WIAW: still making an effort

Happy WIAW folks!

This week the week has just zoomed by, but I think a lot of that has been that I have been working more hours this week and haven’t really done much else: eat, sleep, work!

Peas and Crayons

For this week’s WIAW I want to share my eats and goings on of Monday.  I have been nursing a bit of a cold since Sunday.  Usually when I have a cold I don’t eat particularly well or make much of an effort, but I this time round I don’t think I did badly.

I really wasn’t feeling strong enough to work out so I just went straight in to breakfast with a bowl of my favourite muesli, hemp milk, a chopped pear and some dark chocolate dreams.

IMG_2200[1]

I love pear and chocolate together, a nice treat in the morning!

Mid morning at work I got an injection of vitamin C with a huge orange at my desk.

IMG_2202[1]

At lunch I was craving a mega salad for another boost of vitamins:

IMG_2204[1]

I had packed a salad made from rocket, spinach, lambs lettuce, tomatoes, cucumber, avocado, walnuts and raisins.  Unfortunately, I had left my strawberry balsamic vinegar dressing at home, but it still tasted pretty awesome.  Afterwards I ate some Thai sweet chilli rice cake snacks which were also delicious.

IMG_2205[1]

After a busy afternoon at work I ate some grapes and some melon.  I love snacking on fresh fruit like this, it makes me feel all summery!

IMG_2206[1]

When I got home I hit the cupboards, fridge and the hob and made a wonderful Thai green vegetable curry using aubergine and other veggies with a shop bought paste and full fat coconut milk.  I also used some left over wholemeal spaghetti from the weekend as noodles and they worked great.

Later in the evening I was feeling a little snacky so had another orange and some spiced almonds (unpictured) and then got a much needed early night.

I hate having a cold as it really gets me down.  All I want to do is curl up in a ball and stay in bed, but knowing that delicious food is coming my way does help a lot with coping with a cold. 

Glad to say that I am feeling much better now though! Open-mouthed smile

D0 you feel that making an effort with your food even well you are ill helps you cope a little better?  What do you like to make when you have a cold?

24 Comments

Filed under EATS!, WIAW

24 responses to “WIAW: still making an effort

  1. I think that it does help to make extra effort when I’m ill, and making sure I get some liquid sunshine – fresh juice!!
    Great post 🙂 hope you feel better soon!!

  2. Dohh I am sorry you are feeling a bit sick right now, but your meals are certainly going to help you feel better! I like snacking on fresh fruit too, just so yummy and like you said, summery 🙂
    Feel better asap!

  3. I like to have lots of smoothies when I am not feeling well. I definitely feel like eating lots of fresh fruit and veggies helps me get over illness quicker. Hope you feel better soon!

  4. Glad your feeling better! There’s colds going around at work but luckily I am resisting them at the moment! I tend to make even more of an effort when I’m ill because I know that will speed up my recovery!

  5. Glad your feeling better! As soon as I get a cold I drink hot water, leon, ginger and manuka honey and the cold goes within a couple of days x x

  6. I’m glad you’re feeling better! I usually don’t eat very well when I’m feeling icky, so cheers to you! That’s a great sounding salad, by the way.

  7. I’ve had a cold all week too – I’ve been lucky enough to have my Mum encouraging me not to eat terribly though, because it’ll do me no favours when it comes to recovering. It seems to be on the way out now though (fingers crossed) – I hope yours is too!

    I always want smoothies because they’re so cooling with a sore throat, and soups because they help clear out a stuffy head!

    xxx

  8. Sorry to hear you’ve not been well and hope you can shake it off soon, the weather can’t help! I’m just getting over a similar one and it’s such a pain… I always want loads of fresh vegetables but even more so when I’ve got a cold; it’s like you can almost feel them doing you good!
    It looks like you had a huge dose of nutrients so hopefully you’ll be better soon 🙂

  9. Glad you’re feeling better now 🙂 I find that lots of vitamin C helps when I have a cold so oranges are always good, it might just be psychological but at least they’re healthy! x

  10. Orange juice mixed with 1/2 boiling water I find very soothing for a throat, plus the idea of all the vitamin C is good!

  11. Where did you find those rice cakes?! They sounds awesome.

    Glad you’re feeling better in time for the weekend. 🙂

  12. Your breakfast looks delicious, I love pear and chocolate! I think making an effort with food is so important when you’re feeling ill, it really helps. I have a tendency to curl up in bed and eat sweet things but I know it’s not a good idea!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

