iHerb Product Review

A few months ago I was given the opportunity to review some products of my choice from one of my blog sponsors iHerb.  I am a total fan of this website as it open up so many different food choices to people in the UK,  which we simply cannot get over here or just struggle to find.  So choosing products to review was down the iHerb virtual aisles was obviously so much fun.

First up was the Eden Foods, Organic Pasta Company, Kamut Spirals, $3.47

I am not a big pasta eater to say the least, but every so often I do have the odd cravings for a big bowl of pasta with pesto or a rustic tomato sauce.  I always by wholemeal pasta and never white pasta as I find that it bloats me out too much.  When I saw these organic Kamut Spirals on iHerb I thought they would be interesting to try out.

The kamut used in this particular pasta is organically farmed and milled and makes a great alternative to those who suffer from wheat allergies due to its high water soluble gluten.  It is also one of those special grains that is high in fibre and is also a great source of protein.

I thought this was really delicious and made for quick simple meals with lots of vegetables and a simple sauce.  It has a distinctively nutty taste like most wholegrain pastas and is very satisfyingly filling.  Pasta really is one of those store cupboard basics and I would happily buy this again as it is so budget friendly as an organic food goes and is really tasty product.

After seeing stevia on other blogs and reading how good it was I knew I had to get a bottle of NuNaturals Vanilla Stevia, $8.62.

Stevia is a 100% natural alternative to refined sugar and is derived from the leaves of a stevia plant.  Since it is a plant based sweetener it is made from natural extracts and does not contain any nasty chemicals or reagents an is alcohol free.  It has so many great uses and I have been loving it in my smoothie creations recently.    However,  you only need a few drops as it can be very sweet at times so be warned!

IMG_1866

I am a massive fan of Kashi cereal and have tried a few of the different cereals out but was yet to try the Kashi GoLean Toasted Berry Crumble, $4.01.

What I think is great about this cereal range is there high protein content.  There is 9g per serving in this particular box to be exact.  It is just another great way to pack in more protein into your diet and also includes 8g of fibre per serving too.

IMG_1481[1]

Their ethos is to stay fuller for longer which is definitely achievable with this cereal as it contains 18g of wholegrains per serving!  A bowl of this crunchy toasted cereal with cranberries and blueberries with fresh fruit, nut butter and almond milk is definitely a great start to my day.

Another breakfast product that I was dying to try was Bob’s Red Mill, 10 Hot Grain Cereal, $2.58.

If you are trying to get more wholegrains into your diet then this cereal is seriously one for you as it contains wheat, rye, triticale, oats and oat bran, corn, barley, soybean, brown rice, millet and flaxseed…phew! It literally does what it says on the packet! 

IMG_2286

You basically just treat this as you would traditional porridge oats and it can be made on the stove top or in the microwave.  I love mine made with water in the microwave with almond milk stirred in afterwards after it has cooked to make it super creamy and then going a little crazy on the toppings is a must.

Now this one was mainly for Alfie as he adores PB & Co peanut butters and their Cinnamon Raisin Swirl $5.07 was no different.  I have tried all of their flavoured peanut butters in the past and love them.  For me though they are a little bit too sugary and sweet so they are definitely just a treat for me.  But they are great on toast, as toppings for oats and cereals, for dipping fruit in for snacks or just straight up out of the jar.

So thank you iHerb for allowing me to try a selection of amazing products from your site.

Have you tried any of these products before?  What did you think?

Have you ever ordered anything from iHerb before?

4 Comments

Filed under Reviews

4 responses to “iHerb Product Review

  1. is it neccessary to provide our own code for others to get some more discount? i also just bought sth there!!!

  2. I agree that PB and co are far too sweet, although I like their old fashioned smooth or crunchy flavours as they just have a little bit of salt added, and no sweetener.

  3. runningcupcake

    I love the pb and co but you are right – they are very sweet 🙂 I love i-herb too- I find it hard to only order a few things to keep with the weight allowance!

All of your comments make me smile :-)

