big batches of soup simply because they are quick and easy to make, can be made in large volumes, freeze well and make perfect healthy lunches to take to work.

IMG_1487

As I stared at my butternut squash and wondered what kind of soup to make with it. Would it be a straight up uncomplicated butternut squash soup or something with a bit of a kick like curried butternut squash soup. But no it was neither of those as I fancied something a little bit different.

IMG_1497

And since I had some coconut milk in the cupboard screaming to be used I just knew that it had to feature in this soup and I’m so glad that it did.

IMG_1495

*Butternut Squash Thai Coconut Soup*

 

Ingredients (vegetarian, makes 3 large portions)

  • 1 large butternut squash

  • 1 medium sized onion

  • 1 thumb sized piece of ginger minced

  • 1 clove of garlic minced

  • 1/2 tsp of dried chilli flakes (optional but advised)

  • juice of 1 lime

  • 1/2 a can of light coconut milk

  • vegetable stock

Firstly, roast the butternut squash in the oven on a medium setting.  When making soup I usually do this the lazy way by sticking the whole squash in the oven without peeling it.  This way the skin is easier to remove and the flesh of the squash becomes nice and soft.  Once the squash is cooked through and prepared set aside.

In a pan in a little cooking oil, sautΓ© the onions on a low heat and cook until softened.  Added the garlic and ginger and cook for a further 2 minutes minding that the garlic doesn’t burn.  

Place the cooked butternut squash, onions, ginger and garlic into a blender.  Add the coconut milk, lime juice and vegetable stock. The amount of vegetable stock that you will add will vary depending on our desired consistency and the quality of your blender.
Blend the ingredients together until smooth and return to a pan warm through for a further 5-10 minutes.  Alternatively, add all of the ingredients to a pan and blend using a hand held blender.

Serve and enjoy!

IMG_1505

This is definitely one of the best soups that I have ever made.  Although I am a stickler for anything with coconut milk in it! πŸ™‚  I’m so glad that I made a huge batch to stock up my freezer, which should keep me going for a while.

What is your favourite way you use butternut squash?
Do you have any alternative ways to use it in a soup?

24 Comments

Filed under Recipes

24 responses to “Butternut Squash Thai Coconut Soup

  1. That looks lovely! Reminds me a bit of my Thai green sweet potato and leek soup, the sweet and spicy flavours go so well together. Thanks for the tip on just roasting the whole squash, much easier than chopping in when your going to be blending it anyway!

  2. Mmm…looks yummy! I can never get soup right but I might have to give this a go! Xx

  3. Mmmm, that sounds lovely πŸ™‚ My Mum made a sweet potato and coconut milk soup last week which sounded similar. I didn’t get to try it though sadly! Will have to make my own πŸ™‚

    I like making butternut squash enchiladas, or risotto – anything with the butternut squash/goats cheese combo really!

  4. YUM! Have you ever tad Thai iced tea? It’s like ice tea but with coconut milk! It’s crazy good!

  5. Sounds like a delicious soup x x

  6. I love coconut milk and the spice and the sweet is a great combo. Booked Marked. Take care, BAM

  7. I love thai anything and a big fan of soup and stew. This sure sounds comforting. Typically, I make curry squash soup or toss in with with cranberries, quinoa, and mixed greens–whatever I have in my pantry/frig. It’s a good staple, my quick go-to ingredient. I will definitely give this a try. Thanks for the recipe πŸ˜€

  8. It sounds really good- I have never added coconut milk to soup, but I like the sound of it.
    Don’t you have to pierce the squash first? I was always told that it could explode in the oven if you don’t pierce it first (because the air in the cavity with the seeds expands as it heats up). I like a butternut/ carrot/ sweet potato combo in soup too. πŸ™‚

  9. This looks great… I rarely add coconut milk to soups and for flavor, but I should more, it is so tasty!

  10. I can’t wait to make this!

  11. Just pinterested to try – making this as soon as I get some more butternut squash!

  12. Pingback: Cherry and Coconut Tofu Pudding and GIVEAWAY winners! « Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

