WIAW: Major clear out

Hey guys!  I hope you are all having a great week!

How awesome has the weather been in the UK!  I’ve been absolutely loving it and have had a good few days lapping up the sunshine and topping up my vitamin D.

Like with most things in life with every positive there comes a negative, my negative being my hay fever.  The pollen count has been sky high and has left me with flu like symptoms i.e. constant runny nose and congestion.  Luckily I’ve had no itchy and watery eyes yet.  I’m not going to let it beat me though I’ve still been enjoying the weather regardless.

And since it is Wednesday you all know what that means…

Peas and Crayons

….another week of foodie inspiration in the form of WIAW!  Thank you Jenn for being the hostess with the mostess as always!

I wasn’t feeling my best on Monday morning as a result of my hay fever so I decided to skip my planned yoga session.  I figured that a bunged up nose and yoga really wasn’t a great combination.  Instead swapped sun salutations for a major wardrobe clear out. 

It had been on the cards for a while, especially since I hadn’t worn any of the clothes that I had saved from my last wardrobe over haul.  This time round I was quite brutal and got rid of anything that I hadn’t worn in the past  months to a year or just didn’t fit in with my current style.  It was also a great opportunity to stash away my heavy winter knits and coats.  I have kept some thinner jumpers in my closet though as you never know with the weather in the UK. 

IMG_3346[1]

These space saver bags are simply genius for stashing things away as you use a hoover to suck out the air so they become vacuum packed.  I store duvets and all sorts in them. 

After all of that hard work breakfast was well deserved.  At the weekend I saw that some of the Dorset’s cereal was on offer in Tesco’s so I decided to treat myself to a box.  I had a bowl of Simply Nutty muesli with a chopped pink lady apple and some green tea.

IMG_3343[1]

Mid morning I was feeling a little bit peckish so I decided to make myself a snack of raw baby carrots and cucumber and hummus.

IMG_3344[1]

This combo never gets old!

For lunch it could have been nothing but a salad as I have been craving them so much in this heat.  This one was pretty epic…

IMG_3352[1]

It was made using lettuce leaves, tomatoes, beetroot, half and avocado, vegan cheese, cucumber and red peppers with a balsamic dressing, amazing!

Later in the afternoon I had to pop out to the Post Office so I decided to change out of my lounge around the house clothes and decided to make some sort of an effort.

IMG_3349[1]

OTTD: white vest top and coral baggy vest top, khaki 3/4 trousers: H&M, sandals: River Island, bow necklace and big earrings, Forever 21.

In the afternoon I fancied a smoothie but after chopping up the fruit and eyeing the Total Greek Yoghurt in my fridge I completely changed my mind.  My lovely neighbour had given me some herbs and lettuce that she has grown herself early today and the scent form the mint was wafting through the air every time that I opened the fridge.  So I decided to combine all three ingredients:

IMG_3354[1]

Mango, raspberries and blackberries with full fat Greek yoghurt and fresh mint.  Holy yum!  This was heavenly, the mint gave it a super fresh kick and a whole new dimension.  I will definitely be adding fresh herbs to my fruit more often.

For dinner I wanted something quick so I just cooked some soya mince and mushrooms in a tomato sauce and used it to stuff a baked sweet potato. I had this with some steamed broccoli.

IMG_3355[1]

This tasted surprisingly good for a super speedy meal.

In the evening I raided my freezer for a raw treat:

IMG_3336

My Raw Chocolate and Salted Caramel Hearts x 4 with some delicious cherries.  These hearts taste amazing and it would be selfish of me not to share the recipe, so its coming soon!

Well a pretty good day of eats again where I managed to listen to what my body wanted and just went with it.  It was so great clearing out my wardrobe and feeling all organised.  I can actually navigate myself around my wardrobe so much more easier now!  Strangely, I do love a good clear out now and then, it works wonders for my mind.  Getting rid of old crap somehow clears my head too, weird I know.

When was the last time that you had a good wardrobe shake up?

Are you good at getting rid of things or are you a bit of a hoarder?

Do you find having a clear out as some sort of therapy like me?

