Shopping, hair and a curry

Happy Friday folks!  Not long now till the weekend, which I am very glad for after a busy and very productive week.

Normally when I have a day off from work I spend my days studying and writing, but after this weeks major break through of finishing my first draft of my thesis I thought I would treat myself a little, especially since I am working this weekend  too.  Instead I went for a pampering session at the hairdresser’s where I was really looking forward to the head massage when they wash your hair- love that part!  

Afterwards I headed for a spot of retail therapy where I bagged these lovelies from H&M:

IMG_2096

I am loving the pretty floral prints around at the moment and the simple and flowing lines.   I also have a current obsession with bright coloured skinny jeans at the moment, but thought I would ease myself in by buying a neutral pair that will go with everything first.  Recently I have been thinking about whether what I am looking to buy will actually go with other things in my wardrobe before purchasing to get more use out of them. 

It was so great to actually spend sometime on myself for a change and spending some of my hard earned cash on myself instead of utility bills and savings.  I think some “Me” time every now and then can do the world of good.

Now, completely switching topics a lot of you have been asking for the recipe for the Coconut and Lime Curry that I posted in my Sunday Catch Up post at the weekend.  I actually stumbled upon this recipe when I was searching for fish recipes the other week and really liked, which I then adapted and made it vegetarian.

So here it goes…

IMG_2060

Ingredients (serves 4, vegetarian)

  • 1 chopped onion

  • and inch of fresh ginger grated

  • 1 clove of grated garlic

  • 1 chopped red and yellow pepper

  • 1/2 a head of a medium sized broccoli

  • 1/2 cup of chestnut mushrooms

  • handfuls of spinach

  • 1 tbsp. of madras curry powder

  • 1 tsp. of turmeric

  • 1/2 tsp. of cumin

  • 1 tsp. of ground coriander

  • 1/2 tsp. of dried chilli flakes (optional)

  • 2 tbsps. of soy sauce

  • the juice of 2 limes

  • a can of full  fat coconut milk

  • Seasonings

Fry the onions in a little oil until softened.  Add the garlic and the ginger and cook for a few minutes being sure not to burn the garlic.  Pour in all of the spices and cook out all of the spices-keep stirring so they do not catch and burn.

Next added the aubergine and cook until tender. At this point you may find that things may start to stick to the pan so add a little water if needed. When the aubergine starts to soften add the rest of the vegetables until tender.

Lastly pour in the can of coconut milk, soy sauce,  and lime juice and allow the curry to simmer for at least 15 minutes so it reduces slightly and becomes thicker and creamy.  Season to taste.

Enjoy!

This was super delicious served with soba noodles.  It would also serve as a great curry for meat, fish and tofu too.  It was was a throw everything in the pan kind of dish, my favourite cooking style.  There was also plenty for left overs too! Smile

How do you treat yourself when you have a much needed “me” day?

What are you up to this weekend?

15 Comments

Filed under Recipes

15 responses to “Shopping, hair and a curry

  1. The tops you got are so pretty! Thank you for the curry recipe, it does look lovely, however i am a bit of a wimp when it comes to spice… madras curry powder scares me!!!

  2. Love those tops from H&M! I like getting my head massages at the hair dressers too!

  3. runningcupcake

    I love it when they wash your hair at the hairdressers- that alone makes it worth the money! 🙂 I really need to get my hair cut too- you have reminded me 🙂

  4. Yummm that looks so good! AND it’s vegetarian which makes me even happier 😉 Hehe

  5. I love those tops! So springy and summery! I’m dying for a pair of mint green skinnys! Maybe this weekend? 🙂 That food looks so tasty!

  6. Everyone does need me time and this sounds like a perfect day after a stressful week, brilliant that you got the thesis draft done!
    I love the hairwashing bit of having my hair done; if I won the lottery, I think I’d pay to have my hair washed at a salon every time 🙂
    Gorgeous shirts and the curry looks great.

  7. Those shirts are so cute! I just love H&M!!!

    That recipe looks delicious! Can’t wait to give that a try!

    Hope you have a great weekend!!! 🙂

  8. I am overdue for a little me time (and retail therapy!).

All of your comments make me smile :-)

