Cherry Oat Breakfast Muffins

Whist surfing the internet the other week I came across a really lovely Australian baking blog called Fig and Cherry.  I’ve been looking for lots of new foodie inspiration lately and after using up all of my baked breakfast treats in the freezer I definitely wanted something new to bake.

IMG_3184

Every now and then I do like to treat myself to a baked to toasted item for breakfast with a side of chopped fruit or a green smoothie.  After seeing this muffin recipe on Fig and Cherry I knew that I had to recreate something of my own.

IMG_3179

Ingredients (vegan, makes 12 mini muffins)

1 cup of oats

1 cup of almond milk

1  cups wholemeal plain flour

1/2 cup of gram flour

1 tsp baking powder

a pinch of salt

1/2 tsp bicarbonate soda (baking soda)

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/3 cup of light brown sugar

1/2 cup of rapeseed oil

1 cup of frozen cherries

First pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees and line a muffin tin with 12 paper muffin liners.

To soften the oats soak them in all of the soya milk for at least 5 minutes or until the oats begin to swell.

In a separate bowl pour in the flours, baking powder, baking soda, sugar and cinnamon and salt and mix together until well combined.  Then add in the soaked oats and oil and stir until the flour is just mixed in.  Over mixing will result in tough muffins.

Finally fold on the frozen cherries and bake the muffins for 20-30 minutes or until a cocktail stick comes out clean when placed in the centre of  a muffin.

IMG_3171

I just love how the juice of the cherries bleeds through and marbles the sponge…

IMG_3177

These muffins are super fluffy!  The fact that they are vegan is an added bonus too.  I think that is great that there are so many fabulous recipes out there for vegan baked goods which are equally as delicious as non vegan foods, just like these muffins!

IMG_3174

Since baking these I have had at least 3 as part of my breakfast and put the rest of the batch in the freezer for safe keeping, so I don’t wolf them all done in one go!  Sometimes restraints like the freezer are needed to save me from myself, as when delicious food is in sight I just want to eat it all in one go…

IMG_3176

…well wouldn’t you?!?!

What are your favourite baked treats to make for breakfast?  What is your favourite muffin flavour?

27 Comments

Filed under Recipes

27 responses to “Cherry Oat Breakfast Muffins

  1. Ooh, those look good! I don’t even want to think about turning on the oven in this heat right now, but otherwise I’d say muffins are pretty high up there. I love double chocolate or triple chocolate muffins with loads of chocolate chips, or bran muffins spread with nut butter and dried fruits 🙂

  2. Great recipe! Those look yummy, I’m impressed they are fluffy with no egg or flax egg to replace them. I think my fave muffin flavour has to be my cherry almond muffins 🙂

  3. These look so pretty! I’m not really a baked goods fan, so in terms of a baked treat for breakfast I would have to see baked oatmeal!

  4. Bronagh

    Yum! Do you think these would work with fresh cherries?

  5. These look delicious – I love oat muffins.

  6. These look good. The problem with mini is that you need more then one – well, I guess that’s not a real problem hehe!

  7. Hi Jemma, I love your adaptation of my muffins – cherry is such a lovely flavour with cinnamon. I’d happily eat two of these for breakfast! 🙂

  8. I love keeping muffins in the freezer for a go-to breakfast. These look fantastic – I’m all about cherries right now.

  9. They sound fab and look beautiful… I’ll go and check out the blog too.
    I know what you mean about having to hide things from myself; the freezer’s perfect for that 🙂
    I love banana bread, toasted with Dark Chocolate Dreams and strawberry jam; heaven!

  10. Woahhhh Jemma those look AMAZING!!!!

  11. WOW is all that I can offer because my brain is salivating for a stick of vegan butter to spread atop these gorgeous babies for a scrumptious culinary experience. That culinary experience cannot be so for me, but i can absolutely use my imagination for a bit of culinary delight. Oh thank you for the lovely photographs of such pretty food!!!

  12. Pingback: WIAW: Enough is enough | Celery and Cupcakes

  13. I will have to give these a try with gluten-free flour! I love, love cherries. These would be the perfect little breakfast treat.

  14. Pingback: Just call me Gok Wan! | Celery and Cupcakes

  15. Pingback: I *HEART* JULY | Celery and Cupcakes

All of your comments make me smile :-)

