Sunday Catch Up: Rainy Days

Hello!  I hope you have all been enjoying your weekend!

The weather forecast on the radio on Friday for the weekend was and I quote “…wet and rubbish!”  Never has the weather report been so correct.  I love the sunshine but sometimes it is nice to have a bit of a change, although at the moment I cannot seem to remember a day where it hasn’t rained in a while. This grey, cloudy wet weather hasn’t dampened my mood though as I seem to be basking in positivity at the moment.

So this week I have really enjoyed my workouts have been pretty much the norm and I have really been enjoying my new routine:

Monday:  1 hour of yoga podcasts from Yoga download.com (split into AM and PM workouts)
Tuesday: Strength work out A with 20 minutes of HIITS on the bike and the cross trainer
Wednesday: REST
Thursday:
Strength work out B with 20 minutes of HIITS on the bike and the
Friday: 45 minutes of interval training on the treadmill, bike and cross trainer (20 minutes treadmill 10 minutes each on bike and cross trainer) plus an ab and core workout
Saturday: REST
Sunday:   1 hour Body Pump class

This week my gym had a special launch of the new releases of RPM Spin, Body Attack and Body Pump.  I went along to the Body Pump class and really enjoyed the new release.  There are a few new moves that I have been introduced which makes it a bit more challenging

I have definitely been enjoying the extra time that I had this week. On Thursday I decided to spend some quality time in the kitchen and after seeing Tam’s loaf baking action recent bake a mixed fruit loaf based on the recipe for my Cinnamon Fruit and Nut Quick Bread.

IMG_2177[1]

I had some this morning toasted and topped with vegan spread, strawberry jam with a chopped apple and a pear…amazing!

IMG_2190[1]

Last night I made a quick meal of whole meal pasta, with baked salmon, tomatoes, broccoli, mushrooms, peppers and spinach topped with pesto.

IMG_2186[1]

Sometimes you cannot beat a bowl of pasta!

IMG_2167[1]

Herbed socca with stir fried veggies and greens and kidney beans in coconut milk made the perfect Thursday night dinner- really delicious!

IMG_2179[1]

I also enjoyed another lovely dinner using kidney beans with spinach topped with stir fried courgettes, mushrooms, butternut squash and peppers and brown rice with green pesto stirred through.

My breakfasts have been pretty awesome too:

IMG_2176[1]

Oats made with chai tea with a chopped apple, coconut, raisins and hemp milk.  The perfect breakfast to start a cold and rainy day.

IMG_2151[1]

A frozen berry smoothie with a banana, grapes and strawberry hemp protein powder topped with chocolate covered sunflower seeds. 

Today other than going to my Body Pump class I have just been relaxing on the sofa and watching movies with Alfie, generally just having a lazy day.  We have just finished eating our Sunday lunch:

IMG_2194[1]

I had vegetarian sausages, roasted sweet potatoes, a Yorkshire pudding, and stir fried vegetables with vegetable gravy.  Definitely my kind of Sunday lunch!

How do you like spending rainy days?  For me I think its all about lots of DVDs and baking.

22 Comments

Filed under EATS!

22 responses to “Sunday Catch Up: Rainy Days

  1. Rainy days are all about DVDs, pyjamas and blankets!

  2. Rainy days for me was Body Balance & going swimming with mum after. How do you like the new releases? I’ve only done attack a couple of times as i’ve been marathon training, tapering, racing & finally resting for the last month so have just got back to it. I love Side Flicks (nick name in the studio is ‘Flick Chick’) but i wasn’t immediately in love with this attack release – Unlike the release with DISCO in it πŸ™‚

    And Pump? – i love hearing other people’s thoughts on the releases πŸ™‚

  3. Rainy days are perfect for baking. Although we spent today out and about- out for lunch, had to go to the shops, then the afternoon at a garden centre! But a walk for some fresh air and then home to the warm and dry for baking is perfect for me.

  4. Mostly I spend rainy days looking broodily out of the window and glaring at the rain πŸ˜‰ Or getting soaked while attempting to run.

    Your rainbow coloured smoothie would definitely brighten up even the most stormy of days, though.

    xxx

  5. The dinner looks like a perfect one for the weather we’ve been having – although we did get about an hour of (weak) sun today! That bread looks fab πŸ™‚

  6. The weather has been terrible lately! I made the most of the rainy days as an excuse to spend my weekend inside catching up with TV and reading The Hunger Games. Your breakfast bread looks so good! x

  7. That bread looks lovely! I’m exactly like you, rainy days for me are movies and baking days!

  8. Great job on the workouts! It looks like you have a really great balance of workouts each week… I want to try a yoga download too! That salad looks just so pretty ha, loving the colors!
    Rainy days= lazy days… lots of computer and tv time for me πŸ™‚

  9. I only like rain when I planned on staying home. There’s nothing cozier than the sound of rain when you are sleeping in or lounging around with a good book and hot drink!

  10. Agree.. I love baking when it’s cold and wet outside. Yesterday I made a sugar, gluten and dairy free carrot cake.. yum!

  11. Jan

    Where I can I buy those yummy looking chocolate covered sunflower seeds?? My kiddies would love them. Xx

All of your comments make me smile :-)

