Cherry and Coconut Tofu Pudding and GIVEAWAY winners!

Last week when the Spring like weather graced us in the UK my usual winter food eating habits went straight out of the window.  I was in the mood for salads, fruit bowls full of berries and lots of smoothies.

Breakfast for me is one of my most favourite meals of the day and should be celebrated in style and include royal eats that are only fit for a King.  Some past royal breakfast offerings…

 *Triple Chocolate Nut Green Smoothie*

*Chocolate Spelt Pancakes*

*Pumpkin Pie Sundae*

But last week I didn’t fancy any of these.  I wanted something that was less fussy and reminded me of summer, but also made for a delicious breakfast.

IMG_1600

And since I still had a tin of coconut milk in the fridge after making my Butternut Squash Thai Coconut Soup I knew it had to be involved somehow…

IMG_1592  IMG_1604

*Cherry and Coconut Tofu Pudding*

Ingredients (vegetarian, makes 3 small servings)

  • 1 cup of frozen cherries
  • 1/2 a pack of firm silken tofu (I uses Nori-mu)
  • 1/3 cup of full fat coconut milk
  • 4 drops of stevia or any other sweetener you prefer
  • 1 cup of rice milk (or any other milk alternative)

All you need is a food processor or hand held blender to whip it all up.  First blitz up the frozen cherries in the food processor.  I had to add some rice milk to get things moving.  Once the cherries are broken down add the tofu and coconut milk and mix until everything is well combined and creamy.  Add enough sweetener to taste.

IMG_1596 Serve and enjoy!

This also stores really well.  I still have some of this stored in the fridge and have been putting it on top of bowls of chopped fruit and cereal.  It makes a great alternative to yoghurt and you still get a great protein kick from the tofu. 

I’m going to have so much fun playing around with different flavour combinations and have already thought of some more that I want to try out such as apple and cinnamon, blueberry and coconut, mango, pineapple and coconut for a tropical hit.

IMG_1601

Before I go I have to announce the winners of my Pukka Herbs tea giveaway…

image imageimage

image The winners are Jade, Marjike, Shannon and Jenny. Could you lovely ladies please email me your delivery addresses so that I can send out your prizes.  Thank you! 😀

What are your current flavour combinations?

What do you prefer to eat in hotter weather for breakfast as opposed to winter?

26 Comments

Filed under Giveaway, Recipes

26 responses to “Cherry and Coconut Tofu Pudding and GIVEAWAY winners!

  1. omg that tofu pudding looks awesome!!

  2. that sundae looks amazing!

  3. It looks lovely- I love the idea of the cherry and coconut combination.

  4. Thank you!!!

    Other than when it’s very cold, breakfasts are normally cold for me. Not sure i count my soft boiled eggs as a hot breakfast – they don’t stay hot for that long 🙂

    Those pictures just look so yummy – i wish things looked that good when i made them.

  5. Winter always equals porridge for me, whereas spring/summer it’s smoothie time. Although I do very much like the idea of combining coconut milk with tofu – very light and fresh.

    Flavour combinations…does chocolate with everything count? Actually I like dark cocoa flavours with berries or cherries. Mango and cashews sounds good to me too – I had a mango green smoothie with cashew topping this morning 🙂

    xxx

  6. I love cool things like yogurt messes in the summer. They’re much more appealing than oatmeal or pancakes! Although..I’ll still eat those all the time, too.

  7. Yummy-ness! Those puddings look awesome and protein packed!

  8. I bet that tasted amazing! I love smoothies all year round but I think you know that! I’ve got a bit of a craving for overnight oats soon too!

  9. I’ve gone smoothie mad! Yours looks soooooo good! x x

  10. I am strange and pretty much eat porridge all year round, I just find that cereals don’t have the same staying power as hot oats!!

  11. Yum, I love coconut milk! I saw a post somewhere recently about putting a can in the fridge and then whipping the thickened milk into a cream. I’ll have to let you know how that goes!

  12. Cherry and coconut are such a good combination!! I would add chocolate too, to make it like a cherry ripe… yum.

  13. Thank you, Jemma!!
    Love your site and can’t keep away 😉

    My favourite brekkie when it warms up is usually just the same as winter ….oats!! But this year I want to change that up and make lots of luscious smoothies!!

    Keep up the great work 🙂
    Jade C.

  14. I really must make that tofu pudding! 🙂

All of your comments make me smile :-)

