Cherry Bakewell Oat Slices

It’s very rare that I have time to bake these days so when I had a few spare minutes I thought I would get busy in the kitchen and whip up something to snack on during the week as my energy bar stash is seriously low at the moment.

IMG_2867[1]Usually for snack purposes I would make some variety of fudge baby or a Nakd bar knock off, but this time I fancied something a little bit different.  Whilst looking through some of my older recipes I came across my Cherry Bakewell Granola which I thought would make a great flap jack type snack.

IMG_2869[1]

Ingredients (makes 6n small sized servings)

1.5 cups of steel cut oats

1/4 cup of dried cherries

1/3 cup of desiccated coconut

3 tbsp. of cacao nibs

2 tbsp. of clear runny honey

2 tbsp. of vegan spread/butter

1 tsp of almond extract

Pinch of salt (optional)

Preheat the oven at gas mark 4/ 180 degrees and grease and line a baking tray round or square, just use whatever you have got available.

In a bowl mix the oats, dried cherries, coconut and cacao nibs together.  

Next melt the honey and vegan butter together in a separate bowl in the microwave for a few seconds, mine only took about 30 seconds to melt.  This can also been done on the hob too.

Pour the melted honey and vegan butter over the oats and also add the almond extract and salt at this point too.  Stir through the liquid mixture making sure that you coat every last one of the oats.

IMG_2831[1]

Pour the mixture into the prepared baking tray and pat down with the back of spoon or spatula to remove any air pockets and smooth over the top.

Bake for approximately 20 minutes or until the top has turned a golden brown.  When ready take out of the oven and allow them to stand for 10 minutes to cool, before removing from the tray and slicing.

Of course I had to have a slice after they had come out of the oven for quality control purposes…bakers privileges and all that! Winking smile  They are really delicious and the cherries go super chewy after being baked.  Everyone so far that has tried one has enjoyed them, which makes me happy!

IMG_2868[3]

The salt is an optional extra, but I  recommend that you add it as it really lifts the flavour of the oats and you get that awesome sweet and salty combo going on!

I have a 7 day straight stint at work coming up later this week so the remainder of these will be perfect to take along with me for afternoon snacks or as breakfast on the go.  They would also be great as topping for smoothies and yoghurt messes too, yum!

Do you like to make your own homemade snacks?  What are your current favourite snacks to bake?  Do you prefer homemade snacks than shop bought?

20 Comments

Filed under Recipes

20 responses to “Cherry Bakewell Oat Slices

  1. Those look lovely I bet they would be good with almond butter in place of the vegan spread for more almond taste! I’m planning on making some cherry and coconut flapjacks for James to take to work soon, I think stuff like this makes great snacks!

  2. I love making my own snack bars are they are so expensive to buy! I like making nakd bar/protein bars!

  3. They look lovely 🙂 I like to make things like that, but I find it hard to make flapjack type things without loads of butter and sugar. I like making the fudge balls though (you know, like nakd bars).

  4. They sound delicious! I will have to save this recipe for a rainy day 🙂

  5. Yummy looks delicious! I so need to get baking which I plan to next week with my other week off : )

  6. These look so good! I really want to start making my own snacks and Nakd-type bars. x

  7. These look lush!
    Will have to make some date paste to replace the honey and then ill be ready to give these snacks a try 🙂
    Thanks for sharing x

  8. Ooh I’m definitely bookmarking this! I love Bakewell slice and I love oats so together I bet they make a delicious combination 🙂 Looks fantastic!

  9. Pingback: The week that was…all about the future! | Celery and Cupcakes

  10. Sarah

    Ah, these look great! Are there really steel-cut oats in there? I only have rolled oats on hand but would love to try these (and replace the butter with the magic of coconut butter I discovered just yesterday :))!

  11. Pingback: I *HEART* June | Celery and Cupcakes

  12. Oooh this looks good! It’s kind of similar to this recipe: http://freetoeatandbe.blogspot.com/2012/02/quickie-microwave-blueberry-oat-cakes.html but I use a microwave instead of the oven (I guess I’m just too lazy to turn on the oven in the mornings!)

All of your comments make me smile :-)

