WIAW: Lazy/Productive

 

Hi all!  I’m having a great time this week actually and  using my days off from work as days off rather than write my thesis as I wait to hear back from my supervisor with corrections.  It means that I have been able to do other things that I haven’t been able to do for a while such as as huge cook ups in the kitchen.
Peas and Crayons

Now since it’s Wednesday it means that it time for some WIAW action.  This week I am going to share all of my foodie highlights and goings on from Monday, if you don’t mind.

This Monday was another early morning wake up call as I had to drop Alfie off at the station.  When I got back I got some house work done and had a pre-workout snack of a banana and some Pukka Revitalise tea and a few hours later headed to the gym and did my  Monday morning workout.

IMG_2135[1]

When I got home I showered and actually changed into fresh PJs, well just because- why not?  πŸ™‚  I did intend on doing some uni work of some description, but nothing too mentally draining.  You know the kind of work that you can do on the sofa with the TV turned on.  Before starting my work I made a breakfast up of berry spelt puffs, oats, strawberries, a solitary plum that needed using, sunflower seeds, coconut and hemp milk with a pot of Earl Grey.  Yum!

IMG_2110[1]

After getting some work done I decided to get in the kitchen and cooked a Broccoli and Mushroom Lentil Soup for lunches, some Orange and Chocolate Protein Truffles for snacking and cooked up some brown rice for the week.  It was great spending some time in the kitchen cooking even if it was only a short while- all of the recipes will be coming up on the blog soon.

All of that cooking stirred my appetite so I made a gorgeous salad for lunch:

IMG_2114[1]

It included spinach, mixed salad leaves, cucumber, a small avocado, an apple, walnuts, raisins and strawberry balsamic dressing and salt.  The walnuts and avocado together was such a great combination, just got to love those healthy fats.  And as always the sweet and salty combination always works like a dream.

In the afternoon I took a break from my thesis and started to work on my wedding invitation suite, which I have almost finished!  I really like the way that it has turned out and cannot wait to get them all printed. 

Afternoon snackage came in the form of 2 large oranges and one of the Orange and Chocolate Protein Truffles that I had made earlier:

IMG_2123[1]

They are so fudgy and dense with a hit of orange, just like my favourite chocolate orange Nakd bars…delicious!

For dinner I marinated some tofu in sesame oil, soy sauce and ginger and baked it until the outside was crisp.  I served it with some brown rice with stir fried vegetables and made a coconut and peanut flour sauce.

IMG_2136[1]

The sauce was just lovely and the rice had a kind of loose risotto consistency, so it was actually a lot lighter than I expected.

IMG_2130[1]

Dessert was a freezer raid and I found a bag of my Guilt-Free Ginger Bread Cookies and had a couple of those and a few more with some chai tea.

Despite my rather lazy approach to Monday by spending most of it in my PJs it was actually quite productive than I expected, with getting lots crossed off my list.  I even had time to do some cooking in between which was just great!  Normally to be productive work wise at home I have go get ready as if I was going to work so my mind set is all geared up for a super productive day, so I was very pleased that I got quite a bit of uni done in my PJs. Open-mouthed smile

Have you had a cook up session in the kitchen recently?  What did you make?

If you are working from home do you have to go through your normal routine of getting ready in the morning to be productive?

27 Comments

Filed under EATS!, WIAW

27 responses to “WIAW: Lazy/Productive

  1. oh the tofu is like smooth as sauce!!:)

  2. Those protein truffles look so good!

  3. I need to get into the habit of bulk batch cooking, as with work me eating has gone out the window, i’m snacking far too much and i really need to get back into shape now. I tried on sunday to recreate a dish a had at Tibits http://www.tibits.co.uk/e/restaurants-take-away/heddon-street/

    It was a mushroom caponata/ratatouile type thing with button mushroom. And although my final result was nice (after cleaning up the oven where it had all spilt over) it just isn’t the same. It was nice with some brown rice & home grown purple sprouting last night though πŸ™‚

  4. your chocolate orange truffle sounds lovely. i havent had much chance to cook in batch for a while. although I did make pizza last week.

  5. Sounds like a lovely relaxing productive day! I love spending the day in (fresh) PJs, it helps me unwind and not stress so much. Your second breakfast looks delicious, I love your teapot – so pretty! I work from home throughout my uni holidays and on days when I have no lectures and I find that I’m more productive if I get out of bed early enough and strangely if I take the time to do my makeup, I think it just makes me feel more awake!

  6. I do like the look of Earl Grey tea. Definitely something for me to try soon πŸ™‚

    I’m never very productive and the day always seems to slip away from me – I wish I had your drive and determination!

    xxx

  7. Okay so that tea cup is so pretty! I loveeee stuff like that πŸ™‚ I am not working from home, but I know if I were I would have to get everythign set for the day in order to be productive, otherwise it wouldn’t happen! The truffle sounds rather tasty m’dear!

  8. Bec

    Oooh, can’t wait for the protein truffle recipe. They look absolutely delicious. I love lazy days which turn out to be quite productive – they make me feel better when I undoubtedly turn a supposedly productive day into a lazy one.

  9. I have been baking made lately loaf cakes are my current favourite! If I am at home I tend to just keep my comfy clothes on I love not having to put make up on and make an effort for the outside world! Hope your enjoying your time off x

  10. I always have a big cook up session pretty much every week! Looks like you had a nice day, I’ve been having a fair few pj days recently too πŸ™‚

  11. What a beautiful breakfast photo! Such a cute teapot. So Alice in Wonderland πŸ™‚

  12. Sometimes a lazy day is much needed! πŸ™‚ As always, your eats look fantastic!

  13. That tea pot is so pretty πŸ™‚ I like to have my PJ’s on in the evening, but as soon as I wake up I want to get dressed- I never have a PJ day like some of my friends. But a productive day is the best type of day, whether in PJ’s or not

  14. Pingback: May Goals. « LoveLiveAndLearn

All of your comments make me smile :-)