38 Comments

Filed under WIAW

38 responses to “WIAW: Major clear out

  1. Oh, the raw chocolate hearts look good.

    I never throw anything away. It just gets lost somewhere.

  2. I have a clean out every year.
    If something doesnt get worn throughout that year it goes to charity.
    My mum has always told me from a young age to through out clothes I dont wear so they can become of use to someone instead of getting lost at the bottom of my cupboard.. things still get lost in my cupboard though hehe

  3. Your snack looks so good. I love having clear outs, I’ve been meaning to for a while – this has inspired me to not put it off any longer as my wardrobe is literally overflowing! x

  4. I really need to clear out my wardrobe as well… There’s just so much I don’t need or want anymore!
    Oh,and PLEASE share the recipe for those chocolate hearts! They look soooo good!

  5. I think the closest I get is clearing out old running shoes when they’re starting to replicate like Tribbles (sorry to anyone not nerdy enough to get the Star Trek reference :P) and making myself chuck out gym gear when holes appear in it. So glam, aren’t I 😉 I just live vicariously through your glamorousness.

    Those chocolate hearts are *incredible*. You could seriously sell those – I know I’d pay for them! Such stunning presentation.

    xxx

  6. runningcupcake

    I love having a good clear out! I try to do it little and often now, because we only have one wardrobe between us so it gets full very easily!
    I love fresh mint with pineapple- it is am amazing combo 🙂

  7. Having a good clear out is so therapeutic! I had one myself a few weeks ago, best thing ever!

  8. livinglearningeating

    I had a good wardrobe shakeup about a year ago, but I’m so due for another – as soon as I get home, I’m going shopping! The Dorset cereal looks tasty, I’m a big muesli fan 🙂

  9. Love a good clear out of old stuff… just the best! I usually do it twice a year, once in September before returning to school and then again in May, after a school year ha gone by and I have accumulated a bunch of crap again haha. This year I am not moving away though…. but the purge of items must come anyway! I think Ma and I are planning another yard sale, it seems necessary!
    Dorset cereal is great… I actually tried some for the first time just a few weeks ago. Whole Foods had samples out 🙂

  10. I have epic clear outs on a monthly basis. I am a hoarder and have to, else I would be utterly overrun!

  11. Alexia @ NamasteYoga

    stuffed sweet potatoes are just the bomb! love ur post!

  12. I’m going to be cleaning out my wardrobe this weekend! My roommate is moving out and I’m moving into her room (YAY for a bigger room! haha) but I desperately need to update my closet!

  13. Your salad sounds a lot like mine…I love beets on my salads! And those raw treats you made look so good!

  14. I have been craving salads like crazy, too! They are the best summer time meal, hands down! And I LOVE adding beets to mine YUM!

  15. Those raw chocolate & salted caramel hearts look amazing, can’t wait for the recipe!

    I am an awful hoarder, especially with clothes – more than half my wardrobe I don’t actually fit into at the moment, but because I am (constantly!) trying to lose weight I cling onto all my old clothes telling myself that I’ll fit into them again soon! I did chuck out some now too big for me clothes recently though, that felt good 🙂

  16. moderngirlnutrition

    Hayfever is the worst…feel better! I love beets, especially in the summer! I usually roast mine for a while before adding it to my salad- it really brings out the flavor! Isn’t Dorset the best? I wish it was on sale more often!

  17. I’m totally a clothes hoarder. Def. learned that from my mother…she has a closet for every “size” she’s been so that if she gains or loses weight she always has things she can wear. Now, I feel guilty throwing/giving anything awa too. I’m in the process of moving now though, and I definitely need to do a full overhaul.
    Can’t wait for the heart recipe 🙂

  18. Maria

    Your raw chocolates look incredible!! and sooo cute too!! Mmmm cherries :)) My best friend and I exchange clothes all the time…my sisters too! It’s fun to do and keeps things fresh! Plus, it feels great to give and receive something in return 🙂

  19. I love having a clear out, it’s so satisfying. I got rid of loads of stuff before moving to Dublin. The weather in Dublin hasn’t been as nice, although we did actually have sunshine today and it was 22 degrees, so it’s getting there, hope it lasts! Those raw choc hearts look immense!

All of your comments make me smile :-)