Raw Chocolate and Salted Caramel Hearts

Since discovering raw chocolate I have wanted to have ago and make my own. After ordering so cacao butter and raw cacao powder in my Goodness Direct order the other week I final did.

Those pretty little things are the result of my raw chocolate experiment. I wasn’t actually going to post a recipe as they are so easy to make and I used a combination of recipes but many of you have asked for the recipe so I thought I would be kind and share how I made them.

IMG_3308

There are so many different raw chocolate making recipes on the internet that it can be a chore trying to work out which one is best to use. At one point I was thinking about buying a raw chocolate making kit from Choc Chick as I had seen it on Goodness Direct but decided against it when I saw their very simple recipe for raw chocolate on their website.

Another raw chocolate recipe which I thought was pretty straight forward and great was  on Elements for Life.   They are both pretty much the same, but the Choc Chick version suggests adding salt to the chocolate which I omitted due to the salted caramel layer.

IMG_3317

To make the hearts it couldn’t be simpler…

Make the raw chocolate from your chosen recipe and pour into silicon heart shape ice cup moulds just 1/3 of the way up. You don’t have to make them as hearts just use whatever you have at home. You can even use silicon cupcake cases or even a baking ray lined with cling film and just make one large slab of yumminess.

Place the chocolate in the freezer to set for about 20 minutes.

IMG_3336

Meanwhile to make the salted caramel layer:

Ingredients

Recipe adapted from this fab recipe

  • 2 tbsp melted organic coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp of smooth peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp of lucuma powder
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp Sweet Freedom Sweetener
  • 3 tsps of Rock Salt

Once all of the ingredients are prepared mix them all together in a bowl until well combined and smooth. Then pour into the moulds so that they should be 2/3 of the way full, which includes the initial layer of raw chocolate that has now set. Place the moulds back in the freezer until the caramel layer is set.

When the caramel layer is ready then fill the moulds up to the top with the remaining raw chocolate.  Put back in the freezer and allow the last of the chocolate to set.

IMG_3335

Mine came out with a speckled top which maybe due to the crystallisation of the sugars but I quite like the look of them this way and it certainly doesn’t take away from the taste.

When the chocolates are set turn out of the moulds and admire their deliciousness, ‘cos I know I did! Enjoy!

IMG_3321

The salted caramel layer is so smooth and creamy until you come across a grain of the salt.  You don’t want to these to be too salty it’s really just for a hit of flavour-  think of  Lindt Touch of Sea Salt or giant salted pretzels.  There is just a random hit of salt and not an overload, which I personally prefer.

I had a load of the salted caramel and raw chocolate left over so I decided to make some more chocolates with a thicker caramel layer a thinner raw chocolate layer and put an almond in the centre for some extra bite.

IMG_3333

For my first try at making raw chocolate I don’t think I did a bad job at all.  These are heavenly and probably one of the tastiest things that I have made in a while.  Luckily I now have plenty in the freezer to keep me going for a while.

Have you tried making your own raw chocolate before?

What would you put in your own homemade raw chocolate?

29 Comments

Filed under Recipes

29 responses to “Raw Chocolate and Salted Caramel Hearts

  1. These look and sound out of this world! I haven’t got any moulds like that so would have to make the “big slab of deliciousness” – but I tihnk I can handle that 🙂

  2. Aww! So chuffed that my original recipe helped inspire these beauties, I must try them they look amazing! home made raw choc is the way to go!

  3. Bec

    Oh wow. They look fantastic! Seriously, so beautiful. I am definitely going to be making these 🙂

  4. I’ve never made raw chocolate myself and honestly I can’t see me trying because it seems quite labour-intensive, and I am a lazy raw ‘chef.’ However, I’m quite happy to look at your amazing creations. They are so dainty and beautiful – everything raw sweets should be, in my opinion (and a lot more economical than buying raw chocolate!)

    I love gojis in raw chocolate. Which is strange because I’m not really a fan of them in anything else, or on their own. They just pair with the subtle flavour of raw chocolate very well.

    xxx

  5. runningcupcake

    Oh man they look amazing! I have never made raw chocolate but I like the sound of it. 🙂 I think roasted almonds would be lovely, or something sweet like dried cherries (those urban fruit dried cherries are lovely).

  6. caloricandcrazy

    They look so beautiful!

  7. These look really yummy. I’ve never tried raw chocolate but I love salty sweet combos. Chcolate covered salted pretzels are my nemesis…

  8. These look so pretty! I’ve never tried making raw chocolate before, but it sounds so easy, I need to give it a go! I would probably add some nuts or gojis.

  9. Been wanting to make my own raw chocolate for awhile, thanks for reminding me!

  10. How cool! I reckon I could eat about 100 of them!

  11. before reading the ingredients, i was hoping that you would announce that peanut butter is the gorgeous filler… and yes, you did! yay!
    i think it’s time to create a gorgeous batch of alicia silverstone’s vegan peanut butter cups. they are absolute heaven!

  12. I was sent a kit to review which was to make my own raw chocolate bar which was delicious I definitely want to make some more at some point, those really look and sound amazing!!

  13. I have not tried making my own raw chocolates before, but those look delicious! What is lucuma?

  14. Pingback: I *HEART* JULY | Celery and Cupcakes

  15. Fran

    I love your blog! These look beautiful (and delicious!)

All of your comments make me smile :-)

